Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Historic Hotel - lots of charm

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Apartment style rooms, friendly staff, right downtown
Cons: Nothing really. Had a great time!
Location: Hop-On Hop - Off stop was outside, FanTan Alley, close to all of downtown.
Our 'studio' room had a kitchenette. Really comfortable, close to everything. Attached to a great bar downstairs - had live music on Saturday night. The guys at the front desk, Eric & Ryan, were super helpful and very nice. Hotel made the trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel right downtown

Posted Sep 13, 2016
we stayed overnight and would stay again, love this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Top notch iconic hotel in Victoria

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The rooms, the staff, and location
Location: Habit, Varsha, Fan Tan Alley, Chinatown, Downtown, Front Street area. Seawall, shops and restaurants a walk away. Not overly crowded with tourists.
For me Victoria and Swans Hotel go hand in hand, more so than the other iconic hotel there. This is my fourth stay there and I have recommended countless people as well. The rooms are clean, very spacious and super well kept. The feeling is over luxury without the vanity and garishness. The location is perfect. Fan Tan alley is a walk away. Habit, the best coffee place is down the block and Chinatown is around the corner. You can cross the street and begin your journey around the seawall to the Legislative assembly. I have never had a bad experience with this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Great location. We really liked our room - spacious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to everything dpwntown

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Character.
Cons: Not much
The Hotel was situated where you could walk to all of the major attactions downtown as well as all of the great breakfast places.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nice small unique hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Location, size of rooms, super clean.
Cons: AC...but it would only be used about a handful of days a year. Fans worked fine to cool the room.
Location: Everything, and I mean everything...is an easy close walk away...even the car rental places back behind the Empress Hotel.
Centrally located in inner harbor in Victoria. Only about 30 rooms. Room was super clean and comfortable. The pub downstairs has nice menu and of course Swans beers. Easy walk to anywhere in inner harbor...easy cab ride to all the craft breweries. Easy walk from Black Ball and Clipper piers. They will store your luggage for u if u get there early. If you are on the 7pm Clipper back to Seattle you can check you luggage with Clipper as early as 8:30 am. The rooms have no AC...but we Texans improvised with a fan in the window. Of course we were there during the three hottest days of the summer...but we survived with the fans. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel and pub in good location.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location and pub atmosphere at night.
Location: Visit Butchart Gardens if you enjoy a great landscape and flowers. A lot of walking involved, best for good walkers, but it is wheelchair accessible
Stayed on a Friday in August. Lively pub downstairs at night (but no noise in our bedroom) and good breakfast in the morning. Steps away from downtown shops, bus 75 to Butchart Gardens and a 15 minute walk from Victoria Clipper. Very nice touristy city with all kinds of shops. We walked to Beacon Hill park, then along Dallas road and down to the rocky beach under a very blue sky. The bus trip to Butchart Gardens was comfortable, the Gardens were incredible in this season with millions of flowers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Alberta

Great location, nostalgic

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: mostly the location
Location: Located in the core of the city next to shopping, harbour, and excellent restaurants.
We rented a suite and it was perfect for us. At first my husband was concerned because there was no air conditioning but the upstairs rooms had vented ceilings and we were very comfortable. It was nice to be able to step out the door and go shopping or walk down to the harbour. Loved it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colton ca

Dissapointed

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: All the above
Location: Too far away from empress hotel so we did a great deal of walking
No one at registration desk to check us in; long wait (20 min). I am disabled and my room had full set of steep stairs I was unable to climb; thus I slept on couch. Staff was unable to switch due to my reservations through Expedia .The room was set up like a town house: kitchen, loft etc. All this unnecessary. I do not cook or entertain while on vacation and booked a normal, one floor room. Added unnecessary expense for these accomadations I didn't need. Bad experience. This made my stay in Victoria a big disappointment
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but construction across the street

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Lots of charm. Just a block or so from Chinatown. Near the water.