Ratings based on 582 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

First Trip with a 5 month old!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: the beds are so comfortable!
Cons: WIfi should be included in the room. Most budget hotels world wide offer free wifi, why an expensive hotel in Victoriawould charge I cannot understand
Location: lots of great places to walk
Our first trip as a family with our 5-month son, we were welcomed by the Empress first by giving us an upgrade to a junior King Suite. So helpful with a little baby who has a much earlier bedtime than us. Allowed us to really enjoy the room while our baby slept the night away. Perfect location, for years in fact since i was 12 years old I wanted to stay at the Empress and I finally did. bucket list check!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool n fitness center, lobby undergoing renovation

Posted Feb 16, 2017
You have to go to another hotel to go to a pool n fitness center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm, modern upgrades

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The Empress is going through major changes. While keeping the look of the 1908 hotel the rooms are now adorned with all the expected modern conveniences. One thing Expedia does not tell you is the location of the lobby, which is now in a temporary location, is not the easiest thing to find on a winter day. The staff were great and very accommodating during their time of change. The hotel location, right downtown, is perfect and provides easy access to Victoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review and for your valuable feedback. I apologize that you were not alerted regarding our temporary lobby. We are getting close to reopening our lobby which will look absolutely stunning. We sincerely look forward to your return. Kind regards, Indu Brar, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam BC

Fantastic Hotel, Great location!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Fantastic Customer Service from all employees at the Fairmont.
Cons: Wifi should be included complimentary instead of having to pay for it separately.
Location: Great location, close to all the tourist attractions, shopping, various restaurants & transit.
We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Fairmont - Fantastic Customer Service from ALL Fairmont employees (wouldn't expect anything less), Great Location to the BC Legislature, Shopping & various restaurants. Also we decided not to drive from Vancouver due to the heavy snow therefore the Hotel is very transit accessible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your great feedback. I am so pleased to read that you had fantastic customer service from all of our staff. We strive to provide the best guest service possible. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Victoria. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Quick getaway

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Arrived not knowing the hotel was undergoing major refurbishment - very limited amenities and choice of rooms, but the staff went out of their way to accommodate my requests - the staff are the best part of any Fairmont experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize that you were not notified of our current renovations. This information is provided in all of our confirmations and pre-arrival correspondence. I sincerely appreciate your lovely comments regarding our staff. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding stay

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: About everything
Location: Great location
Great place, great staff and beautiful setting what else can I say
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful Blend of old and new...Stay in Gold!

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: History, location, and the Gold level.
Cons: We would have liked to go before or after renovations, as their top-notch spa and one of their restaurants were closed.
Location: All of the top museums are within blocks, with food and Chinatown closeby. BCTransit makes getting anywhere easy if you don't want to walk.
The historic value of this hotel is second-to-none. We were so pleased with our Harbour View room and could watch the planes and barges come in and out daily. There was a lot of construction as they were in a large renovation project, but the hotel was still gorgeous. It still has the feel and flair of a hundred-year-old building, but the bathrooms are updated and were amazing. There is also not a better location in the city to get to all of the fun and food. The best, and our favorite, part of our package was that we stayed in a Gold room. The extra gold amenities, including the private lounge, made us feel we'd made the right choice. Go do it, if even for a few nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold. It is truly a wonderful experience. Our complete renovations will be done in June 2017. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Victoria. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
First the bad: - Front desk receptionist named "Wing" caused a terrible check in experience- and extremely rude and argumentative. - Hotel under Reno causes a bit of inconvenience as you can only enter from a couple entrances (main was closed). Access to part of the hotel closed. - No water bottles in room- even for charge. - paid for city view and ended up with view of gravel roof also under construction. - the receptionist did not explain or ask us about parking so we were left figuring it out the next day after already paying the non guest amount :( The good: - the empress is just a cool hotel and one of the must see things in VIC. - the updated rooms are a nice change for these older type of fairmont hotels. - safe, quiet and convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your feedback. My apologies for the inconvenience of the renovations. I am so pleased though that you enjoyed our room renovations. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bothell, WA

Beautiful!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Beautful room with a nice view of the Christmas lights. We received excellent service throughout our stay. We will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Jodee for your great review and photos. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Victoria! Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stunning and Spacious Room, Friendly Staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The room was really, really beautiful!
The pool was under construction which was a bit of a bummer for my son but overall just wonderful. The room was stunning and so comfortable and spacious. The staff were marvelous. We loved it! I grew up in Victoria and had never stayed at the Empress. It had a reputation for being over-priced then. I have to say that Fairmont has done wonders with the space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will join us again once renovations are complete in June 2017. Sincerely, Indu Brar, General Manager