Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by SAT from Wisconsin

Wanted something off the beaten path.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: The price, the receptionist, the comfort level of the room for the price, and it was quiet at night.
Cons: Grout cleaning.
Location: Location is away from the center, but that is what I wanted.
I just wanted an inexpensive hotel before I started three days of meetings. The room was very nice. Reception was very friendly. There was a little bit of mold in the shower tile grout, so if that turns you off you should go somewhere else. I was very happy with my choice for a night.
2 out of 5
by Dean from Davenport, IA

Avoid this place.

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Too much to name to bother with.
Location: Bad neighborhood in a location that has nothing to do.
The reviews are misleading. The location is ok at best. It is NOT near the city center. It is in a rundown blue collar neighborhood. While I myself live in a blue collar neighborhood, we don't stay up till midnight playing soccer in the park every night. The lobby was dark and while there is a bar and restaurant, t is closed. For good I assume. The rooms are rundown. There is no central air. Normally that isn't a terrible problem, it is when idiots are outside your window until 1 am yelling. This place was not the cheapest on the list so I am not sure what the others are like, but if you aren't two single guys backpacking the country, avoid this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moe from Canada

Good Value for the money you pay

Posted May 27, 2013
It is a good hotel for a reasonable rate, about 10 minutes ride by tram to the Alser station that takes you to West Banhof Metro station, which is almost the center of the city. You have to walk around 10 minutes to the tram stop. I found my stay comfortable at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SLO

good value for money

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Nice hotel. Good price. 5 mins from tram stations to downtown. Free wireless. Parking is extra.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Jorge from Portugal

Hotel Carina

Posted Jan 30, 2012
Pros: Helpful staff, cleanliness
Cons: Lack of comfort, difficult to find, front desk open just 6h/day
Location: Check the review
This hotel is located a bit far away from the city center. I don't advise you to try to reach it by underground because it's a bit confusing. It's better to reach it by Tram (43 - Wattgasse stop) or bus (10A - Wattgasse stop). To find its location it was complicated and even the taxi driver didn't know where it was located. Besides that, it was ok for the price I paid. It only lacks some comfort - I was there in January and the heating only worked a few hours in the night. There should be a desk in the room, I think it is useful. But it was very clean. The staff is really helpful, but there's another problem: it only works from 8 to 14, for a 3* hotel it's not acceptable, in my opinion. But they are always ready to meet your demands, I needed a taxi at 4 in the morning and they prepared everything. No restaurant or bar in the building. But, overall, it was a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Dean from Manchester, UK

Quiet, friendly hotel away from the centre

Posted Dec 22, 2011
Pros: Reasonable price, clean, warm room with fridge and Internet connection
Cons: a bit too quiet, away from the centre
Location: 20 minutes from the nearest U-Bahn station and then a 10 minute walk down Kulmgasse
The Hotel Carina is a nice little hotel in the Josefstadt area of Vienna. It's not in the centre but takes about 20 minutes by tram to Wattgasse from the nearest U-Bahn station which is Universität. It's then a 10 minute walk down a quiet but really pleasant residential street. There's a lovely square opposite and beautiful church at the side called Marienkirche. When I arrived, the guy on reception was very friendly and gave me a lot of good information about the city. My room was very clean and warm and quite basic overall but had a fridge and Internet connection. However, I had a very good price for a 4-night stay so I was really happy. The only downside was that the Internet connection was slow at times and they didn't service my room as I left the hotel in the early afternoon. The hotel seemed deadly quiet; I only saw one or two other guests and there was nobody on reception after 8pm which wasn't a problem as your room card could open the front door at any time. All in all I was satisfied with the Hotel Carina and it is ideal for anybody who wants to sleep somewhere comfortable, doesn't want to spend a lot and doesn't mind travelling to the centre of Vienna. Transport links are excellent and the night bus takes the same route as the tram.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

not Impressed

Posted Apr 6, 2011
My stay at the hotel Carina was very bad. At first the rooms are very small and discomforting, only one lady who works as housekeeping,food and beverage service and everything in the hotel so don not expect to get a good service and the front office closes at 1pm so if you check in after this time its very hard to move around if you are a tourist or new to the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from surrey

would not go back

Posted Jun 4, 2010
the only staff i got to see was a cleaner , i asked her if she could report my tv as it was not working she could not . if i had time i would have waited @ the hotel to ask for a refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good for the money

Posted Nov 2, 2009
Hotel was very nice and clean. Wasn't desk staff upon check in which was weird but we managed. When hotel desk staff were in they were extremely helpful with anything we needed. Breakfast is very over priced, we stayed at 4 hotels before this one (Munich, Prague, Salzburg and Bad Goisern) and for amount of food and quality of food we found this hotel very over priced. Rooms however are very reasonably priced and the street parking in front of the hotel is free so that's a plus. Rooms are quite large, with a fridge, nice closet and clean good size bathroom. Overall we would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to other travellers
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

OK for the very independent traveller

Posted Oct 5, 2009
I would not recommend this hotel unless you are a confident traveller, especially if you are a woman on her own. Taxis to centre very expensive because of the distance. There is only limited front desk service and it is not great to come back at night to a dimly-lit and deserted lobby. I'm not sure which bit of the University it is close to as stated on Expedia; it's a good 10 minute tram ride to Schottentor and the trams are 3 blocks walk down a quiet and not well-lit street. Room OK if odd, with bath in corner of room; the cleaning staff were pleasant.