Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Quiet location with a great view

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The beach, outdoor hot tub, and view.
Location: If you're not into the outdoors there's not much to do here. Otherwise, the beach is fantastic.
The lodge is located on top of an escarpment with a fantastic ocean view and nice quiet beach. The staff were very friendly and offered great suggestions about where to eat. The let us borrow their crab trap to try to catch crabs. We will definitely be returning to stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful ocean view

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We only stayed 1 night but we wanted ocean view and a spacious room,we had both. We could walk down to the beach and enjoyed the hottub.loved the location out of town yet close to some great places to eat and beaches. Very friendly relaxed owners.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Rick, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We enjoyed your short visit and hope to welcome you back soon. Safe travels, Rick and Karen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Perfect mid week getaway

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Amazing owners, love the hot tub, no one else there as we were during the week. Upgraded room, breakfast basket and a private beach to boot! Thanks mr&mrs fonger! Lori and Nate
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Rick, Hotel Management
Thanks folks. It was a pleasure having you here with us. Winters are often the greatest time to be on the island. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay. Safe Travels. Rick and Karen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Scenic coastal inn

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Friendly hosts and a wonderful setting at ocean wilderness inn. Located on the bluffs above the beach in more remote but still close in area. Great launching area to explore the many beaches to the north. Hot tub is clean and has a view of the ocean.The private beach area is a bit of hike, good for photos and exploring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Rick, Hotel Management
Thanks for letting other Expedia members know a bit about our Inn. Like we always say, our wonderful, private beach is about 150 steps down and 300 back to the top! (Its an easy 5 minute cardio workout:). And if you are looking for some public beaches, French Beach is about 5 minutes away, with Jordan River, Mystic and China beaches another 15 minutes beyond that. Sombrio beach is a bit farther along but still quite close. All are great for hiking, exploring or just relaxing. Botanical Beach and Botany Bay are a nice hour away by car. Glad you enjoyed the Hot Tub. Please come back soon. Safe Travels...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shelton, WA

Great find - hope to come back again.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Loved the location, and access to the beach which amazing with its diversity of rocks, fossils, wildlife. Log lodge charming and inviting.
Cons: Not sure I can think of anything.
Location: go on out to Port Renfrew and hike Botanical Beach at low tide! Stop at "Shirley Delicious" on the way for great food and to meet the famous Chef.
wonderful experience overall - clean room, good bed with great comforter, adequate bathroom facilities, nice hot tub where we watched the cruise ships go by at night all lit up. Rick and Karen, the owners were so friendly and helpful, with tips on what to see and do, and put up a great breakfast with local specialties. We felt like we were being taken care of, without any infringement of privacy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by Rick, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking the time to pen such a kind and helpful review. Its always great for the folks who read these reviews to know a bit about our place before they arrive. I'm glad you found the fossil bed! Please come back soon. Safe Travels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
It is a house converted into BNB. Not the most convenient location to either Port Renfew or Victoria. Opportunistic owners.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by Rick, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting a review for Ocean Wilderness Inn. All our rooms have private entrances, facilities, coffee makers, tea kettles, refrigerators and robes for the hot tub. (please see our photos online) The rooms are all separate from the main cabin. You would have noticed that if you had not arrived after midnight. (check in is between 3 and 8 pm as you knew) It is unfortunate that asking you to be quiet, on behalf of the other guests caused you to leave us a 2 star review. It is also a bit odd that you found our added fee opportunistic. In most cases, if you tried to sneak a whole extra family into a room with one bed, you would simply be asked to leave. In any case, thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Great Escape

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The room, the location, the people
Location: Victoria was beautiful. Botanical, Sombiro, and Sandcut beaches were great.
My wife and I enjoyed our stay immensely. The location was a big reason we chose to stay here. Its location was central to visiting many places from the coast to Victoria, there was lots to choose from within an hour or so. The owners were great and had great recommendations for places to eat and visit. And there was a nice trail that gave access to a great little beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Rick, Hotel Management
Thanks for your kind remarks. Its great to know you were happy with your stay with us. We try to visit all the local places so we can help our guests with great place to see and things to do. Please come again! Safe travels, Rick and Karen
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unflexible, unfriendly host

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Hosts dont seem to like what they do for a living, place has no atmosphere, a bit run down rooms, aged/assembled room decor, no TV in rooms, poor breakfast, no eggs being served, the hosts decide what they offer, bread/toast considered a side offer, too many sweet breakfast choices (muffins, cake). All in all not worth the high price. Unfriendly and unflexible hosts, they don't hand out key before you have signed a number of papers and cashed the money for your entire Stay. Breakfast not before 8 am, not a minute earlier, door to breakfast room is closed, they rather let you wait in the cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Rick, Hotel Management
Your review is unlike any other we have ever seen but we will try to respond so that other travelers will understand what took place. It is against the law to smoke in public places in B.C. We understand that while you do not mention this, it was certainly an issue when you were here. The cabin is old. It is a log cabin in the woods. There no TV's but we have high speed internet. There were eggs served at breakfast but you didn't like them. The price is exactly the average for our type of lodging. The paper you signed was an agreement not to smoke. You did not like that. Sorry, we have to protect the other guests from second hand smoke. Breakfast is served from 8 til 10. Yes, the doors are locked when we are closed. This is for the safety of all the guests. Safe travels Rick Fonger Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn
5 out of 5
by Paula K from Pullman, WA, USA

LOVE Ocean Wilderness Inn.

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to get away, walk on the beach, look at wildlife. Private beach access. View of water from room, from dining room, and from front lawn. Owned by a lovely, friendly couple who made us feel welcome and offered useful advice about what to do and where to eat in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share your stay with other travelers. We love what we do and we love this place. Its just magical. Safe travels, Rick and Karen
4 out of 5
by Darcy from New Westminster

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to getaway from the City!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We do love the getaways!