Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lousy..

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
You can hear what your guest next door is doing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

a hotel in need of a lot of updating

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The reception staff
Cons: Soundproofing of rooms and corridors, remove stained carpets, remove black damp grouting in bathrooms,mend all the loose fittings etc etc
Location: A good spot in Vienna. Lots of local gasthauses and bars and a great market in Yppenplatz
Whilst the reception staff are excellent - friendly and helpful, the hotel is very disappointing indeed. Even tho it is only a 3* the stained carpets, the loose taps and black damp grouting in the bathrooms, the lack of any soundproofing etc etc is not acceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GROSS

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
The only good thing about this dump of a hotel was that the young man at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Otherwise, it was a dump.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, friendly staff, near great restaurants

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Staff very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, knew several languages. Our first night was difficult because of some extremely noisy neighbour entering and exiting into the wee hrs of the night. The following 3 nights were quiet however. The buffet breakfast at the sister hotel was excellent and staff there were also very friendly/helpful. But, the no-smoking policy needs to be enforced as the hallways always reeked of smoke and we even saw cigarette butts on the hallway floor. Almost an entire put out cigarette somehow made it into our room. The sink plug wouldn't loosen hence the sink never drained. I mentioned it to staff and they said they told the tech but it never got fixed in 4 days and when we brushed our teeth we had spit in the toilet.
4 out of 5
by Hannah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Horrible experience.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: location only.
Cons: Everything needs improvement.
Location: Close to trains and main streets...
Not what I expected and photos are deceiving. No wifi in the rooms...lobby is horrible...not handicapped or ramp to roll luggage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW England

Cheap, close to the tram line into central Vienna

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: the price, free wifi
Cons: either serve breakfast in the hotel or remove it from the bill
Location: The 43 tram is a couple of minutes walk away, that will take you to Schottentor and the underground network.
I chose this hotel because it was near where my daughter lives in Vienna. It's not in the centre but is about 10 mins from the centre on the excellent tram system (Tram 43 into town). The hotel is down a side street and won't win any awards for style, but was clean and had free wifi. Breakfast was included but had to be taken at a nearby sister hotel. Given that it was near freezing, this meant dressing up in winter kit and setting off. I didn't bother with any breakfasts. If I was already dressed to go out, I was going out and not to breakfast. That said, Vienna is expensive and this hotel was cheap, leaving me money to spend elsewhere. I'd stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great for the price ...not bad overall

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
not bad, great for the price can't compete , nothing fancy , hotel is 7min walk from alser starbe metro... after you going out from the station go strait in the street afront of macdonalds"just behind the metro" and keep walking until you find a sign for copy shop on your left then you will see the hotel.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevema.

Interesting Experience

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Ebookers
Very basic and run down which is a shame as it look like it has some interesting history. The photos on web site must have been taken some years ago. I suppose it is more like a hostel. Room was clean enough and was adequate for our stay. Staff were young and friendly but didn't have much idea in the area of maintenance. However the downstairs area which looked like it was a wine bar in the past was freely available to use and had some old world charm. It served its purpose and is idea as a cheap place say for students.
3 out of 5
by Kevin from NYC

Fine for price

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was fine for the price. A bit far from the center and no wifi in the rooms.