Ratings based on 1,098 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, USA

Fantastic Location, Nice Staff

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Was in town for 5 days with friends for sightseeing, museums, theatre and restaurants. We could not have picked a better location. Royal Horseguards is perfectly situated near Westminster, Traflagar Square, the National Gallery, the Courtould, the Tate Britain, the Theatre District, and Charimg Cross neighborhood and restaurants. We could walk to 80% of the tourist/theatre places we wanted to go. The staff are very friendly and willing to help. For example, I arrived at 10 am, way before checkin time, and the front desk staff worked hard and were resourceful in finding me a room to check into 6 hours early. The room was ok, but the tv/sound system (there is an elaborate speaker setup) in my room did not work properly. The public areas are a bit tired looking and need some updates. This is a perfectly nice hotel in a fantastic location, but it is not comparable to other 5 star properties. I don't think it merits that category.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location for first time visitors

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Perfect central location, beautiful, historic, friendly staff, awesome bartender
Location: Central London, Big Ben, Parliament, Westminster, Downing Street, Horseguards, Buckingham Palace, London Bridge
We did a spur-of-the-moment trip (first time over the pond!) and this was the perfect hotel to meet the images we have ingrained from our youth! It is a beautiful hotel set in picturesque, grand surroundings right across from the Thames and the London Eye. The staff was very considerate and friendly. We arrived early morning (check-in was 3:00pm), but they tried to accommodate us as best as they could, which was very nice. We got to shower and freshen up in a temporary room and went out for a bit of sight-seeing. When we returned after seeing some local sights (“Look Kids! Big Ben! Parliament!”), and after having sampled some fish-and-chips and drinks, we were handed our key-cards and found our luggage already delivered to our new room. Appointments were nice and appropriate for a building of its age (it was built in the mid-1800’s for those expecting a 5 star experience from new hotel). If you are a frequent traveler to New York City, this would be similar to two midtown upper-end rooms connected together with a view, and a free mini-bar. Our bartender was truly stupendous. He makes a delightful gin-based drink that is similar to a mojito, except made with fruity muddled bits and magic. Management: please give him a raise, he’s an asset. Truly. If you visit, ask for that drink and say those Vikings fans said you have a decent gin drink you love to make…
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much for the lovely review! I am pleased to hear that you were treated to our 5* service. The team have a genuine passion for delivering excellent customer service in a warm, friendly and welcoming manner and I am extremely happy to hear that your family and you were well looked after. We are in an enviable location - only a short scenic stroll away from the tourist hotspots of Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, and Downing Street. Or for a bit of culture in the Capital, the National Portrait Gallery, Tate Modern and Somerset House are minutes away too! I hope this was one of many great stays and have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Beautiful hotel, fantastic location.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Exceptional location. Located steps from Embankment tube station, on the Thames across from the London Eye. Everything nearby, yet quiet.
Cons: Sadly we found the staff at this hotel to be somewhat "stuffy".
Location: In my opinion the location is unbeatable. It is steps from the Embankment tube station as well being right on the Thames.
There are many positives to this hotel, however we found a number of the staff to be somewhat stuffy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. Our hospitable team are our greatest assist so it is disappointing that you did not find our service friendly and warm. On a positive note I am pleased to know that you found our central location to your liking - within walking distance of so many attractions and transport links. Perfect for whatever your visit! We do look forward to welcoming you back for a truly 5* stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

The staff was great always helpful.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
We enjoyed Valintin as our bar tender! Room was small but bed was comfy.Loved seeing the Eye of London right out our window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the great photos - our London Eye certainly looks beautiful. We are so pleased to know that you had a lovely stay and thoroughly enjoyed being served by Valintin - he will be delighted by the mention. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back for another superb stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mpls. MN

Horse guards mid London.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Very good experience! Close to all the action. Did not see an exercise room, perhaps I missed it. Great staff, good dining room, but restaurant ran out of beef on Sun. night. Great room, TV seemed small. Nice touch on free mini-bar. Would have been nice to have hotel van to/from Heathrow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your feedback. Our hospitable team will be so pleased to know that you had a great experience in our company. We greatly look forward to looking after you on your next stay!.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel...close to tourist sites

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Cons: Staff doesn't speak English as a first language, therefore there was communication problems!!!
Location: great location...close to tourist sites
Nice hotel...large bathrooms...............good location
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
It is lovely to hear that you found our hotel beautiful. Nestled next to Whitehall Gardens and overlooking the River Thames, we are indeed privileged to have such an impressive location.We look forward to spoiling you on your next stay to our charming hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

5 star hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Amazing hotel with great staff in the heart of London!!!! Walking distance to many historical buildings/monuments and across the street from underground. Absolutely amazing would highly recommend it!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your gracious review regarding your recent stay with us! I am positively delighted that you found our hotel and service exemplary. Our guest satisfaction and of course comfort is of the utmost importance, ensuring that your stay is relaxing, enjoyable and unforgettable. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another superb stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Location

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Just about everything in this hotel was superb. Spotless lobby, halls and rooms, Staff.
Cons: My only complaint was that they put me in a room on the sixth floor with a small terrace but the doors leading out were locked shut denying me access,
Location: Everything was nearby. Trafalgar Square, Parliament, Horseguards, The Eye, The Mall.
Beautiful Hotel, in a great neighborhood next to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your stay - from our tastefully, stylish decorated bedrooms to our warm and inviting team. Our guest satisfaction is of our highest importance and we are continually improving to ensure our 5 star service exceeds expectations on each occasion. Not only is our location central but also extremely convenient. We are only a short charming stroll away from the tourist hot spots. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our regal hotel in the very near future for another fantastic stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: The luxurious bedroom and friendly professional staff.
Cons: A fine dining restaurant
Location: Close to Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Trafalgar Squre, Buckingham Palace, St James park within walking distance and Central London shopping.
A very nice, clean and well located Hotel. With luxurious rooms, friendly and professional staff. Excellent value for the whole experience in comparison to other 5* Central London Hotels. Literally 2 mins walk from the nearest Underground station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the very high recommendation! I am pleased that you found the staff, service and bedroom exceptional and of five star quality.You are correct, our location is perfect – one of the best in London! With excellent transport links minutes away by foot and many attractions right on our doorstep. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another superb stay at The Royal Horseguards Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Good value and location

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Horseguard! The location was amazing, about a 2 minute walk from the nearest underground station, Embankment, which you should use often rather than taking a cab. You will save a lot of money this way and it overall is much more efficient and it’s safe. We were pleased with the size of the room. We got the basic room with no view. We didn’t deem it necessary as we didn’t spend too much time in the room. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. The bathroom was clean and nice. There was a towel warmer and the floors were heated. Overall, for the price we were really pleased. Room service was just okay. Lobby and common areas were beautiful. Concierge was helpful and helped us book tours to Bath and Stonehenge as well as a show to see The Book of Mormon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by The Royal Horseguards Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us.I am delighted that you found the location of the hotel so useful and brilliant. We really are right in the centre of the city allowing you access to so much of the world famous sights and attractions by foot or via the Embankment and Charing Cross tube stations. Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.