Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value stay near to the centre of town...

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Price, location and staff plus the Paul's diner for breakfast was a classic from the 50-60s... still good today.
Cons: A little modernisation maybe.. but it may lose its charm
Location: Victoria town is amazing.. and the whale excursion was the best...
Facilities are a little tired but clean and staff very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review we appreciate your feedback! Kind Regards, Paul's Motor Inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Family owned motel, a Victoria landmark.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This is a family owned motel with a 10 minute walk to the BigBus stop downtown. Although it's older, it's well kept and good value for the location. Locals know the hotel and restaurant well. The restaurant is excellent in meal size and value. We'll be staying here whenever we're in Victoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review we appreciate the feedback, as it is helpful to improve. Sincerely, Paul's Motor Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Nice budget hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Within a short walking distance of Chinatown and the City Center.
Cons: Better air conditioning units to cool the room down.
Location: Chinatown City center Walk around the water
This hotel is your standard budget hotel. It was clean and close to the city center. The hotel staff were really friendly. My only complaint in the room was warm. There was a room air conditioner unit. It ran the whole time but didn't cool well and was loud. However, it did drawn out the outside noise, so that was a plus. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Thank you Jamie, We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. Kind Regards, Paul's Motor Inn
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Overpriced, loud air conditioning

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing worthy of note.
Cons: Rooms need to be completely refurbished.
Location: Poor walkability to central attractions.
Priced too high for old motel that is a long walk from inner harbour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review Roy. It is unfortunate to hear that you found our property inconveniently located, although we are not located directly on the harbor where the hotels are usually priced more than double our rates, most guests find the 10-15 min walk convenient because they do not have to search and pay for parking close to the harbor plus the parking is free here at Paul's Motor Inn. We do appreciate the feedback and will use your comments to improve. Kind Regards, Paul's Motor Inn
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Older motel in a great location. Staff is excellent and responded quickly to any request. Air conditioner is older and louder. Pricing value is expensive but in line to what is offered in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by AB, Hotel Management
Thank you for the comments, we appreciate all feedback! Kind Regards, Paul's Motor Inn
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Located walking distance from downtown Victoria.
Cons: Maybe turn on ac unit in the reserved rooms. Check everything in the room is ok for the next guest if there is no enough staff to be on call.
Location: Walk to and back from downtown. Chinatown is located a few blocks away and Victoria Public Market at the Hudson is a couple of blocks down the street.
The room was in the third floor. No elevator. Room was really hot. Tv remote had no batteries and when call the office I was told I needed to go downstairs because there was only one person in the office.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by A.B., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review Pat, It is unfortunate to hear that there were some issues with your stay, but we do appreciate the tips you gave us to make the next guests stay more comfortable as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you will choose us again on your next visit so we can give you the experience that you would expect. Kind Regards, Paul's Motor Inn Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very Pleasant, quiet, and clean. I will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by A.B., Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback J, We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Paul's Motor Inn Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice quiet hotel, very convenient location.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Good value.
Location: Great restaurants and shopping within easy walking distance.
We will stay there again any time! The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by A.B., Hotel Management
Thank you for the review lools, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Victoria. Kind Regards, Paul's Motor Inn Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The room has a musty smell when you walk in. Water doesn't go down the drain right away during and after shower. Portable aircon is noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by A.B., Hotel Management
Hello, We are sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory, hopefully you brought your concerns to the staff so we could try to remedy your concerns. Thank you for the review, we appreciate all feed back as it helps us improve. Sincerely, Paul's Motor Inn Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina

It was close to china town location was ok

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: water pressure was so good
Cons: wash the curtains and glasses a/c with less noise change bulbs to Led and save money
Location: Near china town , lots of restaurants and coffeeshops 2 or 3 blocks a way walking distance to harbour was nice.
In victoria most of the time we were outside so not much time in the hotel, for sleeping , resting and refresh it was worth the money But if you can budget more for nice views you can always go to the hotels around the harbour
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve guests stay. Kind regards, Paul's Motor Inn Management