Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel on oceanfront

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: boutique, unique, friendly, Great location, right on whiffen spit, a place to walk at the ocean, watching the boats leave the harbour from the room wa
Cons: Update the amenities a little (loved the old furniture though)
Location: Close to Sooke town. Enjoyed sooke yoga, very friendly people and very good. Nice coffee at serious coffee, great sushi at Hara...,
We stayed here for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. The room was very comfortable although a little outdated - some electrical plugs didn't work, the cd player was cheap and old and it would have been nice to be able to plug in music from an iPod. The bed and linens were top quality, the shower was good (although we had one in a bath). The deck chairs were old but ok. The view was stunning, we were right on the beach. We didn't have a room with a hottub but that would have been lovely. There was tea and coffee (including a kettle) in the room, cookies and port provided. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There were loads of very interesting books in the library to peruse. The star of the property, apart from the ocean frontage was the garden. Absolutely gorgeous and the tour of the edible plants was very interesting. The food was delicious though the helpings were a little on the small side. The menu changes every day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Unique experience in a beautiful setting

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The experience was unique and memorable. Every detail in the room is unexpected including fresh fruit, a 'ready-to-light' fire in the wood-burning fireplace, and comfy chairs on the balcony from which one can enjoy the spectacular view across the harbour. The art creates added interest everywhere you look, inside and out. The staff are warm and welcoming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island BC

Quiet, Scenic, Okay Stay; Disappointing Dining

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: View & the hotel surrounding grounds
Cons: Dining room service, up date the rooms
Location: Views! Whiffen Spit, Juan de Fuca Marine Trails/Parks, local farmer's market, Stick In The Mud Coffee House & Little Vienna Bakery, Shirley Delicious!
We have always wanted to stay at the Harbour House & a milestone birthday seemed like the perfect time so my husband booked a reservation & we stayed for a few days last year. The Inn itself & room had nice ocean views, was comfortable, had lovely grounds with interesting artwork at every turn. Unfortunately our reserved dining experience was disappointing, especially for what was to be a special birthday dinner celebration. Service was inattentive, food was mediocre & overpriced. The staff got our order wrong (twice), then charged us for items we did not receive with barely an apology - felt terribly neglected. At that, we just wanted the experience to be over. Rarely anyone staffed at the front desk. Overall, it was anything but a special celebration & stay but we did enjoy the Whiffen Spit walks & Juan de Fuca trail & beaches. Yes, the fresh cookies were a treat! Didn't write a review until now - probably a good thing that time has passed as we have seen some good dining/experiences in reviews since so that's nice to know but we still aren't sure we would go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

A wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
The Sooke Harbour House is the type of hotel that you can stay for a weekend or a month and be perfectly satisfied. The menu changes as local food becomes available and the rooms are filled with special touches.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique Hotel, quiet and accommodating.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Lovely views of the Ocean, fireplace in the room was a treat. If you go you must visit the Sooke pot holes, and don't forget your swimsuit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sooke peacefulness and Harbor House Cuisine

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Location, superb evening cuisine (breakfast just OK and not provided), nice staff, a great getaway if a high priced meal does not worry you.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved...benedict was dull. More outlets in the rooms for charging devices, camera batteries, etc.
Location: Sooke is close enough to Victoria to be fine for that, but also for the San Juan Trail, the Galloping Goose, Potholes, and Sandcut beach.
Lovely room with hot tub and private patio. Quiet and beautiful view of the water. Grounds were lovely and adorned with totem pole and many interesting driftwood items such as a tunnel/pergola and so on. The highlight is the dining at night. The evening meal is superb and wine pairings very good. Right on Whiffin Spit and a lovely walk to be had there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice B&B on the shore!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
This is a great little place on the water with wonderful views, a beautiful garden and landscaping, and one of the best restaurants I've eaten at! The room we were in was nice but a bit quirky, but that's to be expected at a b&b. Tons of beautiful scenery and hiking nearby, and lots of wildlife.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

A wonderful, secluded hideaway!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing or worth
Location: Just far enough to be away from the relative bustle of Victoria and located on one of the many pretty bays on the southern tip of the Island.
From the moment of arrival to our reluctant departure some six days later, the Sooke Harbour House never ceased to amaze us with its quirks, quiet and quality! Staff are wonderful, the place is incredible and the food.....oh, the food....amazing!! Nothing is too much trouble for the brilliant team at SHH, a trait that is often only found in the iconic hotels in major cities. The difference here is that they really demonstrate that they want you to enjoy your stay and if you don't, you only have yourself to blame. We will certainly be back for another helping of hospitality!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sooke

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: private ocean front views from the room and from the patio were outstanding
excellent -romantic getaway spot highly recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna BC

Very interesting area, peaceful.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, fascinating.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hikes, kayaking, boating
The sights, sounds and smells were wonderful. It made for a very relaxing stay. Try the restaurant - fresh local produce extremely well prepared and served.