Ratings based on 1,250 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Zero-Frills hotel NOT family friendly

Posted Apr 21, 2017
My first impression of the hotel was that it is not in a family-friendly neighbourhood. It is attached to1. A liquor store 2. A Chinese food restaurant and 3. Some type of club/lounge (heard it was an exotic dancer club but cannot confirm). That brings less than stellar clientele. Not family friendly. Check in took over 30 minutes because the front staff took forever to do a simple check if the room was ready for a (slightly) early check-in. The room was okay, and by okay I mean, 4/10. There were a few holes in the walls, and not maintained to any type of standard. Everything was clearly finished on the cheap. There was a small fridge and microwave with cutlery which was useful. I had a room with two queen beds and one bed had a huge saggy middle in it so when you slept on it you fell into a hole. The beds/linens were clean but the carpet felt dirty and old. The toilet moved when you sat down and the shower felt like it might fall out from underneath you. The hotel itself was not well cleaned. There was a chocolate bar dropped in the elevator and was not removed for the duration of our 4 night/5 day stay (might still be there). The staff were friendly but that was about all I can say that is positive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Very nice place very accessible for other places of town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tsawwassen

Excellent location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Staff is very friendly and helpful
Location: Close to the mall which is being renovated, close to trail and close to stores
Awesome kitchenette suite,super clean and comfy. Staff is helpful and friendly, very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Harbor, Washington

Great Hotel near everything!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
My family and I highly recommend the Red Lion Inn and suites. It's close to all the attractions, most are a 15 minute drive which wasn't bad. Theirs lots to eat near there and the convenience of shops about a block away that you can easily walk to. The Japanese restaurant attached to the hotel is phenomenal great food! We really enjoyed our stay there. It was clean, comfy and the staff was super friendly. We highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Close to areas of interest!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Bed is too high! Hot plate provided did not work opted to have dinners at restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

How do you forget two wake up calls...?...etc

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Internet works ok
Cons: Have some amenities and 40 to 42 inch tvs!
We had an early ferry to get to and I asked for a wake up call at a certain time and with a back up in case and neither happened! Plus for my worker helper and his room too and he did not get one either! Thankfully my cell was on and someone texted me randomly or we would have been hooped! That was quite disappointing. Room was ok but so tight in there and as well a tiny tv with limited channels offered. No breakfast offered as well and the icing was that they charge for a Sun or Province when all other motels and hotels do not charge! That was so cheap of them. It was late at night too and last one, they could have just offered it after the day we had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Hotel was good

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Convenient walking distance to mall and restaurants. Easy in and out access with car. Newly renovated, very nice. Extremely reasonable price.
Cons: Maid service could have been better and the girl at the front desk, not very friendly.
Location: Walking distance to mall and restaurants, easy access by car. Bus Line was close. Maps and brochures to tell us about things to do.
Hotel was nice, very clean and quiet considering it was on the main street and had a pub and liquor store attached to it. Room was nice, had a small kitchenette, everything you needed. Maid wasn't good. Only made beds when we asked for maid service. Bathroom floor was gritty from sand when we got there and maid didn't clean it the next day either. Room was renovated and very nice. Girl at the desk wasn't friendly but the man the next day was nice. Girl told me I could park in a certain place and was phoned the next morning by the man to move my car so did. Had free map of Victoria that was very easy to follow and some brochures. Overall the stay was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Soundproof, and clean
Cons: Being reconstructed but not noisy
Location: Good location
Upgraded to a suite, very comfortable great bed.Pleasant staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good. The elevator is small.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Priced well. Was fine. Basically the best deal for an good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Close to shopping malls and restaurants

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Hotel was clean and nice to stay there. Staff were friendly and offered advice about the city and things to do