Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel, close to downtown.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Nice clean, quiet hotel. Plenty of parking. Staff very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bed bugs

Posted Nov 21, 2016
arrived about 1:30 to check in, when elevator door opened it looked like a war zone!! beds, furniture and stuff all over the hall way. stayed 3 nights, when I arrived back home I had to visit the doctors office as I had bug bites on my lower torso. Doc confirmed it looked like bed bugs!! called hotel , they said they would have their pest control look at the room. and just as I suspected they said they found nothing!! Of course they didn't.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
The room was ok but I was grossed out with a hair on the bath at and also on the blow dryer. The breakfast service was extremely slow due to the server handling the bar and the breakfast area on her own. The server apologized for the slow service and as a reward gave us complimentary coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vernon bc

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Very central to all in Victoria. Good food at shark club.
Cons: The hotel has an old smell in the halls and elevator. Needs a good cleaning. Rooms are ok .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

You don't always get what you pay for !!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The beds and pillows were comfortable.
Cons: Video security in hallways to stop the party-doers and staff re-train to recognize trouble patrons before they start.
Location: Right along the busiest roadway in Victoria, BC
The place was a disappointment. I had hoped by paying the little extra, we would get a quiet, clean room... NOT ! Room one. Top floor with a lovely view of the bus barns of Victoria Transit, and apparently someone spilled a large quantity of cleaning chemical in the room making it impossible to breath. Complained after finding it impossible to vent the room out and were given a room right directly above the lobby and surrounded by a Water-Polo team that made that floor their personal party area. Walking around in halls, elevators and in-between the room-to-room party. Can't forget to mention the sports bar located below that stays open till 2 AM and leaves outside doors open to attract business. Overall, I think we would had a better sleep in our van. You either have to pay EVEN more to get a good nights sleep or pick a place way off the beaten path.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated...

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
The room was older and a little dated , but my bed was comfortable . The room was quiet , and had all of the things we needed for the night. Kyle at the desk was very nice and took the time to explain to me everything I needed to know about what was available to me ( food and pool etc.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Impressed by the Staff

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: This hotel excelled when it came to customer service. They always asked how are stay was going and if there were any improvements to be made.
Overall this hotel serves all functions a hotel should, and exceeds the standards when it comes to customer service. The location is a short walk to china town, and offers kitchenettes, a pool, fitness facility and hot tub which are an added bonus to your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs some attention.

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at the Sandman Victoria several times, but it has sadly gone downhill since our last visit. Room was shabby and in need of some attention, also not as clean as it should have been. Needs new mattresses and a choice of feather pillows instead of a foam slab.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

In need of an upgrade

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Noisy, 24 hour car wash and gas station in the back, TV's terrible, I never can figure out why housekeeping knocks on your door at 8:00 am. Next time someplace else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Was here for the Victoria Marathon. It's about 2K from the Start line so it was a great warmup.