Ratings based on 1,196 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

City Break

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Perfect location for exploring on foot - we couldn't ask for a better location to access the magnificent buildings, exhibitions, parks and coffee houses of the city
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear Sharon, It was a great pleasure having you as our guest at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for pointing out the central and unique location of our hotel. We hope you had a comfortable journey back home and look forward to welcoming you again at the Ambassador. Kind regards Ambassador Hotel Vienna
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
We have four more nights here. Unfortunately, the first night was awful. Extreme street noise and smoke from the downstairs bar made it impossible to get a good nights sleep. Yes, we have a nonsmoking room, but at reception we were told all the rooms get the smoke from the open bar and "that's just the way it is here". We have been to Vienna before so we know what to expect. This hotel did not meet our expectations. The staff seemed totally indifferent when I complained. This was a special trip for us- 70th birthday. Such a shame.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great except non-smoking rooms aren't

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Even non-smoking rooms smell of smoke all the time because of the design of the ventilation and location of the restaurant/bar. All the smoke from the restaurant/bar goes into the rooms. Other than that, the hotel was nice -- but the smoke was a real irritant for me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
great location to walk around and see the sights. Staff was helpful in providing directions and securing transportation. Coffee should be made available in the lobby at all times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we are glad to hear your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to having you as our guest again. Kind regards Ambassador Hotel Vienna
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in city center

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: The Evening meals the menu was vary poor
short walk to all the main sites in Vienna good for shopping and walks to the parks
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and writing a review. We are glad that the Ambassador offered the ideal location for you. Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been shared with our F&B manager. We regret that our food selection did not meet your taste. It would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again when your travels bring you back to Vienna. Kind regards Ambassador Hotel Vienna
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

gorgeous building in the center of the ring

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The hotel is certainly in a very desirable location. It's a beautiful building with good decor. The room is very spacious with a big sized bed. There're 2 basins in the bathroom. Both the room and bathroom were clean and updated. However, the staff were okay but not that warm.
Cons: I could smell cigarettes/cigars in the hallways. The smell actually came into the room through the vent too. The elevator is only up to the 4th floor but I was assigned to 5th floor business section. I had to walk a long hallway with several turns to reach the stairs and carried the luggage up. The worst was that the hotel staff didn't tell me the elevator didn't go up to 5th. I was in the elevator pressing down 5 several times and couldn't figure out why it didn't move.
Location: landmark church, imperial buildings, name brands shopping, and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2016 by Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear Sharon, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna. We are very sorry that your time with us was not as perfect as it should have been. Providing luggage assistance as well as detailed information about the room and its location are essential and we sincerely apologize for the lack of service you have experienced. Furthermore, we regret that smoke from our Atriumbar made you feel uncomfortable. Your feedback is very valuable and has already been forwarded to the responsible department heads. We hope you will consider the Ambassador again if you plan another trip to the area. It would be a great pleasure having you as our guest again. Kind regards Ambassador Hotel Vienna
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Exceptional Customer Service

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms
Location: Everything is near by, it's a great location.
The hotel was great, and we had a wonderful stay, however it was what they did after we left that went way beyond exceptional customer service. I had left a pair of earrings at a hair salon close to the hotel but by the time I had gone back to retrieve them they were closed and I was leaving early the next morning to another Country. I emailed the hotel and they were so kind to go pick them up and ship them to my home address. I can't say enough about the fantastic customer service the hotel provide both during my stay and after. Once again, thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear Dayna, Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel Vienna and sharing this wonderful feedback. Knowing that you had a great time and that our staff made your stay a memorable experience makes us very happy. Thank you so much for your kind words. Providing outstanding and individual service is one of our top priorities and we are glad that we could help return your earrings. If your travel plans bring you back to Vienna, we would be very grateful to have you as our guests again. Kind regards Ambassador Hotel Vienna
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The hotel was a great location and easy access to the Museums, shopping and wonderful restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for posting this great review regarding your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna. We are happy to hear that our central location was just perfect for your needs. If you plan another trip to Vienna, we would be very grateful to welcome you as our guest again. Kind regards Ambassador Hotel Vienna
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review of Ambassador at 22 Karntner Strabe, Vienna

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
This is a good hotel at a great location. Rooms are good size but the shower is extremely tiny (30" x 30")even for very skinny folks. It also remains very noisy at least up to 11 PM and Church bells start ringing from 7 AM onward. Hotel staff was very young and non professional. I made reservation including breakfast for two through Hotel.com but they got papers from Expedia. Some how the free breakfast was not included in the Expedia e-mail. I was unable to speak to the manager. Hotel staff was not willing to listen that I paid for breakfast for two. They should have listened to my concerns and tried to negotiate. One clerk even shouted at me just because I was asking to speak to the manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Excellent location bad staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
As i said Excellent location as every one agree but unfortunately the staff if you don't speak there language or if you are arabs or young person they will egnore you and treat you bad!!! They don't have manners at all!! The hotel don't have water cattle with cups, the bellows are un comfy, the blanket are small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Ambassador, Hotel Management
Dear some one, Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Vienna. We regret that the provided service and amenities could not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured that your feedback is very valuable for us to improve our service and offerings. It would be a pleasure to have you as our guest again in the future. We hope to get the chance to regain your trust in our quality. Kind regards Ambassador Hotel Vienna