Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Managua, Nicaragua

Well run hotel with focus on customer service

Posted Feb 10, 2018
The Rubens primary focus is customer service. Ranging from providing power adapters, to dining advice and suggested walking routes. The rooms are recently refurbished and the hotel public areas are well maintained. It is small enough to give individualised attention but large enough for good dining with lots of options. Do not miss the traditional English breakfast. The pricing is a good value and the location can not be beat. Only one block from Buckingham Palace and one block from Victoria station. Welll worth a repeat visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Outstanding experience

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Pros: Service
I'm often in London but typically stay in other areas of the city, so the Rubens was a new point of reference. I'd read some reviews that focused on the small size of the rooms there, so I was a bit concerned, but was pleasantly surprised when I arrived that my room was both large and beautifully appointed. I suspect there are other rooms that are smaller and less recently updated, but mine was terrific. The hotel itself is also rich with detail, but the the most impressive part is the staff: everyone was not only attentive, but seems to come from an old world training in hotel service. From the reception to the bellhop, the lounge service to the restaurant, the staff there was quite possibly the best I've ever experienced. Not just professional, but genuine, helpful, and warm. Really great. Despite being in a less "neighborhood" like area—it is right behind Buckingham Palace, after all—there were a number of good dining and pub options within walking distance. But the best meal I had was in the Curry Room downstairs at the Rubens: a 3 course pre fixe menu of Indian food that was delicious. Again, the service was outstanding. The only negatives I experienced at all were some slight issues with water pressure in the bath sink (shower was great) and a confusing set of switches for controlling the room lighting. Overall, this hotel was among the best I've stayed at—I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent location, friendly helphul staff

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Water power
Location: Close to major attractions walking distance to the Palace Trafalgar square Victoria station Restaurants the London eye and the parliament
The rooms are small but very clean, service is excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2018
The second time we have stayed in this hotel and it was just as good as the last. The rooms have no faults - they are clean and comfortable. The location is great - right by Buckingham Palace and easy access to all the main London sites. The restaurant staff were highly attentive and went above and beyond to ensure you felt valued, whilst the food was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hesperia, CA

Great hotel! Central location!

Posted Jan 9, 2018
I loved my stay here. It is right down the street from Buckingham Palace, and in the other direction, only two blocks from Victoria Station, from where you can go virtually anywhere! The room was so unique, clean and comfortable. The staff was incredible always willing to go that extra mile.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good location

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Location was great, room was comfortable, although on the small side. Staff were fantastic.
Cons: Shower pressure was shocking, no pressure. We ate in the English Grill restaurant, did not feel the quality of food reflected the price.
Location: Close to Victoria Station underground and express train to Gatwick, Buckihngham Palace 100 metres away. Lots of cafes, pubs and restaurants nearby.
Found the whole experience a bit stuffy and stuck in times gone by. Have stayed in plenty of 5 star hotels where everyone is a bit more relaxed whilst maintaining a certain level of service. I even found this in the decor, felt it was a bit old fashioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to Buckingham Palace

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Wonderful staff
Location: Buckingham Palace very nearby, Westminster Abby a shortish walk
My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in London around Xmas time. Hotel is very nice and staff is great. We stayed in a basic room that was a bit small, but standard for London. The only issue was that the fitness facility is not on site and with the cold weather, we really did not use it at all. We had breakfast at their restaurant and some drinks at the bar and the food and drink were very good. We do recommend the hotel but not London on Dec. 25 and Dec. 26th as a lot of places are closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Miami

Rubens it was the best hotel we've ever been!!!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Everything, specially the staff
Cons: N/A
Location: Great location to move everywhere in London using Tube or Bus
From the staff to the facilities, everything was great. Our 5 Y/O daughter had a private check in and gifts. Every member of the staff was there for us always. Definitely if we go to London again, we will go to Rubens
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Easy walking distance to central london

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Buckingham palace, winter wonderland, horse guards.
Staff, friendliness, welcoming all execellent. Lots of personal touches which make such a difference, for example , after returning late from watching the New Year's Eve fireworks hot soup and crusty rolls were provided free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Wonderful hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Beautifully decorated
Location: Walk to Buckingham palace and Hyde Park. Very convenient to train station and bus stops.
We had a lovely stay at Rubens. It was located in a convenient location to the train station and bus. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the upcoming Christmas holidays. We would stay again if we return to London.