Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Great value, great facility

Posted Dec 4, 2016
We have stayed here a few times and each time was fantastic. Huge, well appointed rooms, attentive staff, great location. Great value- expect to pay 3x for a facility like this in VIctoria or Vancouver. Sooke itself is beautiful - great hikes, beaches, river etc. Underrated place to visit. Restaurant at hotel is great, or drive up the road a mile or so to Sooke Harbour House for a culinary delight.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dining room

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: rooms, view, staff
Cons: dining room food . service was excellent
Location: Was there for a funeral so didnt see too much . first time in Sooke.
Beautiful facilities, extremely clean but the food at the restaurant was a disappointment. Thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing holiday

Posted Nov 27, 2016
It was rainy but we enjoyed a nice relaxing time. The scenery was lovely. And the staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I felt Expedia second class citizen prejudice

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Ever have that feeling where you feel like a second class citizen because you didn't book through the hotel? The room overlooking the parking lot with the noisy heating/cooling system even though the hotel had lots of rooms available. The rooms are clean and the restaurant is decent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Alex Barkwell, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the West Coast Grill and the cleanliness of the rooms. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the location of your room. Please know this is not because you booked through Expedia, it would have been the room type that you booked. Our standard rooms which are non water view do overlook either the garden or parking area. If you have the chance to stay with us again I would recommend booking an Oceanview room which have lovely views of the Ocean. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Nice hotel, but a few misses

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Loved our meal at the Stone Pipe Grill. Nice ambience and very tasty food.
The door to room was very difficult to open - took multiple tries with the key card every time. No towels at pool, which made drying off difficult. No paper towels in the women's washroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Alex Barkwell, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced and can assure you this is not our standard. By telling us how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Warmest regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Very nice but not perfect.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Location, Restaurant, Spa, Gym, Quietness.
Cons: Room temperature......it's weird that it got up to 25C with the heat turned off when it was 15C outside or lower...and no windows that open.
Location: Nice parks, , right on the harbour, lots of cozy little restaurants etc.
The hotel is a building that stands out. It's the one that you can easily recognize from across the harbour in East Sooke. Finishes are nice, staff is great, Restaurant is top notch. Nice gym, Spa etc. Sooke is beautiful. Unfortunately the room left a little to be desired. It was nice enough but it got very hot even though it was only around 15C outside. Normally I'd just open the window since it's on a quiet, peaceful harbour but none of the windows opened, I would have had to leave the balcony door open with no screen. This meant I had to run the air conditioning all night...and it was not a quiet air conditioner, turning off and on with a good rattle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Alex Barkwell, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with your room temperature but am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the quiet location we have the offer and had the chance to enjoy our gym, spa and restaurant. We hope that you will come and enjoy us again soon. Warmest regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Explore a different part of Vancouver Island

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: I highly recommend French Beach. The salmon were just finishing their run near the fish hatchery.
I have no complaints about this hotel. If road noise is an issue and you like your window open ask to be on the ocean-side. The room was updated and clean. The restaurant was very good with local sea food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Alex Barkwell, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a great experience at the West Coast Grill! I am also glad that you got to experience the Salmon Run and enjoyed French Beach which is nearby. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area. Warmest regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Lots of nature around
Great night of sleep needed by my daughter and I. Needed a place to relax and we came to the right place
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Alex Barkwell, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and were able to get a great night sleep! I hope we will see you again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent...reposant..beau décor..personnel super

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Chambre superbe.....reposante...décoration très recherchée...extérieur magnifique..les arbres sont beaux
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Alex Barkwell, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and your overall time with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Sooke. Warmest regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very, very nice west coast hotel on the water.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Overall great experience, hotel and rooms are very nice inside. Great location on the water, friendly staff, beautiful bathroom and room in general, free parking, fast wifi, everything good. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Alex Barkwell, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our great location on the water. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Sooke. Warmest regards,