Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Hotel had power outage for several days due to external BC hydro equipment Management transferred me to sister hotel until repairs were completed But it really was not an inconvenience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for being so accommodating, we're glad it all worked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Good Budget Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown amenities, confortable bed, price, friendly staff
Cons: Nothing major to complain about, some party people arriving late at night but that's to expect on a Saturday night
Location: Walking distance to downtown, restaurants and attractions
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank Jerry for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please do let us know if you are ever disturbed by neighboring guests, we know how important a restful sleep it. See you again soon,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovated and very comfortable.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Large rooms, good heat, quiet, comfy beds, close to everything, great 1950's restaurant attached, nice staff ONLY ISSUE: water pressure in shower is low and keeps going hot to cold and visa versa. Overall good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you had a good stay. We are working on the water pressure issue and expect that it will be resolved soon. We look forward to your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph - Canada

Good Motel conveniently located

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Inner-city location
Cons: There was nothing that was negative.
Location: The location gave door-step access to the inner city,, with its shops, restaurants, and major city buildings and facilities.
Our complete experience at this motel was positive...and indeed, very good. The reception was warm and helpful; tho room was just fine, the price was surprisingly good for a down-town motel, and the inner city location was very welcome...and without noisy traffic. Overall, an excellent choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Richard, we are so glad that you had a great stay! We hope that you'll stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria bc

Great Budget Accomodation

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Close to Value Village and several great breakfast places/coffee shops as well as china town
Clean room, nice staff and comfy beds. Close to everything downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We're so glad that you liked our location Maria, thanks you for your review. We look forward to your next stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qualicum Beach, B.C.

I Have stayed here before, and would do so again.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: It is handy to the bus lines, and easy to find.
Desk staff were particularly helpful when I left my wallet behind at a local coffee shop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks Kathy for your review, we're happy to hear that we were able to locate your wallet, we hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to stuff, but noisy.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We like this hotel, but there were several issues that will make us look for a different option when we return to the area. First, the noise. Sirens, loud cars, crazy loud birds (all night!), and worst of all, idiots partying all night in or next to the parking lot. That was the deal breaker. Other problems were a terrible shower. From scalding to freezing and back and forth. The bedding was too small for one of the beds, and the wifi was in and out, not really adequate. Found ourselves looking for a coffee shop in order to Facebook. The location is excellent, and the staff was helpful and kind. I suppose if one stays in the courtyard, the noise situation is better. But I'm gonna have to pass next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. We have asked our housekeeping manager to have a look at the room your stayed in as it doesn't sound as though it was up to our standard either. We appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Merely adequate

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Decent location by being near downtown but not in the midst of it. Convenient diner on the grounds.
Cons: Dingy room, poor lighting, needs updating. Air Conditioning units are inside the room, which take up space.
Front desk not particularly friendly or helpful. Said my reservation had been pre-paid on my AEX card which was confusing to me because I didn't think I had used that card. She couldn't show me the card number used and I ultimately learned (from my own records) that it had been charged on a different card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks AT for your review, we're glad you liked our downtown location. We are sad to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and apologize for the confusion surrounding the payment for your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fixed up and comfortable

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Have stayed at Paul,s a number of times the past few years for business. They've fixed up and updated so it is now comfortable and clean. Front desk was very quick and polite. Good shower heads with lots of water pressure (though too low). Bed was comfortable. Early breakfast available (7am).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We're so glad that you liked our renovations. Than kyou for your review, we hope you'll be back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from campbell river

Convenient location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Hotel is definitely showing its age, bathroom fan and ac both very noisy. Somebody puked on the landing in front of our room. Won't be staying here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Tom, we're sorry to hear that you won't be back.