Ratings based on 1,169 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good centrally located boutique hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed. Good location.
Cons: Warn about renovations. Walls are too thin. Hotel did not offer VIP+ extra amenity or room upgrade.
Location: Highly recommend live music at Bard & Banker or Irish Times on Government Street. Nautical Nellies for dinner and Cora for breakfast.
The Magnolia is a good boutique hotel (64 rooms) that is centrally located in Victoria with easy access to parks, activities, transportation, and night life. The hotel is walking distance from the Victoria clipper and the float planes or a very short cab ride. There are a number of restaurants located around the hotel itself; specifically check out the restaurants and bars on Government street nearby. The Beacon Hill Park is also just a short walk away on a pleasant day. We showed up early (noon) and tried to check-in. Unfortunately, the hotel was completely full. The front-desk took my phone number and bags and said they would call me when the room opened up. I never received a phone call from the front-desk so we checked back around 4pm. Fortunately, the room was available at that time. As part of the VIP+ access program this hotel is supposed to offer an extra amenity and a room upgrade (if available). Neither of these were offered by the hotel which was disappointing. Expedia e-mailed me the night after check-in and I completed a survey indicating these were not offered. Expedia called the Hotel and the front-desk followed up with me to offer a free room upgrade and apology. Never did get the extra amenity! Aside from this small complaint the Hotel was comfortable. The room was clean and furniture was very relaxing. We were able to hear the neighbors on either side so I think the walls are a bit thin. They had some renovation/construction going on in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Very nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: There are many restaurants nearby. There is a quaint downtown area with shops. There are several pubs with live music at night.
This was a beautiful boutique hotel close to everything we needed. It was within walking distance to many restaurants, pubs, shops, convenience stores as well as being right by the water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Quick getaway, perfect location!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We wanted a quick 2 day getaway and this hotel was perfect! Check in was a breeze. There is always coffee and tea in the lobby and the chai tea is delicious! The restaurant has a fantastic happy hour. Turn down service was a pleasant surprise. The Magnolia is walking distance to all the major attractions and to so many great pubs and restaurants. There are even bikes available at the hotel if you want to view the city that way. Late check out was also a bonus. Would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice Retreat

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Needed a break from life and this hotel provided the right setting and staff to fulfil our needs. The cleanliness as well as the friendly and helpful staff insure that we will return to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo

Great Place to stay downtown Victoria!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location is fantastic, Clean rooms & friendly staff Enjoyed the chocolates, coffee & apples
Cons: Prefer Keurig vs Nespresso- perhaps provide both in room?
Location: Great location for walking to anywhere downtown. Many local restaurants nearby. Shopping,nightclub,IMAX all close by.
Located directly behind the Empress the Magnolia is a delightful friendly clean hotel with easy walking to everywhere downtown. A classic with all the wonderful touches... Lovely Aveda products & Spa Excellent food at Restaurant too! Check out the bar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Boutique Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Love everything about this hotel. Will not stat anywhere else. Comfortable beds, large rooms and fantastic food in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bremerton, WA

Beautiful little hotel -- great location!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
This was our 3rd time staying at the Magnolia, and we were impressed yet again from the moment we walked into the welcoming lobby. The staff was friendly and helpful, and our room was clean and beautifully furnished. The location of this hotel is wonderful -- close to many shops and restaurants, as well as the Parliament building and the Royal BC Museum. We walked on the Coho ferry from Port Angeles, since we've found that we can get by just fine without a car for a weekend in Victoria. The Magnolia is an easy and lovely 10-minute walk from the ferry terminal. I can recommend the Magnolia enthusiastically, and I hope we can stay there again on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London ON

Always a Nice Stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Location: Cora's is around the corner, and has better breakfasts than the restaurant associated with this hotel.
I was upgraded to a suite upon arrival without asking, they give out apples during the day and chocolates at night - what more could one want? Thanks to everyone at the Magnolia for another lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This was such an amazing hotel. Perfect location and great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Excellent service. Good location. Nicely remodeled rooms.
Cons: Noise levels are loud both within the hotel (between rooms) and from outside.
Room was spacious and beds comfortable. Turn down service was a nice touch. Staff was friendly and helpful