Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Chose another hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Hotel outdated, hot literally has heater set so high we were sweating very miserable, no ac in rooms, we were downgraded for complaining how hot the room was. Took our spa tub double queen and put us in a smaller room with no spa tub. Staff member was very rude. Fees for everything, parking that is horrible and small, pet fees (which are usually free with this hotel) no breakfast (which is usually included with this hotel). I would have rather stayed at travel lodge down the street at least I know what to expect
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey. On behalf of the whole team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. The room that you were initially in is above the pool and sometimes gets warmer. As soon as you mentioned it to our agent, we moved you to a larger room on a higher floor. She made a point of checking if you were satisfied with the room and you said yes. You are correct in saying that there was no jetted tub in the second room but we had no other rooms available with this feature. As for the parking and pet fees, you will find that virtually all hotels in Victoria charge for both and I can assure you that our pricing is very competitive. We do not offer complimentary breakfast but a 25% off for all our guests is a very good value, indeed. Thank you again for your feedback. We are in the process of renovating a large part of the hotel. I hope you will visit us again in our "new" property and offer us the opportunity to provide you with an excellent guest experience. Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Powell River

Good location. 5-7 minutes walk to harbour, etc

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Price and location
Location: Close to BC Museum, harbour, Empress Hotel, shops, Royal Theatre and many excellent restaurants.
Good value for a hotel in this location. Probably couldn't find a better breakfast for the price. Extremely helpful staff. 3rd floor is being renovated but this was not a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey and for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location and especially pleased that you singled out our service. We do try very hard to be the friendliest hotel in the city. Also, it's great to hear that you appreciated the quality and value of the breakfast. A 25% discount on a breakfast of your choosing is a very good deal, indeed. John, Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon, in a freshly-upgraded and renovated hotel. Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Great location, Coffee please.

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Maybe it's just me, but can we have just a regular pot of coffee? This one cup BS kills me. I want to wake up and have a few cups before I leave.
Location: Imax, all kinds of shopping, great for walks and people watching.
Great location, very comfortable bed. The place was under renovations but didn't bother us too much, just a little noise in the afternoon and during clean up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear wildcrib, Thank you so much for your response and the great comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our services and location and that renovations were not an issue. We go out of our way to eliminate any inconveniences during the renos and I am glad to see that we have succeeded. There was a brief phase with some noise but that is over now so if there were no signs, you would not know that renovation was going on. With regards to the coffee, we are constantly looking at upgrading our product and you are not the first one to suggest a larger pot. We are looking at options and hopefully, we can come up with a satisfactory solution. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you back in our soon-to-be renovated property. Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Great location within walking distance of harbour, restaurants and inner city attractions. Clean and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Sinisha , Hotel Management
Dear Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey and for your kind comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Nice hotel near downtown.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Within walking distance of downtown, museum, and Empress.
Cons: Would like a room away from pub next time.
Location: Within walking distance of downtown, museum, and Empress.
Good stay, although my room was above the restaurant or pub, so patrons woke me up on Friday and Saturday night. Otherwise it was fine. No free breakfast like at Quality Inns in USA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear Chuck, Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to our survey. I am so pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, especially the location. My apologies about the noise from the pub. That is one of the down sides to being in a down-town location. However, if and when you visit us again, do request a room in the Inner Courtyard. These rooms are very quiet, indeed. As you mentioned, breakfast is not included but we do feel that a 25% discount that our guests enjoy is great value and gives you the choice to choose the breakfast that YOU like. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you back soon. Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
good location,staff friendly,rooms clean. Pool was not ready but no big deal,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to our survey. I am very pleased you enjoyed the location, our service and amenities. I am so glad that we met your expectations. Our promise is really quite simple, a clean, nicely appointed room, friendly, efficient service and great location at a fair price. It looks like our formula worked well in your case! Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Solid accommodation in great location

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Excellent location in walking distance to the opera/symphony, James Bay, anywhere in downtown, really. Third floor currently under renovation. Excellent value for underground parade ($9/day). Basic amenities, but free, stable wifi, nice small fridge and iron + board in room, clean and quiet. Friendly staff; early check in for us at no charge. Room was ready before noon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to our survey. I am so pleased you enjoyed our services, amenities and our great location. I am glad that we were able to throw in a few "extras" like early check-in. As you mentioned, we are in the process of renovating our 3rd floor and we look forward to offering our "new" and improved hotel soon. We should be ready in February. We hope to see you soon! Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and well priced

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We arrived late and only needed 'a bed for the night'. Everything was so clean and the staff were pleasant. We did close our window because of noisy people on the street .... but I guess we notice that more because our home is on a quiet small island. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to our survey, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about the noise. Most of our guests love our location but being down-town means that there is a bit more noise. Next time you visit us, please request a room facing the courtyard. These rooms are very quiet and isolated from any noise in the front. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy Holidays and all the best in 2017! Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Close to the downtown & the bus station.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Location: Excellent location.
Comfortable, bright, room. The staff were very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear Lynda, Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey and for your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed our location, your stay and our staff. We do hope to see you back soon. Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel within walking distance to attractions

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was small but clean, the hotel was being renovated but it was still clean and quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Sinisha, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time to respond to our review. I am so pleased you had a great stay. Please note that the room you stayed in was one of the few smaller ones but the rest of our rooms are very generous in size and almost half of them will soon have a brand new look. We can't wait to present them to our guests following the renovation, hopefully, by the end of January. Thank you again for your feedback. we hope to see you back soon. Best regards, Sinisha Ivaz General Manager