Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice resort, but staff not up to speed

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: The beautiful location and the excellent facilities.
Cons: The staff needs customer service training and the staff needs to be empowered to respond to simple requests by guests.
Location: There are wonderful mountain setting surrounded by forests provides a quiet and restful location. The hiking trails are easy to access. Victoria inear
This hotel is in a beautiful location with excellent facilities, but the staff needs serious customer service training. The reception clerk promised to make a return ferry reservation for us back to Vancouver, but failed to do so until we reminded her. The bellman who held our luggage until check in time and transported it to the room exposed our luggage to possible theft. He left the door safety latch protruding into the door closure, thus preventing the it from closing and locking. It was left that way several hours until we later went to our room and were distressed to find the door propped open. When we brought this to the attention of the reception clerk she expressed regret and said she would speak to the bellman, but offered no compensation. When we suggested that we were due some kind of compensation she referred us to the manager who gave us 10k points Multiple times in the restaurants we experienced a serious lack of flexibility and responses to our request because management had ordered strict adherence to policy. For one among numerous examples, on our last night we had reserved a table at the fine dining restaurant where we had enjoyed the patio with a view of the property. When we arrived for dinner we were told there were no patio tables available although there were several tables empty. When I asked for one of those tables I was told they had been instructed by management not to serve at those tables. This sort of thing happened many times during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Alexandra Manyakina, Hotel Management
Hello Terry, thank you for trusting Westin Brand for your travels and also for providing your feedback. Let me begin with an apology for all the shortcomings during your stay. I am so sorry that your guest room door was not secured during the move. The associated has been since coached and spoken to in order to prevent any future incidents of a similar nature. It is so unfortunate to see that you didn't feel that the staff was empowered to act on the situation as we certainly do encourage our associates to use their best judgement and make decisions on the spot with the customer's needs in heart. I see that you still enjoyed the stay and hope that nearby facilities and amenities were enjoyable as well as the scenery. We do hope to welcome you back to the resort for some more relaxations time. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Awesome Hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I stayed here with my family for 3 nights in a suite. The suite was large and comfy with an amazing view of the golf course. The restaurant has good food and reasonable prices but the pool was something special. It had sea salt water, a beautiful jacuzzi, and good food at the grill. The staff was also friendly and helpful. Overall, my stay was extraordinary and I will go back next year for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Roman, thank you very much for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your getaway and also for sharing your feedback. We are so delighted to see that you had a great stay and enjoyed the views, room and facilities. Come visit us again! Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The room had very little storage. For example the bathroom had no hooks, table or vanity. Everything had to be placed on the floor. We complained twice to get a new room but they said they were full although new people checked in every day. i set up the ironing board for a night table. Management contacted us but it was half way through our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Good day, thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your stay and for sharing your valuable feedback. Rest assured that your feedback was heard and our maintenance team is currently working on fixing the issue with counter space in the bathrooms. I am so sorry to hear that this affected your stay to the extend that it was less enjoyable than what it could potentially have been. We do hope that you managed to enjoy the facilities and the scenery that Bear Mountain has to offer and chose to return and visit us again soon. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Cozy hotel on the mountain

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The rooms were incredibly cozy and clean! Our rooms had a very large patio in the back with a scenic view of the mountains. The location is very quiet and secluded. The pool and jacuzzi were perfect! The jacuzzi lights changed colors every few seconds. We can’t wait to stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by MOD, Hotel Management
Good evening Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience up at the Westin Bear Mountain Golf Resort and Spa, we appreciate your feedback and will share it with our Resort team. With a mission to provide a relaxing and rejuvenating stay, we're glad to hear you had exactly that. We look forward to your return to the resort and until then, be well. Kind regards, Shayne Alexander Manager on Duty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Go for the Mountain golf course!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The views are magnificent and the staff was very helpful. I was disappointed with my dining experience at the Lodge though. I ordered an 8 oz NY Strip steak medium rare. It came out in 2 over cooked pieces that lacked flavor and were tough. Play the Mountain course! The panoramic vista from the back of the 13th green to the 15th tee box is incredibly beautiful!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Kristina Alexander, Hotel Management
John: Thank you for your review of the resort - the views are certainly magnificent and something we never grow tired of up here. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to get out and enjoy the Mountain Course during your time with us. I am sorry to hear do apologize that your NY Strip steak was not made to your satisfaction and have passed on your comment to our Chef. If there is anything further you would like to discuss please feel free to call me at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, be well. Kristina Alexander Manager on Duty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great hotel!!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Was a great experience for our family, ameninities are great and our daughter didn't want to leave. Pool was great and plenty of trails for hiking and getting outside. Golf course is world class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Amadea, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy to hear your daughter didn't want to leave the pool and hope that you got a chance for a swim too! We do hope you come and visit us again. Warm Regards, Amadea Dawson Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Phenomenal Anniversary!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Everything was excellent.
Cons: When I asked the server what kind of salmon was served in Master's Lounge both her and another server had no clue. So perhaps server product knowledge
Location: There are bike rentals, hiking trails, go-karts, grocery stores, shops and a liquor store all a short 5 minutes away. Victoria is 20 minutes away.
This was our first time staying at the Westin Bear Mountain and it was absolutely phenomenal! I am so glad that I picked it for our anniversary because everything about our stay was special! The amenities were fantastic! The gym had everything you need to get a really good workout in and it even had a smoothie bar! The pool was clean and the loungers were so comfortable and it being Canada Day there was a DJ spinning really good music. The food at the Poolside Bar offered very tasty salads as well as burgers and wraps if you had a bigger appetite. Our hotel room was so clean and comfortable and we loved the kitchenette and complimentary Starbucks Coffee that we would make and have out on our beautiful patio every morning. The grounds are immaculately kept and there are many spots to go relax and socialize with a glass of wine or a coffee in the morning. The service from the front desk staff in particular was excellent! They went above and beyond for us. We received a complimentary upgrade and a late checkout on our last night which was so thoughtful and really made us appreciate the level of care for our special anniversary weekend getaway. And last but certainly not least was the gorgeous golf course. This is the highlight of the hotel, don't miss out and make a day of it or hit the back 9 or driving range. We are already looking at booking again in August we loved it that much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Kristina Alexander, Hotel Management
Dee: Thank you for your review - we were happy to hear that your anniversary stay with us was "absolutely phenomenal" and that you were able to enjoy our outside pool deck with the live DJ for Canada Day. The food here is delicious and the smoothies are certainly wonderful on a warm summers day. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate a late check out for you and a complimentary upgrade to celebrate your anniversary with us. I will pass along your comment to the dining staff regarding product knowledge - just so you know for next time the salmon we serve is a fresh wild Sockeye. We look forward to welcoming you back again in August! Until then, be well. Kristina Alexander Manager on Duty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spokane, wa

Best stay ever!!!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The area is great, surrounded by wild life, very refreshing. The rooms are comfortable and very cozy, loved the bed, slept like in my own. Views are breathtaking. Hike was amazing. I was able to recharge. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Amadea, Hotel Management
Dear LuLuM, Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Westin Bear Mountain. Our Westin Heavenly beds are quite wonderful aren't they? We are so happy to hear that you were able to recharge and hope that you come to visit us again. Warm Regards, Amadea Dawson Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell River BC

paper thin walls

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful resort but paper thin walls! Had 2 noise complaints within 5 mins of each other. Only talking.. was told to move couch and chairs into bedroom and stuff towels under doors? Seriously? Treated like a 12 year old! Very disappointing for the amount of money we all dropped:(
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Heather, Thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain and for your honest feedback. Just wanted to take this opportunity to apologize once again for the experience that you had at the property. It is most certainly not the standard that we strive to achieve. I am so sorry that you felt that you were treated as a child, that was not our intention. We do hope to welcome you back to the Westin Bear Mountain so we can show you our true Hospitality Standards. Please reach out to our Front Office Team directly shall you choose to return and we will make sure that your stay is flawless. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with beautiful scenery!

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Love getting away from it all to Bear Mountain. It has everything you need or possibly want at your fingertips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Alexandra Manyakina, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your getaway. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to serving you again in the future!