Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great downtown location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
A great hotel in the downtown area. My wife and I stayed here for 7 days and ended up walking over 35 miles in those 7days. Everything is within walking distance. The pub is just ok food is expensive 16 dollars for a regular cheese burger. Nothing fancy about the food beer is ok. Over all great hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to most activities in Victoria

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The room was not ready at the time of check in and it was not properly outfitted for 5. Not enough towels or toilet paper. Possibly understaffed??? The staff were very nice though and accomodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: As above,equip the kitchen properly,and more soap in bathroom!
Location was excellent,within walking distance of most places of interest. We had a 2 bedroom suite,surprised to find one small bar of soap in room,had to ask for more! Also one roll of toilet paper.No kettle,had to boil water for tea in a pot. Coffee maker was ridiculously cheap and tiny.Frying pan also poor quality. No spatula,try flipping fried eggs with a fork!!! Beds were comfortable,towels ok but on the cheap side considering room rate. Small things that could be easily rectified but rather annoying. Also clean the patio chairs,they were filthy,had to wash them down ourselves.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

BAD BEDROOM AND BATH Combination

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Never advised of separate upstairs bedroom and down stairs which were tight and bath down. Caused problems for night requirements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Central Location

Posted Jul 2, 2017
10 minutes from the inner harbour Cheap parking (~$12 a day) So many restaurants close by Rooms were clean but a little tired Overall, it was a good experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtenay

Hotel needs upgrading and air conditioning

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The entire facility needs a facelift (i.e. air conditioning)
Location: IMAX, inner harbour, great shopping and restaurants
Hotel is OK but needs some TLC. The front desk staff looks exhausted from the heat and rightfully so - that area was like an oven. The front outside area for parking while unloading was very confusing as it crosses a bike lane. When we parked there briefly, it was not well signed and an aggressive person told us not to park there - a rude jolt to the start of our mini-holiday. Fans in the room were loud and noisy and maintenance had to enter our room twice to 'fix' something - slightly inconvenient. Room noisy at night as we had to leave windows open due to heat. Fans too noisy to keep on so you had to suffice. Location was good and bar staff just ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Super neat hotel, perfect location

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The hotel is very unique. Nice to have a pub downstairs. Even with the late night partying downstairs we couldn't hear anything in our room, even on Friday and Saturday nights. The location couldn't have been more perfect. Right next to China town and all Government Street has to offer. I will always stay at the Swan when in Victoria. No A/C though...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Great suite for big family in great location

Posted Jun 25, 2017
We got a two bedroom suite for 4 adults and 2 kids. It was perfect for our family. My husband and I went to late night happy hour at the pub downstairs. I love how they have dvd player because my boys could watch their dvds at night. There is a kitchen in our room but only 1 burner worked out of 4, also the oven didnt work neither. We made a big breakfast before checking out to save money and it was great.Even bigger and newer hotels don't have it. It locates right in Chinatown with many good chinese and hip restaurants and coffee shops. A lot of them close on Monday though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Perfect location! Everything within walking distance. The downstairs pub has great beers and great food. Being our first time to Victoria we asked the staff at the pub for recommendations and not one of them let us down. Very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location and base for exploring Victoria

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, from front desk to room cleaning. Nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: Rooms though well equipped, clean and reasonably spacious looked a little dull and uninspiring.
Location: Victoria is a great little city, with lots to explore and see, and served well by its harbour taxi service. It's also a great place for craft beers!
The staff were really friendly, even before arrival. We knew exactly where to find the hotel from what they had sent us my email; the directions worked a treat. Being a brew pub, it was no surprise to find that the beers were excellent, and we enjoyed these as well as the restaurant. No breakfast was on offer, but even so we were advised of good close-by establishments that provided good breakfasts. The suite was one of their smaller ones, but its kitchen was very well equipped.