Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel, pretty close to everything

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Very nice hotel, nice court yard. It is difficult to park, but every big city has this problem. I would use this hotel again, when we are in Vienna.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay for the price

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel graciously accommodated a very late check-in. I was a bit taken aback by the small size of my room (single bed); it was probably 80-95 square feet including the bathroom. The shower stall was designed for a short narrow person. Anyone 5' 6" tall or taller might feel a bit cramped. However, the bed itself was very comfortable and despite a lively courtyard that kept going strong until close to midnight each night, it was still possible to have a very good night's rest. The few times I interacted with the hotel staff, they were lovely. The location is fantastic. Walking distance to major attractions and the Museums Quartier is a quick tram ride away or an easy 10 minute walk. Housekeeping was pleasant and kept the room and bathroom clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Perfect place to stay while in Vienna.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Location is great. The style of the hotel is unique. The cleanliness of the room is excellent. They have a beautiful backyard.
Cons: The staff should be trained better on how to handle mistakes made by them.
Location: The location is tariff. You can walk absolutely anywhere.
This hotel is great. Although do not expect anything fancy. It has its own Viennese charm. The room was comfortable and super clean. I will definitely recommend my friends to stay there and will stay there again once I am back in Vienna.
3 out of 5
by Melissa from London

Like waking up in a tent in the sun

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel itself including staff, food and shared areas was on the money. The room we stayed in was on the top floor and in sunshine all day. We visited during a heat wave and the one little fan in our room simply didn't offer any relief. We didn't get a single good night of sleep - passing out from heat and constantly waking up from the heat. In the morning we had cold showers and couldn't return to the room until the evening when we opened the windows completely to try to let the heat out once the sun set.
5 out of 5
by Jessica from Canada

Great stay! Great atmophere!

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
My best friend and I spent two days in Vienna and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. We absolutely loved the atmosphere! The little patio restaurant was the perfect place to grab a drink and bite to eat after a long day out and about. Because the restaurant/bar closes at 10pm, the hotel allows for a nice and quiet sleep. It was about a ten minute walk to the underground and a main shopping street which had plenty of shops and restaurants. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here if ever in Vienna again!
4 out of 5
by Louise Angela from NJ

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
My family of 4 stayed in 2 double rooms at this charming, small hotel. One room faced the street while the other faced the hotel's lovely courtyard. The rooms were a decent size, and everything was clean and simple. The only problem in 1 room was fluctuating water temperature and pressure in the shower. The hotel offers a well stocked and fresh buffet breakfast with breads, meat, cheese, yoghurt, etc. There were also a few hot items like scrambled eggs and bacon. There is a Filipino (!) restaurant in the hotel, that seemed pretty busy at dinner time.
5 out of 5
by Brendan from Wellington

simply (a) brillant (little) hotel

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
this was a wonderful place to stay - the room complete with couch bed was spacious and comfortable - it was cold outside when we stayed and it was always good to get back to Brillantengrund the breakfasts were the best we had in Europe
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Satisfactory stay...:)

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Location: 10mins walk from centre however area does not have a lot of dining options nearby. Breakfast: great for €5 Hotel different and room good however for the price expected more. Beds were very comfortable. Staff: very kind and accommodating! :) did a great job even though the hotel itself seemed understaffed at times with no-one at reception.
5 out of 5
by Jenny from Australia

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful staff, nice atmosphere, thoroughly enjoyed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BALA from LONDON

NICE HOTEL IN A NICE AREA NEAR TWO METRO STATIONS

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: FELT LIKE A HOME RATHER THAN A HOTEL AS IT WAS A HOME BEFORE BECOMING A HOTEL+ITS FAMILY RUN.THE EMPLOYEES SEEMED HAPPY .
Cons: THE SHOWER MIXER IN ROOM 109
Location: MANY NICE SHOPS EATERIES IN MARIA HILFER STR NEARBY
SITUATED NEAR A MAIN ROAD,MARIA HILFER STR BUT NOT ON IT.FELT A SAFE AND CLEAN NEIGHBOURHOOD.