Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Was only in town for a quick overnight. The room was great. Clean, comfortable and with all the amenities I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qualicum Beach

Very nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Jan 8, 2017
We had to be at the airport at 0600 which means this hotel was perfect since it is about five minutes away. Clean, quite new, spacious well appointed rooms and very affordable. This is the second time we have used ghis hotel to start a trip from YYJ and will not be out last
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Incredible Hotel Experience

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: The location, the modern rooms, the cafe and dining.
The checkin was a great experience with friendly staff. As I entered the room I was immediately drawn to the ocean view. The windows open so I could inhale the salt air and listen to the birds. The lobby coffee shop was a hub for locals and guests that felt like small town main street. We enjoyed a tasty dinner out at Haros. The service and food were spectacular as is the view. The location is convenient, close to beach, shopping, ferry, airport and Victoria. The only negative was when we went down to the lounge Friday evening it was closed for a staff holiday party. That was a let down and rather odd a hotel would close a lounge for a party on Friday night This is a must stay property for everyone visiting the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Anacortes, WA

Beautiful first class hotel, right on the water

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Location location location! Big rooms. Lovely shower.
Cons: I like a flat pillow and these were way to big. Should have brought my own.
Location: Lots of shopping on this street. Next to the waterfront park and pavilion where city events are held in the summer.
Everything was top notch. Restaurant and a café right on site. This is where you want to be in Sidney. The sunrise from our room on the second floor facing the street was spectacular. Wifi was a bit slow. My only disappointment was that they charge an additional $50 on the credit card in case you charge something to your room - which we did not - rather than when the charge is made - and then promise to have a credit sent to your card. So now I have to watch my billing and try to get it back if the credit doesn't go through? What a bother. They had my credit information anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shoreline, WA

Nice, clean with view

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The view from the rooms
Cons: Parking
Location: Located by the water close to ferry
Very nice but no swim pool or breakfast. Rooms with view but pricey. Parking in the basement limited (hard to find a spot in the afternoon).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Amazing harbor views!

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Proximity to everything and the views!
Location: Everything is close...The Empress, the Parliament Buildings, tours if you want them, shops and bars and eateries.
We had a fabulous stay at this hotel this week. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. Our room was upgraded and we were given a gorgeous new suite with an panoramic view of the harbor and Paliament Bldgs. Parking on site was convenient, breakfast was delicious, walk out the door and you have Victoria at your feet with good bars and restos next door....we can't say enough about this place. Not bothered at all by the upgrades they are doing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific NW

Close to Sidney Pier Marina, town and restaurants.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: location
Enjoyed taco night and music on Thursday night at Haro's restaurant in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very warm and comfortable!!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Great restaurant located in the hotel!!
Excellent place to stay in Sidney!! Ocean view rooms are very comfortable and relaxing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Arrived from London 1 night stay

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We had a long flight from London and stayed one night at the Sydney Pier Hotel. The room temp was 73f too hot and the air con was faulty, we asked for it to be fixed. The receptionist came to the room, said she had reset it and would be fine. At 6am the room temp was 75f we had a bad nights sleep. The staff apologised in the morning but didn't feel it was quite enough, to leave feeling satisfied with our brief stay. My wife didnt appreciate having to clean the bath out on arrival. If we had a different room probably wouldn't have had this problem. Pobably best to describe our visit as hit and miss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very close to restaurants etc.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Very good staff response to complaint of cigarette smoke smell in room. Apparently someone unknown, smoking near air intake, caused the problem.Staff offered a different room.