Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria

Amazing in winter

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Wood fireplace in our room hot soaker tub on the deck overlooking the ocean with free port to drink amazing food in the copper room everything clean fresh but with character and class definitely worth a stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sooke Harbour House

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: I loved the decor of the hotel. Extremely cosy and welcoming. The furniture is beautiful.
Location: Close to Sooke if you are looking for a quiet community. A nice walk to town or along the spit right out front.
A very peaceful setting. If you are looking for a quiet retreat this is the place to go! If you are looking for adventure there isn't a lot to do at this time of year but if you just want to relax and unwind this is a a beautiful place to do that. The room was really comfortable with a wood burning fireplace a beautiful west coast view (right on the ocean) and a very comfortable bed. Very pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A Charming Stay

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Setting, service, comfort and relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Perhaps larger portions of food for lunch and dinner while retaining the chef class experience.
Location: The sea location is amazing and the grounds were interesting. There were several other very good restaurants nearby.The spit was a great place to walk
Heather and the other staff were pleasant and accomodating. They are excellent stewards for the hotel. The room was welcoming with the fireplace , footed tub and the tub on the balcony. The bed was comfy and the view was astounding. The copper room was cheery and inviting with the fireplace (both 😉) and the cozy atmosphere. The food was delicious perhaps a bit scant in the main course. Obviously the chefs were first class. A glass of wine relaxing by the fire was a lovely close to the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel and Art Gallery in One

Posted Dec 6, 2016
We love coming here. It is near to our home, so we can pop in at quieter times. I come by just to check out the art on display in the hallways (all for sale), but staying is so much more relaxing, especially if you wander around after having sipped the welcome port in your room! The new Copper Room (still ground floor) was a nice new experiment for lighter, but still delicious food. Our room (The Forrager's room) was large, well-appointed, with a fireplace and fillable hottub (we used the former, not the latter). The bed was a bit on the small side-- we're tall and should have checked on that before we booked that room. It is worthwhile searching out the Potlatch room-- amazing FN art on display (not for sale in that room) if it is not being used.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful getaway and a foodie's delight

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We stayed at Sooke Harbour House in low season for a weekend getaway. From the warm welcome at the front desk, to the charm and comfort of your accommodations. The oceanview rooms come with an outdoor tub to soak in and enjoy the pounding surf and stunning views. The food is superlative; innovative cuisine using local organic produce and meats. Just a fantastic experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
After traveling to many places around the world, this is one of the most special places. Lovely location in Sooke Harbor. We could hear and see ocean waves, seals, seagulls and other abundant sea life from our hotel window. The historical house was so well preserved and maintained. Local and native artists, craftsmen excellent chefs, ecologically minded, water treatment program, well utilized beautiful kitchen garden comes to mind. A very special experience....even the strawberry pancakes were artfully arranged into a heart shaped delectable breaksfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect getaway

Posted Nov 15, 2016
One of our favorite places to stay ever. Room and view were amazing. Enjoyed dinner at the copper room both nights. Will be back for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by SookeHarbourHouse, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us. It is always so wonderful to hear about a guests' positive experience. We all look forward to seeing you here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

An Excellent Getaway

Posted Nov 14, 2016
We took two different ferries to get to the Sooke Harbour House and it was well worth it. The room with its view of the straits, the hot tub, the wood fire place, etc. was magnificient. We enjoyed meals in both the main restaurant and the grill. My wife had an excellent massage. We enjoyed walking on the spit and hiking in the nearby Provincial Park. We look forward to our next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by SookeHarbourHouse, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the travel time to get here. We appreciate your feedback and your business. We are all so glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

STAY HERE

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Everywhere we looked there was beauty: both man made and natural
Amazing art, gorgeous views, excellent food, outstanding service
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by SookeHarbourHouse, Hotel Management
We are grateful for your business and your feedback. It always brings us joy to know that guest have enjoyed the hotel, the restaurant and our environment. We hope that you will come and explore again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Luxury meets charm

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Room - tub, view, fireplace, size Grounds - unbelievable Restaurant - great food and service Breakfast - food and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Fantastic location. Loads of outdoor activities heading North. Great beaches, vistas, trails. Mystic Beach Trail. Shirley Delicious. Point No Point.
5 out of 5. Unique large rooms. Amazing outdoor private soaker tub for 2 with a breath taking view. Nice comfortable bed. Great wood burning fireplace that the staff had prepped ahead each night(really nice touch) Super helpful staff. The restaurant(not the dining room) had a modern feel and excellent food The breakfast room had a stunning view, and was staffed by friendly, courteous staff - very impressed Overall one of the best stays I've had anywhere. I highly recommend this gem to anyone looking for a perfect getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by SookeHarbourHouse, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you for staying at the Sooke Harbour House and for sharing this review and your own beautiful photographs. We are so happy to hear about your positive experience and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.