Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pickering, On

Walking distance to downtown and Wharf St district

Posted Jan 11, 2017
A closed in sun room terrace encircles this hotel at street level. An inviting pub and grill adds to the ambiance. The room had a comfortable king size bed with a vaulted ceiling above. The efficiency suite was well equipped. Double French doors opened out to a view of the harbour. The electric fireplace was a nice touch. A jewel of a hotel situated in Chinatown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Excellent hotel - will definitely stay againl

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Large space with nice kitchenette and roomy bathroom.
Location: Right on edge of Chinatown. About 7-8 block walk to/from ferry. Easy to get to harbor and Parliament, first class museum, shops, restaurants.
Wonderful spacious and immaculate suite. Everything perfect. Restaurant very good also. Best place we have stayed in Victoria for reasonable price. Easy walking to all of downtown area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Enjoyed our visit to Victoria and our stay at the Swans hotel. The Swans is a great location close to the waterfront and walking distance to China town and downtown Victoria. Love the brewery downstairs and the selection of beer. Would love the staff to share a little more info in the bar and beers. Great history on the building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Our room was large with high ceiling and large bathroom. We had a king sized bed with really nice pillows! (Why don't more hotels pay attention to pillows? It is important for their guests' sleeping comfort.)There were several pieces of original art on the walls and the kitchen was fully equipped with a full sized stove and fridge. There was Original art on the walls and the room was spotlessly clean.
Cons: I would have loved a cozy love seat or a pair of armchairs to relax in after a busy day.
Location: The hotel is on the edge of Chinatown, across the street from the edge of the harbour. It is only a few minutes walk to major shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Pender Island

Visiting relatives in hospital

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Best hotel for a family. Separate rooms are ideal for older children. Quiet rooms.
Cons: It would have been better if I didn't have to ask for linen for 3 people as that is what I booked the rooms for. Also, we've stayed numerous times over the past 5 years and it is looking a little tired.
Location: Love the location. Great shopping nearby (although we always seem to be visiting relatives in the hospital when we come.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

2 bedroom suite = 2 thumbs up

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Great hotel. The 2 bedroom suite is so spacious. Felt like an apartment instead of a hotel. Wish we had stayed longer. Perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

What a Gem!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Perfect!
Huge room in wonderful location down by the harbour - adjacent to old town. Within minutes of virtually everything. Very nice staff and excellent food/bar. It's VERY reasonably priced. If you're one of those people who seem to travel just so they can write bad reviews about places, go and stay t the Empress and pay ten times as much! The rest of us will enjoy the excellent experience at the Swans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central hotel with kitchen included

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Nice location close to downtown Convenient to the harbour and activities Gray to have a kitchen if you like to do at least breakfast and/or lunch for yourselves Very clean and friendly Only downside for our room was minimal soundproofing from upstairs high heels and pub sounds below
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Great base for our mini vacation.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Chinatown, Fan Tan Alley, shopping and strolling Government Street and the Inner Harbor and of course great restaurants all kept us busy.
Spent 3 days enjoying Victoria including the marathon. Thoroughly enjoyed our room with kitchen, the close location to China town and the harbor, and the pub. It was an easy walk to town even for us seniors! Great room accommodations and tv and wifi. Wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great character, high ceilings, good location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: large, high ceiling rooms, great art and room decor.
Cons: Other tenants!
Location: walk to the downtown, chinatown is close.
great room overall. Besides a couple yelling at each other in the night, making lots of noise, the hotel stay was great. Staff here are excellent.