Ratings based on 593 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice accomodations.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Very nice accommodations. It's a bit of a drive through a new development. We stayed there one night and had spa services the next morning which was a great way to start our day. Great if your a golfer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you so much for choosing Westin Bear Mountain and for sharing your experience. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your overnight stay and had a chance to experience the SPA. They provide amazing relaxing service there! We hope to see you back to the resort soon for maybe a couple nights getaway? Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Beautiful scenery & outdoor pool

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Pool & scenery
Cons: Customer service
We wanted to change up our Victoria vacation and stay a little farther out of the city. I was really excited when I found this Westin resort. Having two children, I wanted to stay somewhere that had an outdoor pool, so Bear Mountain seemed like a great choice. The grounds and hotel complex are really beautiful. Our room was much bigger than expected. We did have a pet friendly room (we had no pet) and it was very clean and no pet smells. The pool was fun for the kids and it was very clean and clear (no foggy pool water). I liked that we could order drinks & food at the pool, but the hours varied so that was a little disappointing. (closing right before dinner/drink time). On our last morning there, we had no hot water. Called the front desk to see if there was a problem. They didn't know of one. They sent maintenance over to look. He agreed, no hot water. The hot water tank was located in the neighboring room, so we had to wait for them to get the ok to enter that room to check it out. When they got the ok, he found the water heater was broken. Since we had to check out, he told us to go to the club house if we wanted to shower. I didn't want to drag the kids and all our stuff over to the clubhouse to shower, so we had to skip that and just get going. When we went to check out, the gal at the front desk didn't ask how our stay was. There was no apology for the hot water problem. She argued with the laundry guy and handed us a receipt. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Good day Mrs, Thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your recent stay and also for sharing your feedback with us. It certainly provides us with the opportunity to work on our short comings and improve the service. I am so sorry to hear about an issue with the hot water and the fact that Front Desk did not inquire about your stay at the time of departure. We will ensure to provide coaching for the associates. We would love to make it up to you on the return visit if you give the Westin Bear Mountain another chance. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Loved everything about this hotel, the atmosphere, the village aspect, the amenities, the pool, the food, I will absolutely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Lucy, Thank you so much for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your recent visit. We are so excited to see that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. We are certainly blessed with the landscape around here and glad that you had a chance to explore resort facilities and amenities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back! Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

bad experience with front desk employees

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We had a bad experience with two employees from front desk: one let us to wait to have our room ready after 3:30pm when the room suppose to be ready for check in- even more my friend had to stay in line again to find out our room is ready--another employee guided us to the spa even if this was closed; when I told her the spa is close, she replied nonchalant she thought we had an appointment --very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Florentina, thank you for sharing your feedback with us in regards to your recent stay at the Westin Bear Mountain. We would like to take this moment and sincerely apologize for the delay at check in while our housekeeping team was preparing your room as well as information given to you about the SPA. We strive to provide the highest level of service and it is extremely concerning that this was not the case for you. We will ensure to follow up with our staff and truly hope that you give Westin Bear Mountain another chance. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ridiculous NOISE- Poor Response from Staff

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: The Bear Mountain Resort area is beautifully landscaped, the setting is gorgeous, the pool is amazing.
Cons: When you design a hotel and you place rooms across from a Bar- invest in sound proofing. In the Fairmont YVR hotel the planes take off is silent!t
Location: Beautiful Hikes, Great Golf
We have been frequent guests of Bear Mtn., and SPG clients however this was our worst visit. The resort looked fantastic with beautiful landscaping and our room an SPG preferred guest room was up to Westin's high standards. However the blues concert noise emanating from bar across the street made the room unsleepable. The music could be heard through the closed windows and the heavy drapes intact, it was so loud I took a sound recording in our bedroom but it won't attach to this app. We tried unsuccessfully to put our daughter to bed. Frustrated at 1015 pm we called the front desk and when no one knew how long the concert was going to continue. We asked to speak with the manager and was told he would call our room. No call was received. The concert continued for hours more. The next morning I went to the front desk and spoke with the reception who explained they were not associated to the bar and could do nothing. When your room costs in excess of $400, you check in with a kid, and we are assigned a room across from a bar with an OUTDOOR LIVE BAND -it's ROBBERY. When your business is sleep you should be able to sleep. Secondly, When you ask to speak with a manager and they say they will the manager call you- then follow through. Two separate complaints to the front counter and no response- poor poor service and not up to Westin's standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing you experience with us. It allows us to work on improving our operations and services. Let me begin with apologizing for the noise disturbance caused to you and your family by the bar next door and also that you felt that staff response was inadequate. We do strive to provide service that is second to none and I am so sorry to see that we fell short and did not deliver on this promise. I am glad to see that despite of disturbance you still managed to enjoy the pool and beautiful surrounding areas. We would love a chance to make it right for you and turn your experience around for when your travels bring you back to Langford. Take care, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice resort, but staff not up to speed

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: The beautiful location and the excellent facilities.
Cons: The staff needs customer service training and the staff needs to be empowered to respond to simple requests by guests.
Location: There are wonderful mountain setting surrounded by forests provides a quiet and restful location. The hiking trails are easy to access. Victoria inear
This hotel is in a beautiful location with excellent facilities, but the staff needs serious customer service training. The reception clerk promised to make a return ferry reservation for us back to Vancouver, but failed to do so until we reminded her. The bellman who held our luggage until check in time and transported it to the room exposed our luggage to possible theft. He left the door safety latch protruding into the door closure, thus preventing the it from closing and locking. It was left that way several hours until we later went to our room and were distressed to find the door propped open. When we brought this to the attention of the reception clerk she expressed regret and said she would speak to the bellman, but offered no compensation. When we suggested that we were due some kind of compensation she referred us to the manager who gave us 10k points Multiple times in the restaurants we experienced a serious lack of flexibility and responses to our request because management had ordered strict adherence to policy. For one among numerous examples, on our last night we had reserved a table at the fine dining restaurant where we had enjoyed the patio with a view of the property. When we arrived for dinner we were told there were no patio tables available although there were several tables empty. When I asked for one of those tables I was told they had been instructed by management not to serve at those tables. This sort of thing happened many times during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Alexandra Manyakina, Hotel Management
Hello Terry, thank you for trusting Westin Brand for your travels and also for providing your feedback. Let me begin with an apology for all the shortcomings during your stay. I am so sorry that your guest room door was not secured during the move. The associated has been since coached and spoken to in order to prevent any future incidents of a similar nature. It is so unfortunate to see that you didn't feel that the staff was empowered to act on the situation as we certainly do encourage our associates to use their best judgement and make decisions on the spot with the customer's needs in heart. I see that you still enjoyed the stay and hope that nearby facilities and amenities were enjoyable as well as the scenery. We do hope to welcome you back to the resort for some more relaxations time. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Awesome Hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I stayed here with my family for 3 nights in a suite. The suite was large and comfy with an amazing view of the golf course. The restaurant has good food and reasonable prices but the pool was something special. It had sea salt water, a beautiful jacuzzi, and good food at the grill. The staff was also friendly and helpful. Overall, my stay was extraordinary and I will go back next year for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Hello Roman, thank you very much for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your getaway and also for sharing your feedback. We are so delighted to see that you had a great stay and enjoyed the views, room and facilities. Come visit us again! Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The room had very little storage. For example the bathroom had no hooks, table or vanity. Everything had to be placed on the floor. We complained twice to get a new room but they said they were full although new people checked in every day. i set up the ironing board for a night table. Management contacted us but it was half way through our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Alexandra , Hotel Management
Good day, thank you for choosing Westin Bear Mountain for your stay and for sharing your valuable feedback. Rest assured that your feedback was heard and our maintenance team is currently working on fixing the issue with counter space in the bathrooms. I am so sorry to hear that this affected your stay to the extend that it was less enjoyable than what it could potentially have been. We do hope that you managed to enjoy the facilities and the scenery that Bear Mountain has to offer and chose to return and visit us again soon. Be Well, Alexandra Manyakina Acting Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Cozy hotel on the mountain

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The rooms were incredibly cozy and clean! Our rooms had a very large patio in the back with a scenic view of the mountains. The location is very quiet and secluded. The pool and jacuzzi were perfect! The jacuzzi lights changed colors every few seconds. We can’t wait to stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by MOD, Hotel Management
Good evening Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience up at the Westin Bear Mountain Golf Resort and Spa, we appreciate your feedback and will share it with our Resort team. With a mission to provide a relaxing and rejuvenating stay, we're glad to hear you had exactly that. We look forward to your return to the resort and until then, be well. Kind regards, Shayne Alexander Manager on Duty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Go for the Mountain golf course!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
The views are magnificent and the staff was very helpful. I was disappointed with my dining experience at the Lodge though. I ordered an 8 oz NY Strip steak medium rare. It came out in 2 over cooked pieces that lacked flavor and were tough. Play the Mountain course! The panoramic vista from the back of the 13th green to the 15th tee box is incredibly beautiful!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Kristina Alexander, Hotel Management
John: Thank you for your review of the resort - the views are certainly magnificent and something we never grow tired of up here. I am happy to hear that you had a chance to get out and enjoy the Mountain Course during your time with us. I am sorry to hear do apologize that your NY Strip steak was not made to your satisfaction and have passed on your comment to our Chef. If there is anything further you would like to discuss please feel free to call me at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, be well. Kristina Alexander Manager on Duty