Ratings based on 485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moose Jaw Sk, Canada

The stay

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Courtyard
Cons: room cards sometimes failed
Location: Lots to do nearby. And in most cases within walking distance. Close to China town, inner Harbour, Museum, Legislature and more...Historic Victoria
The courtyard was quiet and private. Location to downtown was very important and Paul's fit to a tee. Having the diner right there was an obvious bonus. Great diner fare. We did enjoy it all and the staff was very courteous. Thanks again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks Al and Deb for your review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Courtyard. it sounds as thought you had a great visit to Victoria and we hope that you will stay with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better price for high season

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Convenience to go downtown. We were able to walk in about 15 - 20 minutes from hotel to general downtown harbour area.
Cons: Shower temperature control.
Location: White Spot is across the street. Douglas is a Main Street route to downtown area, easy to walk in 15 or so minutes.
We booked last minute during prime season (summer) in Victoria. This was one of the better priced hotels. It's an older hotel. It's not fancy but it serves it's purpose. There is no elevator, you use stairs for upper floors. Parking is easy as its first come first serve. There is a cafe-diner attached on the other side of the front desk area, Paul's Cafe or something. The room cleanliness was overall clean but I noticed dust bunnies on the heater in the bathroom. It was a hot weekend and the room had a portable air conditioner inside, which we didn't mind as it kept us cool. I didn't feel any safety concerns - we tend to go to our room to/from vehicle or front desk area and we were not out very late. The only issue that really was the only complaint was the hot-cold water in the shower, it randomly goes very hot or very cold, depending on when others are using the water. Other than that, the room served its purpose and we were able to enjoy Victoria. We were grateful to have a room as vacancy in general was extremely limited in all of Victoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you liked our location and that you were able to walk around the city. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, close to downtown, free parking
Cons: Hot water ran out at around 10:30am ( near check out time).
We wanted to check in at 2:30pm ; about 25 mins early than the 3pm time; as my kid was sleepy. But we were asked to wait. We got to check in a bit early ; but the wait was unnecessary. Parking was free. The room was on 2nd floor; not too step climb up the stairs. The room was nice: clean and had everything we needed. 2 chairs; 2 beds; Iron, iron board, small fridge , a air cooler & a hair dryer. Overall a no frills ; value for money hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your patience while our team put the finishing touches on your room so that we could to get you in early. We hope to welcome you and your family back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC

Great price for what I got

Posted Aug 2, 2016
- Good location, within walking distance to downtown - accommodating staff; got us extra pillows and allowed us to leave our car late into the afternoon when we checked out in the morning. - WiFi was okay - bathtub and sink water took a bit of time to draine. - when showerng, water temperature constantly changing from warm to hot and back to warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are working with a plumber to regulate the water temperature.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great location in Victoria

Posted Jul 28, 2016
We really liked this place. We stayed three nights. It's a 10 minute walk from the BC legislature and it is a shorter walk to Chinatown. The room was renovated and well equipped. We would happily stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We'd be thrilled to welcome you back John. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Ok

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Need to fix plumbing had a strange shower either the water was to hot or to cold in the same shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Toni. Happy to report that we are working with a plumber on this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

it was close enough to everything, nice stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, comfort
Cons: it should be cheaper
Location: it is 2 blocks from Chinatown, good restaurants in 1-2 blocks like "Jam", 15 min from the center and all attractions.
Room was clean, had everything: refrigerator, hairdryer, iron/board, TV, close to restaurants and attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review elena, we're so glad that you liked our location and that you were able to walk & explore the city. We hope to see you again sometime!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from campbell river bc

in the right spot for many adventures in the city

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: there restaurant has fast, friendly, service and good prices and food.
Cons: nothing that i could see
Location: close to downtown 10.00 cab trip and in walking distance to most things
granddaughter and i had a great 2 night stay. nothing much more to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We are so glad that we were the starting point for your Victoria adventures. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and that you had a great stay. Thanks so much for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic, functional, pleasant

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: N/A
Location: Close to downtown.
The staff are the standout at Paul's: from the restaurant, to the front desk, to the cleaners, to maintenance. All were helpful, patient and pleasant. Paul's is an older, refurbished motel so don't expect solid soundproofing or consistent hot water. Overall, very pleasant and clean. I would recommend to anyone who is looking for value and friendliness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review & for recognizing our team - we really appreciate it! Our team tries really hard to help everyone we come in contact with. Its nice to hear that it makes a difference. We hope you enjoyed your time in Victoria and look forward to welcoming you back. Louise - Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Great option for who doesn't have a lot of money to spend but wants a good location. Great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We are so glad that you liked our downtown location and thanks for mentioning our staff!