Ratings based on 1,431 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood WA

Great location in the heart of Victoria

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Hotel is a block away from ferry terminal and within walking distance of the inner harbor, downtown attractions, restaurants and Fisherman's wharf.
Cons: The hotel is on the older side and it is not air conditioned however fans are provided.
Location: Don't miss the Museum; the inside the Empress hotel and the Government building especially at night. Government building offers a nice tour.
We have stayed at the Royal Scott on every one of our visits to Victoria B.C. The closeness to the ferry terminal makes it especially handy for those traveling in that way. Car parking is available for an added fee. The rooms are spacious and the suites are a real treat if you chose that option. This is a very busy area of town during the summer season and opting for off season gives the same great features without the crowds and added cost. This is an older property that is well kept but lacks air conditioning. The Royal Scot is a charming rather than trendy place to enjoy the best of Victoria.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

right by inner harbor without the noise

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Location: We loved that we could walk to Fisherman's wharf in 15 minutes one direction and the inner harbor in 8 minutes the other direction.
Royal Scot's front desk staff were more than helpful everyday we were there, from storing luggage, getting ideas of places to eat, to calling the shuttle for us when we did not want to walk through town. It was especially quiet for it's location as Parliament was not one building away and we did not even feel the business of the inner harbor around the corner. It is very quaint and comfortable if you are looking for that type of hotel. We loved it and it was perfect for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Great location! Friendly staff! Laundry facilities! Pool! Sauna! we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite too! Very clean and spacious!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Sa situation géogaphique
Cons: Le restaurant Le prix du parking est trop élevé.
Location: Centre ville; tous les sites intéressant sont accessibles à pied
Hotel de bon niveau de service et de confort; très bien situé en centre ville
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommended

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Comfortable, clean, hotel, very large rooms, nice restaurant, just minutes walk from Inner Harbor. Extraordinary service from the hotel manager, Greg. Highly recommended hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really lovely hotel, great stay!

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Location: We really liked to be close to the action, and the waterfront is beautiful!
We loved the pool, and the atmosphere of the hotel. It was in a beautiful area of Victoria, close to the action. We loved to be able to walk to the waterfront, and the room was very nice. The staff were also very friendly!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem Oregon

Would not let wife check in with our Visa.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Great location. Very clean.
Cons: Receptionists need to be better trained. Hotel must honor its commitments when reservations are made.
I made the reservation but they would not let my wife check in with our joint visa card. This has never happened in 35 years of our marriage. My wife gets out and gets the room. Then I carry the bags. Our initial room was very shabby. The hotel was probably once an apartment building. It appeared that we had only one double bed, although a queen was reserved. I went back to complain and was told that there was a queen "behind the wall." The receptionist said that we had been given a "complimentary upgrade." Indeed, there was a queen bed in another room; apparently it was once a one bedroom apartment. However the queen bed was very cramped in a small room with no room for my wife to get in and out of bed. So my wife went into to complain. She was more successful, in negotiating with hotel staff and eventually we got a very nice room. My wife was initially told that "we are all sold out," but that later appeared to be untrue as we eventually got a very nice room. However we wasted a half hour negotiating and actually thought about moving to another hotel. .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue WA

Good location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Air circulation.
This is an excellent location if you are interested in visiting the Inner Harbour of Victoria. The hotel was clean and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was a little stuffy, even with windows wide open. Because there is no air conditioning, it was a little uncomfortable on warm days. The hotel provided fans in the rooms. We used the king bed, which was comfortable, and the hide-a-bed sofa, which was not comfortable. The kitchen was tiny but totally adequate. Bring your own staples, such as oil and salt. The pool was a great amenity---just a perfect temperature plus the hot tub was nice and hot! There is also a sauna right next to the pool and a small gym. They have a games room and a pool table available as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older but exceptionally maintained.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Great facilities pool, sauna, games room and super clean!!
Location: close to most things you go to Victoria for.
Hotel is dated but amazingly maintained and clean!! great staff! close to most things in Victoria
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable, safe and quiet.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Comfortable, clean and very friendly.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Like I said, the location is perfect. Not too close to, but not too far from where the action is. We like that.
We were guests of the Royal Scot for five nights. It was a real 'at home' experience. Everything we needed was provided (eg: a great bed, an adequately equipped kitchen, lots of living space, easy access to all of the sites and attractions Victoria has to offer). The accommodations were exactly what we wanted for our particular vacation. We will, without hesitation, book the Royal Scot for any future vacations in Victoria and will have no hesitation recommending the Royal Scot to family and friends. Thank you.