Ratings based on 1,626 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Great location, comfortable, charming
Location: Steps away from Parliament, museum and harbourfront
Stayed for work travel - charming, comfortable hotel. I appreciated the quiet fellow guests and fantastic location close to downtown and harbourfront (not to mention a Starbucks!). Room was spacious and nice seized closet
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very tiny room

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Our room looked to me like at one time was a large room but they cut it in half. One tiny window in one corner. And the bathroom was so small that you had to cuddle the counter to be able to close the door. Would not recomend the hotel to any one. However the staff was super friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MAnitoba

Close to innerharbour attractions

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location, great staff, good restaurant
Location: Harbour front walking pat, museum, legislature, shoppingl
Able to walk to most places lots of restaurants in the area v
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Burnaby, BC

All the right features

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: walking distance from tourist areas, pool/hot tub, games room, room service, kitchen
Cons: Some more kitchen conveniences and tools, ie. large bowls, baking pans
Location: Parliament, museum, whale watching, dining, Beacon Park, Antique Row, Chinatown
We were very pleased with the location in James Bay, pool and hot tub amenities, towel service, staff and kitchenette. the decor is quaint and felt homey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In transit

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Arriving back on V Island for brief appt before heading back north again, turned to our trusty accomo at the Royal Scot. Price was a little higher than some advertised but worth it for the quiet location and facilities, the comfortable and spacious room. Paying extra for parking still rankles though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mulino, Oregon

Apartment type rooms lots of space

Posted Dec 28, 2016
We have stayed at the Royal Scot about 8 times over the years, we usually get a 1 bedroom suite so there is plenty of room for 4 people and it has a full kitchen. 3 blocks from a grocery store. A block down from Parliament and walking distance all through town. A pool and hot tub after long walks and wonderful food. We will definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel. Reasonable stay and facilities.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Location, staff service
Cons: Room and facilities upkeep
Location: Very close to harbor/clipper docks. 2 blocks to Empress, Royal BC museum. 1 block to government building. 5 blocks to grocery store and downtown
Hotel is within 5 mins walking distance from Clipper docks. They can even come to pick/drop in shuttle. The hotel is also within walking distance to Empress, downtown shopping district, China town, etc. Overall great location, although no view of harbor. The hotel service is very good. Staff is friendly. Room is clean. Kitchen has basic facilities - couple of utensils, few bowls, plates, cutlery, etc. No dishwasher - so you need to wash everything yourself. We had to get sugar and other basic stuff from the store (grocery store is 5-6 blocks away). Bed was reasonable, not very comfortable. But cant expect a Westin style mattress either. Sofa-bed was good enough for kids. Shuttle service is great. They drop/pick you up from most surrounding places. Pool is good. Basic gym (treadmill, elliptical, bicycle). The game room was great to entertain kids. You can even take board games/cards to your room. Only reason for 4 stars is because of chipped tub and sink in bathroom...not that it affects the stay in any way. It only reflects the upkeep of the hotel/rooms.
4 out of 5
by Leeann

Inadequate bathroom space.

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
The one annoying thing about my room (412) was it is difficult to open / close bathroom door from inside. The bathroom was poorly designed, the door actually rubs the toilet. They could fix this easily enough, change door to swing outward or to slide into the empty wall. If I can think of this fix certainly they can. The question is Why won't they?
4 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel and very convenient to most things. We were disappointed that a king bed was booked, but the room had a queen.