Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great unique hotel with very friendly staff

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Location: A short scenic walk to downtown (or you can take a water taxi).
We went here for my husband's 30th birthday and it was absolutely wonderful. Beautiful quaint room, fabulous view, quiet and comfortable. The restaurant overlooks the water, has delicious food, and the staff is friendly as could be. We will be staying here every time we come to Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Okotoks

Another enjoyable weekend

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
The included breakfast and Beer/Chocolate Pairing and free parking always make this a very cost-effective place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island.

Beer, bed and baked goods.

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Bunk house for the Pub.
Cons: Move the shop and rearrange the reception area with dedicated staff.
Location: Convenient for Victoria, the Naval Base. On the water.
The Spinnakers Brew Pub and Guest House cannot decide if it is a Pub, Restaurant, Confectioners or a Bed and Breakfast establishment. It tries but sadly it fails. Pub and restaurant it certainly is, and very good too. Sadly the entrance to the pub doubles as a shop, selling everything from beer to baked goods, baby grows to Belgian chocolates. This is also the Guest House reception area and at certain times of the day is so busy you have to wait in line to check in. Patrons seeking to top up a growler or flagon or select chocolates, and that can take a while, so you stand around with your luggage and have other patrons of the pub or restaurant stepping around and over you. The guest house is a lovely heritage craftsman home, adjacent to the car park of the Pub. It has its own small car park for four small cars so if you arrive in a truck or SUV, leave it in the Pub car park, but lock away valuables. The guest house staff are not on the premises between 11pm and 8am so any problems that crop up have to wait until breakfast. Our TV would not work but no one knew how to fix it. If you are an early starter forget breakfast. We had to check out before 8am so we picked up a couple scones and a pat of butter before we left the Pub. The tea bag for breakfast tea, however only made one cup of tea. The room lacks has most facilities that you would normally find in a hotel, but no fridge and tea/coffee making is in the bathroom. The bed however is very comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kennedy from Surrey

A Really Great Night!

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
A really enjoyable stay! The service was outstanding, the room, though a little dated, was very comfortable, and very spacious. The bed was comfortable and the neighbourhood was beautiful, I loved taking the dog for a walk along the seawall. The free breakfast was simply amazing! My only complaint was the fee for having my dog was very high, $50. Most times I stay with my dog the fee is in the $20 - $30 range, however the room was such good value it is easy to overlook that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great little hide away!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The rooms were quite quaint, very comfortable beds with a special little babbling brook of our own to enjoy!
Cons: Yes, you could use hand rails going down to where you park your car in the back and more lighting at night for the stairway.
Loved this place! Can't wait to come back...awesome place to go for a morning walk along the bay then enjoy an amazing breakfast watching the action on the bay and to top it off all of the food is from local farms...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abbotsford, BC

Nice to stay so close to the ocean!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Everything - can't wait to visit again sometime!
Cons: Maybe check for spiders on the ceiling. We had quite a few dropping down to see us. ;). This is spider season and it's hard to keep up, I know.
Location: Location in Esquimalt is perfect. Close to the water and a shoreline stroll, 5 minutes from downtown and access to all the tourist activities.
Our room was ready for early check in, so after a lovely lunch in the restaurant we settled in and relaxed. The room was very spacious and well appointed. Huge bathroom, oversize towels, French press for the morning coffee ( that was a first and greatly appreciated). Considering our proximity to the restaurant and a busy waterway, it was SO quiet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gene from Valencia

Spinnakers in July 2015

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast and special beer truffle pairing were fantastic. Room was too warm. Not a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trond from Trondheim

Et flott og minnerikt opphold du alltid vil huske!

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
En helt utrolig koselig og flott plass. En virkelig ekte pub med eget bryggeri, det første pubbryggeri i nordamerika. Fantastisk atmosfære og vennlig betjening. Veldig god mat med lokale ingredienser tilberedt i eget kjøkken med generøs betjening og rask service. Området byr på flotte muligheter for fottur og sightseeing. Kort vei til sentrum av Victoria, og flott utsyn over havneinnløpet til Victoria Harbour. En helt utrolig flott plass som vi gjerne kommer tilbake til. Anbefales!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely but small room in older house. Breakfast was awesome!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from port coquitlam

Review of spinnakers accomodations

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable, but the room layout was very difficult to get around in.
Cons: It would be difficult to make that small room more comfortable
Location: Good walking trails nearby, no shopping nearby, only entertainment is the pub, which needs a complete Update.
Porr lighting leading to accommodations, to many stairs, narrow stairway.