Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

An older motel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A total renovation would be required to make this a serviceable facility.
Location: It is located within walking distance of a world class downtown core. Victoria has long been a favourite for us.
This property is not a good value. The overall condition is poor, paint peeling off structure and the courtyard is dirty. Hot water is not readily available and the room was not cleaned properly during our stay. Sound proofing is non existent with noise transferring both from above and from the outside.We stayed only 3 of 5 nights planned due to these conditions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you Mike for your review, I know that our manager had been in touch with you and we appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Friendly staff and clean rooms Close to restaurants and easy walking to local shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Happy to hear that you liked our downtown location, thanks for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Our room was located close to an access door to a patio and this was at times noisy. The curtains did not block the outside light and the actual lighting in the room was not great- not enough light to read. Otherwise a comfortable hotel with great, friendly staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for recognizing our staff, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. See you again,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Good place

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Controllable room temperature
Location: Near interesting things to see and do
Since facility suffered long time exposure to excessive tobacco users, room has strong lingering smell of tobacco. Room temperature was too warm and not adjustable. However, staff is good, location good, and rate a value. I could be a repeat customer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Xquis, we're sorry to hear htta you couldn't get your room temperature just right with the AC unit, but are glad to haar that you'll be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stony Plain Ab.

A visit to Victoria.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location,restaurant, easy access from airport.
Cons: Doorway bottom could be better sealed to reduce noise.
Location: Short walks to museum and legislature, and access to tours.
Good comfortable room, but a bit noisy with traffic and sea gulls. One can realize that the facility is aging. Nice central location for sight seeing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks Ron for your review. Glad you liked our downtown location and happy to ehar that you explored the city on foot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Good place..in the downtown. Air conditioner was noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, glad you liked our location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moose Jaw Sk, Canada

The stay

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Courtyard
Cons: room cards sometimes failed
Location: Lots to do nearby. And in most cases within walking distance. Close to China town, inner Harbour, Museum, Legislature and more...Historic Victoria
The courtyard was quiet and private. Location to downtown was very important and Paul's fit to a tee. Having the diner right there was an obvious bonus. Great diner fare. We did enjoy it all and the staff was very courteous. Thanks again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks Al and Deb for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Courtyard. it sounds as thought you had a great visit to Victoria and we hope that you will stay with us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better price for high season

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Convenience to go downtown. We were able to walk in about 15 - 20 minutes from hotel to general downtown harbour area.
Cons: Shower temperature control.
Location: White Spot is across the street. Douglas is a Main Street route to downtown area, easy to walk in 15 or so minutes.
We booked last minute during prime season (summer) in Victoria. This was one of the better priced hotels. It's an older hotel. It's not fancy but it serves it's purpose. There is no elevator, you use stairs for upper floors. Parking is easy as its first come first serve. There is a cafe-diner attached on the other side of the front desk area, Paul's Cafe or something. The room cleanliness was overall clean but I noticed dust bunnies on the heater in the bathroom. It was a hot weekend and the room had a portable air conditioner inside, which we didn't mind as it kept us cool. I didn't feel any safety concerns - we tend to go to our room to/from vehicle or front desk area and we were not out very late. The only issue that really was the only complaint was the hot-cold water in the shower, it randomly goes very hot or very cold, depending on when others are using the water. Other than that, the room served its purpose and we were able to enjoy Victoria. We were grateful to have a room as vacancy in general was extremely limited in all of Victoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you liked our location and that you were able to walk around the city. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, close to downtown, free parking
Cons: Hot water ran out at around 10:30am ( near check out time).
We wanted to check in at 2:30pm ; about 25 mins early than the 3pm time; as my kid was sleepy. But we were asked to wait. We got to check in a bit early ; but the wait was unnecessary. Parking was free. The room was on 2nd floor; not too step climb up the stairs. The room was nice: clean and had everything we needed. 2 chairs; 2 beds; Iron, iron board, small fridge , a air cooler & a hair dryer. Overall a no frills ; value for money hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your patience while our team put the finishing touches on your room so that we could to get you in early. We hope to welcome you and your family back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC

Great price for what I got

Posted Aug 2, 2016
- Good location, within walking distance to downtown - accommodating staff; got us extra pillows and allowed us to leave our car late into the afternoon when we checked out in the morning. - WiFi was okay - bathtub and sink water took a bit of time to draine. - when showerng, water temperature constantly changing from warm to hot and back to warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are working with a plumber to regulate the water temperature.