Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel and pub in good location.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location and pub atmosphere at night.
Location: Visit Butchart Gardens if you enjoy a great landscape and flowers. A lot of walking involved, best for good walkers, but it is wheelchair accessible
Stayed on a Friday in August. Lively pub downstairs at night (but no noise in our bedroom) and good breakfast in the morning. Steps away from downtown shops, bus 75 to Butchart Gardens and a 15 minute walk from Victoria Clipper. Very nice touristy city with all kinds of shops. We walked to Beacon Hill park, then along Dallas road and down to the rocky beach under a very blue sky. The bus trip to Butchart Gardens was comfortable, the Gardens were incredible in this season with millions of flowers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Alberta

Great location, nostalgic

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: mostly the location
Location: Located in the core of the city next to shopping, harbour, and excellent restaurants.
We rented a suite and it was perfect for us. At first my husband was concerned because there was no air conditioning but the upstairs rooms had vented ceilings and we were very comfortable. It was nice to be able to step out the door and go shopping or walk down to the harbour. Loved it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colton ca

Dissapointed

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: All the above
Location: Too far away from empress hotel so we did a great deal of walking
No one at registration desk to check us in; long wait (20 min). I am disabled and my room had full set of steep stairs I was unable to climb; thus I slept on couch. Staff was unable to switch due to my reservations through Expedia .The room was set up like a town house: kitchen, loft etc. All this unnecessary. I do not cook or entertain while on vacation and booked a normal, one floor room. Added unnecessary expense for these accomadations I didn't need. Bad experience. This made my stay in Victoria a big disappointment
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but construction across the street

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Lots of charm. Just a block or so from Chinatown. Near the water.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The hotel is towards 2,5 stars rather than 3.5. Charged $11 for parking per night, just a lot on street in front of outreach shelter, not secure at all. You can find a better parking anywhere else. Bedrooms were upstairs, no washroom upstairs. Not suitable for families with small children or seniors.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Amazing hotel right in downtown!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Very nice and quaint hotel right in the city center and on the waterfront of Victoria! The rooms are not standard and all have their special style that matches with the building and are very comfortable. Last but not least make sure to try one of the delicious beers brewn at the Swans Pub!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Cons: The third floor rooms were a little warm. An unusually warm night in Victoria so open windows wasn't enough.
Location: Fantastic dinner 1/2 block east at Olo!
The rooms were absolutely quiet despite being over a restaurant with live music.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Endicott,NY

Victoria Gem

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Connected to a great pub! We were able to walk to everything.We would stay again.
Cons: It does not have air conditioning but does have a ceiling fan and 2 additional fans on each floor. Bedroom upstairs with some steep steps.
Location: Can walk to the harbor and connected to a great pub. Chinatown and restaurants are within walking distance.
Terrific location, convenient and very friendly. Our suite had everything you could want except air conditioning. We were on the 3rd floor and the steps to the bedroom were steep so I wouldn't stay in the suites if you have trouble walking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from White Rock

We found it was easy to walk to everywhere .

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Our suite was roomy with a well stocked kitchen.
Cons: The windows
We enjoyed our stay with you very much, however, having a small child with us, we realized how dangerous your windows are.As they open from the bottom out a child could so easily lean on them and fall out. We just felt we should point this out to you. Thank you for our pleasant stay, Barbara Benesh
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey BC

Close to downtown in Chinatown.

Posted May 29, 2016
Could walk everywhere. The bed was comfortable. Has a little kitchen.