Ratings based on 1,961 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location. Very good staff.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Only minor complaint concerned the pillows that was immediately addressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on the ring.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
We weren't in our room very much. It was extremely clean. The air conditioning was a very nice bonus. Staff were helpful. It was within feet of the transit which was very useful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable stay

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, Breakfasts.
Cons: TV's need to be updated.
Location: Easy walking to Museum Quarter, Opera House, Old Town and shopping Streets. Tram to Main Rail Station and to Grinzing leave from right next door.
A very good experience again at the Hotel de France. Excellent location for both walking the ring road and the old city and catching public transport. Staff helpful and friendly, excellent breakfasts, and comfortable rooms - time to update the TV's though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great hotel in an ideal location.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The hotel is five minutes walk from the Rathaus, and just a couple of minutes further to the Hofburg Palace and Museum Quarter. The historical Cafe Landtmann and Cafe Central are nearby. Excellent links for the trams, buses and tube.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay for short time-three days.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: Bathroom was very small.
Everything was well , breakfast was very good. Room was good size. TV is outdated , very small and picture quality not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by best regards, the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Dear Client! Thanks for sharing your personal review! We are glad to read that for the most part you were satisfied with the hotel, our staff and the services offered! Hope you had a short but great time in Vienna - we would love to see you soon again! best regards, the Hotel de France Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
the hotel is very nice and clean,it is close to the center. the staff very kind and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by the Hotel de France Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guests! Your excellent personal feedback is highly appreciated, thank you! From your comments we saw that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel, our staff and the services offered! It makes us happy to read that you obviously had a great time in Vienna and in our hotel - we would love to welcome you back soon! best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

A corner room makes sense.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Restaurant. It was way down from the first time we used this hotel a year ago.
Location: Walk to Stefansplatz and also to the opera house.
We decided to ret a corner room on our last night in Vienna at this hotel. It was the best decision we could have made. Large, with all the comforts and `plenty of space. We wished then that we could have rented one of these for our previous nights the week before!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by best regards, the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Dear Al! Many thanks for sharing your review with us! From your feedback we saw that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel, our staff and the services offered! We love to hear that your your second stay - in the corner room - was even better! hope to see you soon again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Quaint

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: everything was done really well. very clean, nice décor, and quiet
Cons: had to ask for face towels twice...
Location: everything is close either by walking or by subway or tram.
overall a great value, great location. staff were extremely helpful. great view etc...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by best regards, the Hotel de France Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest! Thank you very much for taking your time to post your personal feedback! From your great rating we saw that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel and the services offered! We will certainly pass on your kind comments to our staff - it will further encourage them in their efforts to be a perfect host! So your trip to Vienna and your stay at our hotel was most pleasant - hope to welcome you back soon again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Disappointing. The building is historic and beautiful on the outside, but the inside is musty. We had an incident that was not resolved to our satisfaction especially at a luxury hotel rated 4+ stars. The electricity went out in the middle of the night for some strange reason which made it impossible for my husband to use his CPAP machine, no one answered the phone at the front desk so my he had to go down to the reception area to seek help. An hour later the circuit breaker kicked off again! needless to say it was a sleepless night, and the manager offered no sympathy and no refund! Another annoying thing was the loud but very inefficient air conditioning unit!! For the price per night this was definitely not a good value!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by the Hotel de France Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, First, we want to thank you for your feedback. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in your case, we fell short. At the time you were staying with us, unfortunately a nightly power cut happened. For the inconvenience it caused, we are extremely sorry. This was an unforseeable incident that can happen everywhere at any time. We wish you had informed us beforehand of your need of a CPAP machine. So we could have provided our emergency power aggregate to avoid any complications. As for the A/C, we are sorry you told us only when checking out. A room change on the first day would have solved that. In spite of your experiences in the hotel we truly hope you could enjoy the beautiful city of Vienna. All the best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Womderful place with wonderful staff!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Place was very nice, room very clean; special thank you to staff of the hotel - friendly and helpful!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by best regards, the Hotel de France Team , Hotel Management
Dear Guests! Thank you so much for taking your time to post your personal feedback! We saw that you were entirely satisfied with the hotel, our staff and the services offered! We are glad that your trip to Vienna and your stay at our hotel was a successful and pleasant one - we would love to welcome you back soon!