Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Coquitlam, BC, CA

Milestone Anniversary stay...

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Check in was easy. Staff gave us a quick instruction on amenities. The room was large, bathroom clean. Overall, the room did give an atmosphere of 19th century with luxury of the 21st! We recommend this place, will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Clean, quiet, great perks with the brew pub
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

superb food and drink and lovely room

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
A super place to stay with nice clean and well presented room, superb selection of beers and great food anytime of day. A warm and friendly welcome,we were expectin our room to be in the smae building as the restaurant / pub but it was in a lovely old house a couple of doors down from the building, a very short walk but it does give the advantage of a nice quiet building with seperate parking, We had a nice balcony with table which is always nice, although the room was not that big it was sufficient for a couple of nights and very well presented and lovely steam shower as well. A really nice touch was the voucher for a free taster plate of chocolates and beers at the restaurant which was really tasty and gave a great opportunity to try some different selections. The menu at the restaurant we thought was great, with a good selection and lovely food, the pulled pork was the best i have ever had and a big portion as well, any of the beers were great and nice to try some of the different varieties available. A voucher for any of the breakfasts was super as they were great as well and large portions and delicious. A nice position near the water overlooking the bay and a 15/20 min walk to the centre along the path which was well lit and ran by the water which all the locals use and is nice to have available instead of using the car to get into town and great views along the way. A really great place to stay and without doubt would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Emily from Portland, OR

I will stay here again

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
When I booked this hotel, I decided I wanted to try a place off the beaten path. I could not have made a better decision. It was a little strange to go into the bar to check in, but the people were incredibly friendly. We walked to the house with the rooms. Our room was a beautiful first floor apartment. There are two doors. The first is the bedroom and the second is the bathroom. The tub is huge with jets and a waterfall shower head. They have spa soaps that smell wonderful. The towels are huge and the bathrobes are fluffy. All of the pieces are wooden furniture. The bedroom is predominately the queen size bed. There's a bistro table and chairs and a desk with water glasses, wine glasses, and a wine bottle opener. The fireplace turns on automatically when you turn on the heat. There's an old-fashioned metal fan to cool the room. If I had one complaint- it would have been nice to cool the room a bit more. There was a tv we didn't use over the fireplace. The room also has a door to a patio with table and chairs. The windows all had sheer curtains and tapestry (black out) ones. The wall that adjoined another room had a large tapestry. The breakfast is a sit down, AMAZING experience. The bar overlooks the sound and you can sit indoors our outdoors. Both of us had tea and different kinds of Eggs Benedict that were superb. You also get a coupon for a beer flight and truffle tasting. We don't drink, so we only had the truffles and they were wonderful.
5 out of 5
by W Wood from Kauai, HI

Great Place!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the TLC taken to make this a special place to stay. Great dinner and breakfast at the pub. Welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, close enough to and yet far enough away. Comfy bed, great little garden seating area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Langley BC

quaint & quiet

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: gardens maybe cleaned up a bit and some color added
Location: Close enough to the city to walk and far enough from the noise to have a quiet rest
A comfortable room set in a natural garden setting. Quiet and relaxing overlooking the bay. The restaurant served a wonderful breakfast that was included and all the food served is great and very reasonable. A beautiful walk along the water or short ride in a water taxi will take you to the bustling downtown Victoria sites. A perfect combination!
4 out of 5
by Deanna from Pacifica, California

Brewhouse Blast!

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
This unique spot has an amazing on site restaurant bar with fabulous food, truffles and beer. We stayed one night and hurried to the bar to watch our favorite hockey team in the playoffs. The bar was huge, the staff were friendly and fun and an Irish band played in the corner creating a festive atmosphere. Our room was cozy although a bit out of date. The staff works hard to welcome and make you comfortable. It would have been nice to have the washroom more centrally located. The pull out bed wasn't super comfortable and guest had to walk through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. Our room was really meant for 1 couple or a family with one kid. We paid for breakfast in our rate and it was well worth it. $10 more and we received anything off the menu. Breakfast was made to order and leaned on the Irish fare. Their breakfast parfait was vegan optional and the Bakers breakfast was huge and delicious. I would definitely stay here again. FYI - if you don't like the sound of seagulls and planes landing on the water you may want to request a quieter room. It was all part of the experience for us but could easily keep someone awake.