Ratings based on 1,485 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel in Victoria Harbour

Posted Jul 22, 2017
This is no doubt a historic and beautiful hotel but for $500 a night I would have expected a real duvet cover on the bed not just 2 folded white sheets. The mattress left me with severe back pain requiring an emergency chiropractic appointment on my return home. All in all the rooms were no better decorated than any hotel I have stayed in for a third of the price and we looked upon a parrking lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location; historic building

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Services available and the price before checking in or booking
Location: Easy walk to the ferries; great restaurants and shops within easy walk.
Front desk information was not complete. Had to join President's Club to get WI-FI and after joining was still charged for WI-FI. The price of the room is expensive; wi-fi should be included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Beautiful BUT not as I remembered it! BUMMED!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Cons: Can you think about bringing back some old world charm? Check out places like the Brown Palace in Denver and the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs.
Location: Perfect location in Victoria
So approximately 25 years ago, my husband and I stayed at the Empress for my birthday. I loved it. It was a beautiful and grand hotel both inside and out. I was so excited to return. But I was soooo disappointed! It is still a grand hotel from the outside; except they put in a new modern entrance. AND, they totally modernized the inside. No more beautiful dark woods and grand bar (Bengal room). To be fair, the staff and the facility is at the caliber of a Fairmont property. BUT, I just wanted to go back down memory lane. Oh well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio texas

Great experience

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Everyone was very friendly and the room was extremely comfortable. High tea was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Fabulous. Customer service and good exceptional. Will return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Beautiful hotel with the best staff. If I could live here full time I would.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you David. We look forward to your return! Sincerely, Indu Brar General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Beautiful historical home for a week.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
My family loves Victoria as I do and this was our first stay at the Empress. We found the staff the cleaning staff and room maintenance personable and friendly. However, the male lobby and doormen were somewhat snobby as they seemed to choose the guests 'worthy' of their attention. We loved the pool and exercise room but the prices for the dining restaurants in house were too extravagant in price for our usage. We dined in Victoria's many downtown offerings. One particular cleaning staff, Eleanor, made my family feel at home. She made my 3 year feel like her own family! Jerry was an attentive evening staff member who offered help anytime he was working. It was my 'treat' to my family to stay there but if you are sensitive to overt snobbery, this will leave you disappointed. Overall, I would stay here next year if Expedia offered a comparable rate. And yes, I would recommend this hotel to everyone as it is a gorgeous Victoria piece of history with luxurious offerings. Many staff are warm and friendly, there are a few uppity staff in the front lobby. I did find all these individuals to be male, not a coincidence I'm sure. The last staff member was male when we checked out at the week's end and he was wonderful thankfully, believe he was of Indian descent. Oh I almost left out my 3 year old's favourite Empress staff, we visited the grounds' 400,000 honey bees at least twice a day and often close to half a dozen times. A great 'home away from home.'
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel with great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Loved the beautiful architecture and history
Cons: They didn't provide robes, most of the hotels we stay at now do have robes available for the stay.
Loved staying here, always wanted to spend time here for the complete Victoria experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize that you did not have robes in your room as this is a standard that we follow. I will ensure this is followed up with our team. Sincerely, Indu Brar General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not enough front desk staff

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I absolutely love the hotel; the cleanliness, The politeness of the cleaning staff, the location, it was beautiful. What was terrible though is that there was not enough front desks ie) should have more staff. the phones were not answered. you were always put on a very long hold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review and for your valuable feedback which I will ensure is shared with the team for follow up. We are so pleased that you love the hotel. Sincerely, Indu Brar General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impressive Empress

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The location is fantastic, the service is above reproach.
Location: The hotel is located in the heart of Victoria directly across the street from the Parliament building, the museum and the harbor.
The Empress is an outstanding hotel on all levels. We arrived just prior to a major holiday and the staff was gracious, helpful and always friendly despite it being incredibly busy. We had High Tea and the service was superb as was the food and the overall experience. Well worth the money for this experience. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. This would be my #1 choice of places to stay in the heart of Victoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the lovely and detailed feedback regarding your stay. We hope to see you again when you next visit Victoria! Sincerely, Indu Brar General Manager