Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Cozy hotel on the mountain

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The rooms were incredibly cozy and clean! Our rooms had a very large patio in the back with a scenic view of the mountains. The location is very quiet and secluded. The pool and jacuzzi were perfect! The jacuzzi lights changed colors every few seconds. We can’t wait to stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by MOD, Hotel Management
Good evening Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience up at the Westin Bear Mountain Golf Resort and Spa, we appreciate your feedback and will share it with our Resort team. With a mission to provide a relaxing and rejuvenating stay, we're glad to hear you had exactly that. We look forward to your return to the resort and until then, be well. Kind regards, Shayne Alexander Manager on Duty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Go for the Mountain golf course!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The views are magnificent and the staff was very helpful. I was disappointed with my dining experience at the Lodge though. I ordered an 8 oz NY Strip steak medium rare. It came out in 2 over cooked pieces that lacked flavor and were tough. Play the Mountain course! The panoramic vista from the back of the 13th green to the 15th tee box is incredibly beautiful!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Kristina Alexander, Hotel Management
John: Thank you for your review of the resort - the views are certainly magnificent and something we never grow tired of up here. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to get out and enjoy the Mountain Course during your time with us. I am sorry to hear do apologize that your NY Strip steak was not made to your satisfaction and have passed on your comment to our Chef. If there is anything further you would like to discuss please feel free to call me at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, be well. Kristina Alexander Manager on Duty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great hotel!!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Was a great experience for our family, ameninities are great and our daughter didn't want to leave. Pool was great and plenty of trails for hiking and getting outside. Golf course is world class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Amadea, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy to hear your daughter didn't want to leave the pool and hope that you got a chance for a swim too! We do hope you come and visit us again. Warm Regards, Amadea Dawson Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Phenomenal Anniversary!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Everything was excellent.
Cons: When I asked the server what kind of salmon was served in Master's Lounge both her and another server had no clue. So perhaps server product knowledge
Location: There are bike rentals, hiking trails, go-karts, grocery stores, shops and a liquor store all a short 5 minutes away. Victoria is 20 minutes away.
This was our first time staying at the Westin Bear Mountain and it was absolutely phenomenal! I am so glad that I picked it for our anniversary because everything about our stay was special! The amenities were fantastic! The gym had everything you need to get a really good workout in and it even had a smoothie bar! The pool was clean and the loungers were so comfortable and it being Canada Day there was a DJ spinning really good music. The food at the Poolside Bar offered very tasty salads as well as burgers and wraps if you had a bigger appetite. Our hotel room was so clean and comfortable and we loved the kitchenette and complimentary Starbucks Coffee that we would make and have out on our beautiful patio every morning. The grounds are immaculately kept and there are many spots to go relax and socialize with a glass of wine or a coffee in the morning. The service from the front desk staff in particular was excellent! They went above and beyond for us. We received a complimentary upgrade and a late checkout on our last night which was so thoughtful and really made us appreciate the level of care for our special anniversary weekend getaway. And last but certainly not least was the gorgeous golf course. This is the highlight of the hotel, don't miss out and make a day of it or hit the back 9 or driving range. We are already looking at booking again in August we loved it that much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Kristina Alexander, Hotel Management
Dee: Thank you for your review - we were happy to hear that your anniversary stay with us was "absolutely phenomenal" and that you were able to enjoy our outside pool deck with the live DJ for Canada Day. The food here is delicious and the smoothies are certainly wonderful on a warm summers day. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate a late check out for you and a complimentary upgrade to celebrate your anniversary with us. I will pass along your comment to the dining staff regarding product knowledge - just so you know for next time the salmon we serve is a fresh wild Sockeye. We look forward to welcoming you back again in August! Until then, be well. Kristina Alexander Manager on Duty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spokane, wa

Best stay ever!!!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The area is great, surrounded by wild life, very refreshing. The rooms are comfortable and very cozy, loved the bed, slept like in my own. Views are breathtaking. Hike was amazing. I was able to recharge. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Amadea, Hotel Management
Dear LuLuM, Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Westin Bear Mountain. Our Westin Heavenly beds are quite wonderful aren't they? We are so happy to hear that you were able to recharge and hope that you come to visit us again. Warm Regards, Amadea Dawson Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell River BC

paper thin walls

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful resort but paper thin walls! Had 2 noise complaints within 5 mins of each other. Only talking.. was told to move couch and chairs into bedroom and stuff towels under doors? Seriously? Treated like a 12 year old! Very disappointing for the amount of money we all dropped:(
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Heather, Thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain and for your honest feedback. Just wanted to take this opportunity to apologize once again for the experience that you had at the property. It is most certainly not the standard that we strive to achieve. I am so sorry that you felt that you were treated as a child, that was not our intention. We do hope to welcome you back to the Westin Bear Mountain so we can show you our true Hospitality Standards. Please reach out to our Front Office Team directly shall you choose to return and we will make sure that your stay is flawless. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with beautiful scenery!

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Love getting away from it all to Bear Mountain. It has everything you need or possibly want at your fingertips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Alexandra Manyakina, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your getaway. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to serving you again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Watch out for extra fees not disclosed that are charged to your credit card immediately after leaving. Staff are not able to handle customer requests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Alexandra Manyakina, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for booking your getaway at the Westin Bear Mountain and also for sharing your experience. I am sorry to see that your stay was less than expected due to the extra fees. We may assume that you could be referring to the Resort fee that covers a wide range of services and amenities that unfortunately are easy to miss in your confirmation email. We most certainly are not trying to apply hidden fees and would be more than happy to discuss this with you further if you like. We hope that you managed to enjoy the resort and all the surrounding areas, including hiking, walking trails and our fantastic swimming pool. Please do not hesitate to contact our front desk if you would like to discuss this any further, we hope to welcome you back to the resort, Be Well, Alexandra
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Greatly exceeded our expectations!

Posted May 28, 2017
It was more than we expected in every way! The pictures online do not do it justice by any means. We were unsure when we booked it and now we are sure we will never stay anywhere else!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Alexandra M, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you very much for your stay at the Westin Bear Mountain and also, for providing such an amazing feedback. We appreciate your comments and are delighted to see that your stay went well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon! Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Bc

Quiet safe resort. family friendly

Posted May 27, 2017
Many Things to do as a couple and as a family without leaving the resort. Morning walks to the market to enjoy a great cup of coffee. Drinks In the Bella restaurant. Wine tasting. Very welcoming resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017 by Alexandra M, Hotel Management
Hello Katie, thank you for your stay at the Westin Bear Mountain resort and also for sharing your experience with the rest of the world. it is a great pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay and found activities, facilities and services welcoming. It is most important goal to ensure that guests enjoy themselves and take advantage of all the lovely facilities such as coffee shop and the restaurants. We hope to welcome you back to the property soon! Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager