Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Mountain relax hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great Mountain Hotel with outstanding views
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada da Caniçada and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback about our staff and service. We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards, Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Exmo Sr. Agradecemos o seu comentário nesta plataforma e a sua preferência. Esperamos recebê-lo brevemente na magnifica Pousada da Caniçada - Gerês. Atentamente Direcção
5 out of 5
by Yogesh C from Seattle

A true paradise, unmatched in my 40+ years' travel

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Just an hour from city of Porto, high atop hills that look down a lake that fills the green valley, this hotel has no parallel in my 40+ years of travel. Well-appointed rooms, gentle and always available staff, a cosy bar, social room, lounge...All you could ask for. Sleep with window open, wake to the song of birds. Swim in the pool, or take the tightly snaking steep road down to the lake for sport. Or, go hike in the mountains that abut the Spanish border, explore the rich forests, unique landscapes strewn with granite boulders rounded by wind and rain over billions of years...This is paradise, and the hotel is your home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Very many thanks taking your valuable time to post a review about Pousada da Caniçada. We were delighted to receive such warm comments. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our staff and service. Many thanks once again and if you ever do decide to make a return visit to Portugal please do bear us in mind. Kind regards, Sandra Martins Manager
4 out of 5
by gary from Texas

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful views Friendly service
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2015 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Gary Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your stay in Pousada Caniçada - Geres. We deeply appreciate your good review about our friendly services and views . We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best regards, Carine Silva, Unit Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great location and fantastic views
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2015 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest we appreciate the score given to stay at Pousada Caniçada - Geres. We look forward to welcoming you on a next visit. Best regards, Carine Silva, Unit Supervisor
4 out of 5
by ami

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Estimado Cliente, Agradecemos desde já a sua avaliação da Pousada do Gerês. Esperamos que nos visite num futuro próximo. Muito Obrigada Atentamente Sandra Martins Diretora
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location, panoramic views

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Swimming pool a joy, public areas well sited to take advantage of the fabulous outlook. Excellent breakfast, staff helpful at all times, good English spoken
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice view but that's about it

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: Difficulty of getting served
Great views. Hotel a bit tired looking. Restaurant service levels poor, staff friendly but they just vanish never to be seen again! Breakfast good. Dinner dire. Expensive and the food wasn't cooked properly, served with frozen/tinned veg. We ate out mostly but choice was limited. Pool decent and clean but a bit chilly. Beds incredibly comfortable. Dogs in the area barking all night long. Nothing much to do in the area, the walks are not well signed, nowhere to cycle unless you're on the hairpin bends. Not the best holiday ever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2011 on Hotels