Ratings based on 952 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel near Palace

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Our room was upgraded to a suite, which was absolutely beautiful. Comfortable King bed, modern bathroom with towel warmer, extra sofa and office/desk area. Room was very "British" as described by my wife. Nice room décor and historic posters/paintings. Continental breakfast was excellent with lots of good and healthy choices.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Sep 11, 2017
GOOD HOTEL BUT NOT VERY HAPPY WHEN MAINTENANCE STAF JUST WALK IN AND NOT KNOCK ON DOOR NOT VERY PROFESSIONAL SORRY MR BECKWITH
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet hotel comfortably located in central London

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Cons: some flexibility with guest services would be welcome
Location: Right across the B. palace, walk away from Victoria subway station and Nova Victoria complex. Plenty to do, shop, eat within walking distance.
stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, comfortable bed and excellent location. requested 1 hour late check out unfortunately it was not granted. gust services has not called me back so yeah I had to call twice with same inquiry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Hotel close to Buckingham Palace.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Good location. Attentive staff. Rooms very comfortable. Great.
Location: Buckingham Palace. St James Park. Only 20 miniutes walk to West End theatres.
Easy walk to West End. Very helpful staff. First mornings breakfast great. Next day one out of three order was correct and not as hot as day before. However drink to compensate for room not being ready was much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plantsville ct

Wonderful stay at the Rubens

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Can't say enough about this lovely hotel. The room was beautiful, the staff extremely friendly and the location wonderful. The Royal Mews directly across the street, Buckingham Palace right down the street and the tube station 2 blocks away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis MO

Charming hotel- fantastic location

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Wonderful location close to train, Buckingham palace, and walkable to the river and Westminster Abbey. Lots of restaurants very close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

EXCELLENT SERVICE! GREAT LOCATION!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Service and staff were great, location was just what we wanted, rooms and beds were really comfortable, and very family friendly.
Location: Near Buckingham Palace, St. James Park and Victoria Station so everything in London was accessible.
The hotel was lovely, the rooms very comfortable, and the service was AMAZING! Bastion and Maisy were great. We only had 24 hours in London so they helped us plan our day, recommend our dinner (Bbar next door was delicious!), and made our last day of vacation a memorable one! We loved the location near Buckingham Palace and close to Victoria Station. We will stay here again on our next visit to London!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

The Rubens is the example of London

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The staff
Location: Blocks from Victoria Station made The Rubens the most convenient place to be.
The Rubens at the Palace gave you the expected feel of London....the look, the service, the experience, the taste.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Rip off artists!!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Civilized staff would be a good start!
These jerks stole $800 from me after I gave them over 30 days notice I would not be able to make the reservation. Avoid them at all cost!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent hotel in a great location!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, staff.
Location: Very close to Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, St. James's Park. We also walked to Piccadilly and Westminster Abbey.
Enjoyed an 11 night stay here and was very pleased with the hotel and the location. The front desk and door staff were very friendly and helpful and the doormen were always ready with a smile and directions when needed. Very handy location a block from Victoria Station and right down the street from Buckingham Palace. The room was European-style cosy (i.e. small by North American standards) but very comfortable, well-appointed and quiet. Two smallish closets, no dresser. Nice to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. Well-maintained property and housekeeping was good. Very comfortable bed, great shower (no tub). We did not try the hotel restaurant. No complaints, I would stay here again.