Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mulino, Oregon

Apartment type rooms lots of space

Posted Dec 28, 2016
We have stayed at the Royal Scot about 8 times over the years, we usually get a 1 bedroom suite so there is plenty of room for 4 people and it has a full kitchen. 3 blocks from a grocery store. A block down from Parliament and walking distance all through town. A pool and hot tub after long walks and wonderful food. We will definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel. Reasonable stay and facilities.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Location, staff service
Cons: Room and facilities upkeep
Location: Very close to harbor/clipper docks. 2 blocks to Empress, Royal BC museum. 1 block to government building. 5 blocks to grocery store and downtown
Hotel is within 5 mins walking distance from Clipper docks. They can even come to pick/drop in shuttle. The hotel is also within walking distance to Empress, downtown shopping district, China town, etc. Overall great location, although no view of harbor. The hotel service is very good. Staff is friendly. Room is clean. Kitchen has basic facilities - couple of utensils, few bowls, plates, cutlery, etc. No dishwasher - so you need to wash everything yourself. We had to get sugar and other basic stuff from the store (grocery store is 5-6 blocks away). Bed was reasonable, not very comfortable. But cant expect a Westin style mattress either. Sofa-bed was good enough for kids. Shuttle service is great. They drop/pick you up from most surrounding places. Pool is good. Basic gym (treadmill, elliptical, bicycle). The game room was great to entertain kids. You can even take board games/cards to your room. Only reason for 4 stars is because of chipped tub and sink in bathroom...not that it affects the stay in any way. It only reflects the upkeep of the hotel/rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Alberni, BC

Cute hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Very clean and friendly hotel. While the rooms are a bit dated in decor, everything is in excellent condition and clean. Only complaint would be that the limit on blankets, so we were cold. Thicker quilt or several more blankets would be recommended. Overall we had a fantastic stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vernon, BC

Close to downtown

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Quiet area; close to parliament; close to lights parade.
Cons: Provide equal pricing for all. Next time we will wait for the last day.
Location: Museum, Imax, parliament, harbour, sea walk.
Disappointed in not getting the reduced price - by $28.00 per night!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Easy access to harbor and shops.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Very good- non pretentious, lovely building, well maintained. Staff very efficient and helpful throughout. Restaurant is clean and comfortable and well staffed. Hotel is great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great James Bay location

Posted Nov 25, 2016
A quaint hotel for a relaxing weekend. One block off James Bay, excellent for walking to the downtown area and sea wall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox BC

Very centrally location

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The hotel is within walking distance of all downtown area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Great stay, terrific hotel. The hot tub was out of order but we could use the spa at the Grand Pacific.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel with super location

Posted Nov 16, 2016
This hotel definitely needs a makeover but the location is great, the room was clean & kitchen was well stockeded. The staff were friendly. The hot tub was broken so we were able to use the Grand Pacific facilities which were stellar. I would rate this hotel low because it looks so tired but our overall experience was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy and Spacious

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: This hotel was like a home away from home. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the suite had lots of space and a great little kitchen. Our 4 year old loved it too.
Cons: Extra bedding would be nice in the room. It was a little on the old side as far as colors and furnishings in the suite.
Location: Belleville's Restaurant across the street was great!