Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Clean hotel but out of 30 TV channels none English

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Average hotel when we asked to stay extra 2 days we were charged additional 40/50£ A long walk into city so with no English TV meant very long evening
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Great hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location, service, great food, reasonable price
Cons: Unfortunately the pool was under restoration, which we hoped to use when we booked the hotel. Wish they had chosen different season for it, not August
Location: Excellent location, close to everything (5 minutes walk to metro station, 15-20 minutes walk to the City centre and all major tourist destinations).
Excellent location, close to everything (5 minutes walk to metro station, 15-20 minutes walk to the City centre and all major tourist destinations). Great staff at the Reception desk. Very clean room and surroundings, comfortable beds and very nice bedding. Outstanding breakfast (omelet/eggs, sausages, cold cuts, vegetables, fresh fruit, variety of cheeses, freshly backed pastries, yogurt, juices, excellent coffee - you name it. No need for lunch :).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Awesome

Posted May 19, 2016
This was our second time we stayed at this hotel, it was awesome, the staff is friendly and very helpful, nice location 10 minutes away from the ring (center) tram across from the hotel, modern, spacious and awesome rooms. Love it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prague, Czech Republic

Mostly Very Good Experience, Excellent Breakfast!

Posted Apr 9, 2016
We had a fairly decent or nice stay at Exe Hotel Vienna. From the photos, we expected a bigger room, and a better renovated/refurbished hotel (i.e. a well done job... the hotel is modernized to some degree, made to look clean and new... but the windows/window sills are still very old, with peeling paint, the outside of the hotel doesn't look very appealing, the pool could be a little renovated... so it all gave a feeling of a quickly done surface job... but it's quite decent in the end). The swimming pool is very small but had very pleasant warm water. Too bad there's no windows, it's sort of in a cave in the basement. The fitness facilities were missing some things that were in the hotel's photos. There was no shower gel or shampoo in the gym's showers/bathroom. The tram in front of the hotel wasn't working when we went because of Easter weekend, so transit was more of a pain, but it was ok. The breakfast was quite good, and had some delicious vegetarian options (scrambled/boiled eggs, mushroom ragout, roasted veggies, cereals, yogurt, salads, cheeses)... they even brought me a basket of gluten free bread and muffins!!! The staff was very kind and welcoming, and let us do a late checkout (2pm)... and held our luggage until very late that night. All in all it was a very good stay :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice Hotel and close to main street.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Value and location.
Cons: Business center and shower doors.
Location: Close to night clubs and stores.
It is very excellent hotel staff. The business center needs to be improved. Swimming pool is very small. But the hotel is clean and beds are comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, nice location.

Posted Oct 11, 2015
The hotel is not far away from the city center; there is also a tram stop nearby. Staff is friendly and customer oriented and speaks English fluently. Rooms are clean. Nice buffet breakfast, Very nice restaurants within short walking distance. Overall good value for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Not a 4 star hotel by a long shot

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Well let's start off with the pros the staff on arriving were pleasebt and spoke good English, the room was cleaned to a good standard each day. It's close to the U bahn about a 5-10 min walk and is in a quiet area. Now this is where is starts to fall apart first off we booked a double room which we got however had two single duvets asked at reception for a double and told they only have singles. The beds themselves are rock hard I like a firm matress myself but this offered no comfort at all. The air con hardly works I set it at 8 full blast for hours and still get warm thankfully we were there when the temp was only around 25 degrees In the room on there information booklet it says the restaurant and room service is from 7:30pm to 11pm on the second night we were feeling a bit hungry after getting back so about 9pm went down only to find the restaurant closed asked at reception for a room service menu only to be told they don't do room service at this hotel! only 1 iron for the whole hotel (remember this is apparently a 4 star hotel so would expect one for every room) I'm glad we didn't plan to use the hotel for anything more than sleep as that is all its good for (barely)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from London

Good value hotel, walkable to Vienna city centre

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Pool, friendly English-speaking staff, comfy room all good - big plus point was the excellent buffet breakfast which Expedia included in my deal.
Cons: Room walls are too thin! I could hear coughing and snoring from 2 different guests of the room next to mine, had to use earplugs to get to sleep : 0
Location: I walked to Herengasse in around 25 mins each day. You could use the subway from Alserstrasse to cut 5-10mins off that journey time - I walk fast btw!
Good value hotel in ideal location if you enjoy discovering cities on foot. I walked to Herengasse in around 25 mins each day. You could use the subway from Alserstrasse just 5 mins walk from the hotel - only a little quicker than walking though, as you have to change lines. The area itself is fine, felt safe at night. It's not tourist Vienna, it's a local's area for bars & cafes etc, so don't expect pretty views and palaces etc. If you live in a city you'll feel at home here. The hotel staff were friendly and helped with requests promptly. The air-con in my room worked fine which was vital in the 34-37 degree Vienna heat this week, so if you have any problems with air-con in your room (like a couple of other reviewers seem to have), just ask to switch rooms. The little pool was handy for a swim after breakfast. Vienna is beautiful and this hotel was a great base for sightseeing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

I will never use an Expedia special offer again.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The breakfast room staff were charming.
Cons: Do not believe what you are told by the reception staff "this isn't Spain or the US you know. We don't have air-conditioning like they do".
Location: It's Vienna, baby.
Seven night stay. Hotel heavily promoted by Expedia. Rooms with "climate control". Original room was like a sauna with the room thermostat at minimum/6degC which was blamed on every possible reason but faulty air-conditioning. When I finally lost my temper after two days (and several other room-maintenance issues which were repeatedly ignored) by some miracle another room was found which was like an ice-box with the room thermostat at 18 degC. The further five days were fine but I cannot recommend the hotel and I will never take another Expedia special offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2015
20 mins to city by tram or metro. Tram number 44 is the only tran which goes to doorstep of hotel