Ratings based on 1,321 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Clean and quiet

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Quiet hotel a few minutes away from the downtown area. Easy to miss heading into the city Center as the hotel name is now near the street. Rooms are small but comfortable. Beds are quite high to get in to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Wonderful people

Posted Oct 4, 2017
We were a little bit needy, as I was just out of a surgery. The staff was very accommodating. Very kind people work there (Christ and Amanda were great). When in Victoria, we will always stay at the Red Lion
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal, qc

Bad location comfy room

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Hotel surrounded by auto dealers and industrial feeling places.. felt I was interrupting the desk clerks from something she was doing rather than serve the only person there. But the bed feels like sleeping on a cloud, room very nice, clean. WiFi does not work well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa ON

A continuing project

Posted Sep 23, 2017
This Hotel is undergoing renovations as it has been around for awhile. It has some terrific advantages in that there is a quality Chinese restaurant attached to it. The food there is authentic Cantonese and and Szechuan. The renovations have been well thought out. With all the electronic equipment today they have put plugs at the desk and between the beds so tablets and cell phones can be plugged in. Our room had a microwave and built-in hot plate and microfridge and although we were only there for 2 days and didn't use it it could be helpful. There is plenty of parking. Our room was quiet and the beds were very comfortable. The linen and bedding was of good quality. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modest hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Additional parking options
The facility is a bit "tired" but is in the midst of updating and refurbishing. Room was comfortable and spacious...good bed...and clean. Arrived late in day...parking was a challenge. Central location for the city sights. Stayed for two nights...fulfilled our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
satisfactory but disappointed with some of the front desk staff!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice hotel - awful pub/restaurant attached.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Room was quiet and comfortable. Desk staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Punt the pub/restaurant. It's dated and a bit disgusting.
Location: Plenty of other choices nearby.
Terrible service at this pub - 20 minutes to get a beer! Cash only. Staff seemed much more interested in what some of the "regulars" were up to than in serving new customers. Highly recommend travelers seek other venues for food and beverages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to UVic and many other attractio

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We were very happy with the hotel! The fridge and freezer allowed us to have some groceries so we could have fresh foods for some of our meals during the week. Although the room was a bit small it was very comfortable and clean. There was one staff member that stood out to us specifically, he was very interactive, friendly and helpful. To be honest, there were a few days during the week when this staff member had days off and the services and getting we got from the front staff was disappointing ( no smiles or eye contact and minimally helpful). This didn't ruin our experience but it goes to show just how much a good staff member affects customers. (I am not positive but I want to say that the really great staff member was Chris?). All in all, great location and clean hotel. We would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice hotel and clean

Posted Sep 7, 2017
It was a nice and clean hotel. The rooms were nice size and the kitchenette was a bonus. bathrooms were abit tiny, but theybwere clean. Wish they had breakfast too, but not a big deal. Over all everything was pretty good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I was OK, but they could do more esp with rate they charge, they should include breakfast for their guests.