Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PERFECT

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Centrally located but quiet and peaceful. Discrete staff. Apartment has a fully equipped kitchen, the bathroom is spacious and pristine and the living area is also tastefully set up. Would book it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Large rooms, good location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevators too small and difficult.
Location: Middle of everything. Right by Karlplatz stop.
Unusual hotel, more like an apartment. Good location, nice staff. If you have mobility issues, you should avoid this hotel, though. Tiny, temperamental elevators. Must go up and down steps to access them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in central Vienna

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Stayed there overnight, stylish, clean room, comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff, very polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Omar Abdel-Wahed - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great apartment, loads of room and central

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Great apartments by tube and ringstrasse. Also next toMuseum cafe which is great for breakfast. Very roomy, comfotable and clean. Also warm with great facilities. Not the old fashioned style of the lobby, but well kitted out and more modern. They are also renovating amd expanding. Beds a tad hard but so were the last three places I have stayed and my only criticism if nit picking!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Omar Abdel-Wahed - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Beautiful room with lovely decor including drinks in the cooler, close to transit, walking distance to everything, helpful staff, loved it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Recommended Hotel near the State Opera

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Our room was spacious and quiet. Beds were comfortable and clean. It was cold outside during our stay but heating was efficient and almost silent.
Cons: The single elevator was small and could fit only two people at the time. There was a sign indicating that the elevator was going to be renovated soon.
The hotel is just a block from the State Opera, on Kaerntner Strasse. Just past the Opera, Kaerntner Strasse becomes a nice pedestrian-only street, leading to St. Stephen's cathedral. There is an entrance to the subway (KarlsPlatz) only a block away from the hotel. Except for a small elevator, we had a good time in our stay. Our room was a comfortable and quiet one bedroom apartment with a clean and complete bath.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Omar Abdel-Wahed | Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ciclon, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

fantastic hotel,

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: everything , location, staff, apartment, breakfast,just superb
Cons: nothing
Location: central, underground just outside, vienna is just a lovely place to be near xmas with all the markets.
The apartment was stunning, the staff could not have been more helpful. Just awesome hotel. If we are in Vienna again will certainly stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by Benjamin, Hotel Management
Dear John, We are glad that you were our guest. Thank you so much for such an amazing review, we are delighted to read your compliments to the staff. We also really appreciate you recommending our hotel. Looking forward to next time! Best regards from the Derag Livinghotel staff Benjamin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice hotel with HUGE rooms, centrally located

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Location, size of room, size of bed
Cons: Actually provide VIP+ benefits for members
Location: Walking distance to Hofburg Palace, Opera House, St. Stephens Basilica
The hotel was wonderful. Staff was very helpful when I needed some boarding passes printed out, there is actually a mini fridge on the way to the rooms with free drinks (water, soda, etc), as well as a K-coffee machine which is a nice touch. The rooms are absolutely huge and so are the beds. You really could live here for several weeks and be comfortable. The elevator is incredible small, which means if you are travelling with more than 2 or 3 people you will be making multiple trips up and down, and we also received no Expedia VIP+ benefits at all, but both small prices to pay for an excellent hotel. It's also located right outside the U1 subway line, and is within walking distance to the Opera house (across the ring-strasse street), St. Stephens Basilica, and even the Hofburg Palace. Would definitely stay there again if we're ever back in Vienna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Omar Abdel-Wahed, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for your constructive review of our hotel. We would love to have you back soon. Have a enjoyable festive season. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

GREAT LOCATION, LOVELY STAFF, PERFECT ROOM

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Everything--location, room setup, staff, it was perfect!
This hotel is a block away from the Vienna Opera and a perfect location. The staff are lovely and helpful. The rooms themselves are perfect particularly if you'd like to save money on food as there's a market across the street and a kitchen in the rooms. Now, I think it's rather small for cooking for a family although it's doable. But I just ate a lot of liverwurst and cheese on yummy German bread and I was happy. I walked all over Vienna from here. The Viennese are not known for their manners but the staff here were as polite as anywhere. I highly recommend this hotel. While the rooms could use a bit of updating, everything is still perfect and the views are awesome. The free nespresso and bottled water in the lobby was an added bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Benjamin, Hotel Management
Dear Allison Kathleen it was a real pleasure that you were our guest and thank you so much for this generous review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We would be glad to welcome you next time in Vienna! Best regards from the Derag Livinghotels staff Benjamin
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for the City. Great hotel with superb staff.

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel Derag Livinghotel an der Oper is ideally situated for easy access and for the delights of central Vienna. The staff were excellent, always polite and helpful; we happened to see the manager (on his day off) who was also extremely courteous and helpful. The room was well equipped and easy to live in for the seven nights we stayed; plenty of storage, good shower/bathroom; a well equipped kitchenette with good sized fridge, slimline dishwasher and a coffee machine/percolator. Any minor maintenance issues were promptly dealt with and the decor was relaxing and in keeping with the style of building. We had read several reviews re the small lift size but when seen, it is understandable why the lifts are that size: they are fitted into the existing stairwells which means the original design of the listed/protected building is maintained. If you don't fit in with your bags, the staff will bring them up to you. A great hotel, with superb staff. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience in such a kind review! It was a pleasure that you stayed in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you another time at our hotel. Best regards from the Derag Livinghotels staff Benjamin Szilas