Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

We were a bit lucky!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Mineral Pool and Hot Tubs are fantastic. Felt bad not having the kids, but you're welcome other guests! Breakfast was great too.
Cons: I'm sure there are things, but none off the top of my head.
Our initial room really was very disappointing. My expectations were so high as I'd never stayed here and had heard wonderful things. The room was in the corner, so out my window I could see every balcony as well as the hotel entrance (even from the bathroom). I guess it was a city view, if you consider the hotel the city. Luckily, the hotel was only half full so we were able to get upgraded to an Ocean View.....wow, what a difference! The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our request, I guess someone has to have that other room and we were the unlucky ones, but at least only for 5 minutes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, California

A Real Treat

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Almost everything was as good as its gets. The heated outdoor pool, jacuzzis, the steam room, easy parking, pleasant and helpful staff.
Cons: Music irritating. Unpleasant, screechy -- especially at breakfast. Impossible to read in room -- low light. Little place for clothing.
Location: Great walking area. Easy to get to downtown area. The museum is superb. Some great restaurants (avoid the touristy ones).
A wonderful eight days and nights! Room couldn't be more comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great weekend retreat

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Everything was top notch. Staff was great, food was great and location was outstanding
Cons: The fireplaces in the rooms, aren't exactly fireplaces!
Oak Bay Beach hotel was a great destination getaway. The heated mineral bath pools were the highlight for us. We could enjoy them from morning to night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Beautiful place close to downtown. Swimming pools are awesome and so relaxing. Staff is courteous and very helpful. Rooms are wonderful. Happy to be chosen this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location with ocean view

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Well designed with high quality finishes. The gardens and amenities were high standard
Cons: Room service meals need improvement
Location: Oak Bay shopping and Penny Farthing Pub and restaurant are attractive. Excellent walking path alongside the ocean.
Generally a very good experience. Only complaint was a room service grilled cheese sandwich was rubbery and the fries were soggy. We did not eat it and the hotel refunded the cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maple Ridge, BC

Impressed!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The room was much nicer than I expected. There was also the surprise of a mini kitchen area with small fridge and microwave. This was super handy with toddlers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from White Rook B.C.

Beautiful view of the ocean

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Loved the hot tubs and outdoor heated pool! Was fun swimming in the rain. The Snug Pub was handy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lake Stevens, WA

Great Hotel, right by the coast

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Service and cleanliness.
Cons: Honestly nothing at the moment. :)
Location: Golf course nearby, the neighborhoods are beautiful and coastal view is very peaceful. Downtown Victoria is only 15-20 minutes away as well!
I booked this hotel for my wife's birthday and we arrived a few minutes early and the room was not ready. We were immediately upgraded to larger suite and it felt like we were back home but an upgraded bathroom and view! The breakfast in the cafe was great and had a nice semi-private area to lounge and enjoy your food. Will definitely consider this location in the future. My wife left her coat at the hotel and the staff promptly notified us and shipped it back to the States. Much appreciative of their service at Oak Bay Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gulf Islands

Oak Bay Bummer

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We are spa/hot springs lovers. We are not there to argue with staff about the presence of black mold health hazard, or the one singular crowd pleasing water feature not running, although it was 10 days previous. We are not there to have our intelligence insulted or our staycation ruined by a rude uninformed desk clerk. We are not impressed or "paid back" for said rude treatment, when assistant manager tries to smooth things over with a few beers on ice and a greeting card. Instead of apologizing, why not direct staff to clean up and get informed on vital hotel features. We are there to Relax. Period. A clean pool as a basic feature is key. Also fully functioning EUCALYPTUS steam bath as advertised is key. The new billionaire owners are obviously not interested in running a clean hotel spa. Since July, being our first visit, the quality has taken severe dive. Hallways all needed a steam clean also. Dirty. We finished our staycation at an immaculate boutique private spa cliffside cabin on west coast to get the sour feel from our souls. We gave oak bay hotel a chance to correct the errors but there were too many to overlook. They did turn on water feature for 12hrs then shut off again. If they can't afford to keep one measly feature running in winter it's pathetic. Statistically We represent 100 others that won't complain and won't return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Golfing in November, eucalyptus steam, eagles soaring above the balcony, million dollar ocean view, total relaxation, and winter rates equals Happy time at this classic old school newly renovated hotel. Don't let a little rain stop you from enjoying the amazing uncrowded mineral baths. We go again last week of November. Very glad we booked ahead. Pics from Nov 15-18.