Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Van.Island

Very nice room

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Comfy beds, lovely bathroom and extra touches such as Starbucks coffee in room and lots of fluffy towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Good morning Jan, Thank you for your visit and for your lovely review. We appreciate that you chose Westin Bear Mountain and glad to see that the stay was enjoyable. Come visit us again soon! Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and peaceful

Posted Oct 7, 2017
I found my room to be spacious and comfortable with a nice view of the golf course and Mt. Baker. Should you feel like waking early don't pull the blackout curtains and enjoy watching the sky turn brilliant orange as the sun rises over the mountains to the east. Upon arrival I was surprised to find what seemed to be a bustling community up Bear Mountain, interestingly this activity did not impose on the setting and the room was nevertheless quiet and peaceful. I wish I had not booked so many other activities on my trip as I did not get to try the many amenities the hotel has to offer. I did however have a chance for a quick lunch in Master's Lounge and I can without a doubt say the salt and pepper chicken wings are the best, excellently seasoned and with a perfect crunch! In addition I was able to enjoy their happy hour one afternoon and it offered excellent value. Bella looked great but my schedule did not permit me time to try the fine dining room this time around. Overall a wonderful setting, with a hotel I can highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Good morning, thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your stay in Victoria. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed the stay, had a chance to watch spectacular Bear Mountain sunrises and enjoy Master's lounge! We truly hope to see you back again! Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pitt Meadows, BC

Gorgeous location, beautiful hotel,great amenities

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: The location and amenities
Cons: Staff/customer service
Location: Everything you need in walking distance but if you want more variety, everything less then 10 mins away by car
Hotel is located in a gorgeous area and offers clean and comfortable rooms and a vast array of amenities and restaurants. It's also only a 10min drive to shopping and even more restaurants. The food at the restaurants was very good but the staff and service in them were so so. A smile from any of the staff at both restaurants was hard to find and they weren't the most welcoming. At Jack's, the service was beyond slow and we felt like the waitress was annoyed with having to work. Staff at the master's restaurant was slightly better but not by much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Mel, thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your stay and also, for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay and found the location to be convenient. I am sorry to see that wait staff did not live up to your expectations and will make sure that your feedback is passed along to the appropriate team members in order to improve on this aspect. We do hope to welcome you back to the resort for some more relaxing time! Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sooke BC

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We had gotten a room on our wedding night which was also our first night away from our baby. We got upgraded to a suite which was beautiful, the staff were accommodating and good friendly, the rooms were spotless and the bed was so comfortable. Will definitly be returning for anniversaries!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello megn, Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so glad to see that your special stay was enjoyable and staff was friendly and welcoming. We cant wait for your return for some more relaxing time! Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver island

Not memorable

Posted Sep 23, 2017
This place was not worth the drive nor the money-a lot of hype about this place. All amenities were in another building. The fine dinning did not have a very big menu-and although we mentioned several times that we were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary-nothing was congratulated by the resort-a little note left in our room with a complementary beverage or appy would've been the proper etiquette -won't be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello jack and diane, thank you for your feedback. We highly appreciate that you took time and shared your experience with us. I am sorry to see that you did not find your stay enjoyable and did not feel that the value was there. While the Resort does offer quite a few activities and amenities we understand that it may not be as enjoyable for everyone based on personal preferences. We do hope that you find your perfect getaway in Victoria for your next stays but in the meantime feel free to let us know if you wish to discuss your stay any further, Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice accomodations.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Very nice accommodations. It's a bit of a drive through a new development. We stayed there one night and had spa services the next morning which was a great way to start our day. Great if your a golfer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you so much for choosing Westin Bear Mountain and for sharing your experience. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your overnight stay and had a chance to experience the SPA. They provide amazing relaxing service there! We hope to see you back to the resort soon for maybe a couple nights getaway? Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Beautiful scenery & outdoor pool

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Pool & scenery
Cons: Customer service
We wanted to change up our Victoria vacation and stay a little farther out of the city. I was really excited when I found this Westin resort. Having two children, I wanted to stay somewhere that had an outdoor pool, so Bear Mountain seemed like a great choice. The grounds and hotel complex are really beautiful. Our room was much bigger than expected. We did have a pet friendly room (we had no pet) and it was very clean and no pet smells. The pool was fun for the kids and it was very clean and clear (no foggy pool water). I liked that we could order drinks & food at the pool, but the hours varied so that was a little disappointing. (closing right before dinner/drink time). On our last morning there, we had no hot water. Called the front desk to see if there was a problem. They didn't know of one. They sent maintenance over to look. He agreed, no hot water. The hot water tank was located in the neighboring room, so we had to wait for them to get the ok to enter that room to check it out. When they got the ok, he found the water heater was broken. Since we had to check out, he told us to go to the club house if we wanted to shower. I didn't want to drag the kids and all our stuff over to the clubhouse to shower, so we had to skip that and just get going. When we went to check out, the gal at the front desk didn't ask how our stay was. There was no apology for the hot water problem. She argued with the laundry guy and handed us a receipt. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Good day Mrs, Thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your recent stay and also for sharing your feedback with us. It certainly provides us with the opportunity to work on our short comings and improve the service. I am so sorry to hear about an issue with the hot water and the fact that Front Desk did not inquire about your stay at the time of departure. We will ensure to provide coaching for the associates. We would love to make it up to you on the return visit if you give the Westin Bear Mountain another chance. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Loved everything about this hotel, the atmosphere, the village aspect, the amenities, the pool, the food, I will absolutely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Lucy, Thank you so much for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your recent visit. We are so excited to see that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. We are certainly blessed with the landscape around here and glad that you had a chance to explore resort facilities and amenities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

bad experience with front desk employees

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We had a bad experience with two employees from front desk: one let us to wait to have our room ready after 3:30pm when the room suppose to be ready for check in- even more my friend had to stay in line again to find out our room is ready--another employee guided us to the spa even if this was closed; when I told her the spa is close, she replied nonchalant she thought we had an appointment --very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Florentina, thank you for sharing your feedback with us in regards to your recent stay at the Westin Bear Mountain. We would like to take this moment and sincerely apologize for the delay at check in while our housekeeping team was preparing your room as well as information given to you about the SPA. We strive to provide the highest level of service and it is extremely concerning that this was not the case for you. We will ensure to follow up with our staff and truly hope that you give Westin Bear Mountain another chance. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ridiculous NOISE- Poor Response from Staff

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The Bear Mountain Resort area is beautifully landscaped, the setting is gorgeous, the pool is amazing.
Cons: When you design a hotel and you place rooms across from a Bar- invest in sound proofing. In the Fairmont YVR hotel the planes take off is silent!t
Location: Beautiful Hikes, Great Golf
We have been frequent guests of Bear Mtn., and SPG clients however this was our worst visit. The resort looked fantastic with beautiful landscaping and our room an SPG preferred guest room was up to Westin's high standards. However the blues concert noise emanating from bar across the street made the room unsleepable. The music could be heard through the closed windows and the heavy drapes intact, it was so loud I took a sound recording in our bedroom but it won't attach to this app. We tried unsuccessfully to put our daughter to bed. Frustrated at 1015 pm we called the front desk and when no one knew how long the concert was going to continue. We asked to speak with the manager and was told he would call our room. No call was received. The concert continued for hours more. The next morning I went to the front desk and spoke with the reception who explained they were not associated to the bar and could do nothing. When your room costs in excess of $400, you check in with a kid, and we are assigned a room across from a bar with an OUTDOOR LIVE BAND -it's ROBBERY. When your business is sleep you should be able to sleep. Secondly, When you ask to speak with a manager and they say they will the manager call you- then follow through. Two separate complaints to the front counter and no response- poor poor service and not up to Westin's standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing you experience with us. It allows us to work on improving our operations and services. Let me begin with apologizing for the noise disturbance caused to you and your family by the bar next door and also that you felt that staff response was inadequate. We do strive to provide service that is second to none and I am so sorry to see that we fell short and did not deliver on this promise. I am glad to see that despite of disturbance you still managed to enjoy the pool and beautiful surrounding areas. We would love a chance to make it right for you and turn your experience around for when your travels bring you back to Langford. Take care, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager