Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Was very nice. Room was clean and the staff were pleasent. Only issue was that the pool and whirlpool didn't seem especially clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canadian maritimes

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to downtown
Cons: Hotel is tired looking with all its brown wood and fabrics easy
Location: 30 min walk to down town
First desk clerk lacked personality. Others very pleasant. Bar too noisy for a meal. Hotel clean but needs updating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nightmare

Posted Sep 21, 2017
If anyone has that courage for a nightmare please stay at this hotel. I WILL, never stay at a Sandmand hotel ever again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

All around a great hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Cons: Perhaps the breakfast.
Location: This hotel is a little ways away from most tourist-y attractions like downtown Victoria, about 5-10 minutes.
I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. When we checked in, the reception staff were very friendly and answered all of our questions in a very professional manner. The room was very comfortable, with all the amenities we could ask for. The bathroom was clean and spacious, and the king sized bed was luxurious. The pool and hot tub area were very clean, However, the chlorine was pretty strong (understandably). Parking is pretty good, as they have an underground lot as well as above ground.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Everything was good, except a lumpy bed. The pool was immaculate and very useable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Nice hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We attended a function in Victoria so only really slept there, used none of the facilities. The Sharkclub is part of the hotel which I have been to in the past. Nice facility to enjoy some beverages & watch the scenery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Easy access to everything

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Central location , good food at hotel restaurant close to shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Nice hotel clean all update nice location Close to down town Shopping
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Overpriced

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Figure out and prevent why some rooms smell of cigarette smoke.
This hotel is a 2-star wanting to be a 3-star. Location is the only plus factor. After check in we got to our room and as soon as we opened the door it smelled of cigarette smoke. We asked the front desk to move us to a diff room but he said they were sold out. He sent a service call guy to spray room freshner but that barely worked. The service guy even said "what smoke? i dont smell any". After talking to the front desk one more time he moved us to a different room which was much better. We spent two nights at an avg of $230 per night. Overall I'd say it is overpriced for what it had to offer.