Ratings based on 1,288 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Quiet, quaint Inn in Victoria

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Ambience, location, restaurant, old hotel, not a copy-cat.
Cons: Not handicapped accessible. But we did not inquire about accommodations ahead of time.
Location: In James Bay area of Victoria, near Parliament, the Empress Hotel and harbor--the heart of the town. Walking distance to B.C. Museum.
Because we made reservations late, we had to book rooms in two different inns. There was a mix-up in our reservations and we all ended up at the James Bay Inn. They were efficient and gracious in helping with our mix-up. One room was in the Inn itself and the other was in a quaint house next door, where we had a bedroom and kitchen and a beautiful yard. If it hadn't been raining, we could have enjoyed the little eating area on the back step. Parking was right next to the Inn, plenty of spaces. The Inn has a nice retro dining room and cozy pub, which seems to be a local hangout, complete with darts and such. The dining room was blue booths, flowers, mirrors--a great setting for a 1950s romance or gangster film. The food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast. On our next trip to Victoria, we'll make reservations at James Bay sooner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Charming Inn with character

Posted May 18, 2017
This hotel reminded us of travel in Europe. Room very small. Lobby old but charming. Bed comfortable. No coffee maker in room but complimentary coffee and tea in lobby. Excellent location. We walked everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

A Funky Hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The location is great. Able to walk everywhere from it. Nice to listen to the horse-drawn carriages going by. Very quiet neighborhood Parking was free
Cons: Need hairdryers in the room. Need a clock that works. A blind of some kind on the bathroom window would be nice.
Very cool old hotel. Floors are a bit wonky in places and the floor in our room seemed to be a bit on a slant, but it just added to the experience. Staff were very pleasant. Very accommodating when I asked for more pillows. Lots of nice antiques about the hotel as well. We were pleasantly surprised by the coffee in the lobby each morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Quant hotel! Enjoyed our stay

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Great restaurant and pub, very close to the docks, parliament and downtown! No fee for parking was a real treat!
Cons: Would have loved a coffee maker!
Location: Very central to everything!
Stayed for 3 nights at this quant hotel. Nothing fancy but I loved it anyway. Great pub and restaurant downstairs!! No coffee maker in room but coffee downstairs in lobby. I will come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2017
Cute little hotel. Nice and clean. Quaint rooms. Great location. Fun little pub downstairs. Short walk to restaurants and shopping area. Friendly staff. Coffee and tea in the lobby. Easy parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The people were friendly and very accommodating. The restaurant and pub was wonderful. The historic value was awesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kimberley

Nice quaint hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Very nice older hotel with character.awesome pub and restaurant will stay there again when in Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Comfortable stay

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Decor, room size, comfortable beds
Location: There is a restaurant and a bar in the hotel, otherwise it's a 10- to 15-min walk to anything nearby.
I stayed just one night. The hotel was beautifully decorated, and the beds were comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel situated in a nice quiet neighborhood

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Cons: It needs an elevator!
This is an older hotel/restaurant that is in need of upgrades. The beds were comfortable and it was nice an quiet. It is situated in a neighborhood of lovely Victorian homes with beautiful gardens, and fairly close to downtown and coastal walks. However, there is no lift, so it was a lot of stair climbing, which was very challenging for one of our party. Restaurant quality was mixed with very reasonable prices and generous servings. Our room had a refrigerator but no microwave. There is no air conditioning (but it is rarely needed in Victoria).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Nice older hotel great location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Don't know if it would be too hot in the summer as it does not have air conditioning.
Location: Easy to rent a bike from this location and access the Galloping G. trail. Easy to walk to the restaurants and shops and ocean.
Beautiful older building in a great location, within walking distance to the downtown shops and restaurants. close to the museum, etc. Very clean and very comfortable room; windows in our room opened easily and made for a comfortable sleep with the lovely spring air circulating in. Enjoyed the complementary coffee in the lobby and friendly staff. The pub downstairs also has very good food. Would definitely stay again.