Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Very good location. If you arrive after 7pm you have to call the reception to check you in. Despite my emailing them well in advance that I will be arriving late. My mobile was powered off, so had to ask a stranger for help. Another issue I wish to bring to notice is that on the booking websites they show no pictures of single room which could help a person to get an idea if the single room is suitable or not. So when I first saw the single room I was dissapointed. Apart from this, great staff service, Clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon, England

Perfect location for Christmas markets.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Stayed for three nights, hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful - kettle, extra pillow - nothing was too much trouble. The room was quite small but cosy and very comfortable. Bathroom very clean and lovely powerful, hot shower. Within walking distance of all the Christmas markets but easy to get to the tram if you prefer. The hotel reception is on the third floor of the building, the lift doesn't go right to the ground floor so not accessible for guests with walking difficulties. Fantastic stay, would definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location location location

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Clean, wonderfully located and superconvenient. Visit again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Nice hotel with great location and atmosphere

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Hotel make me to feel like i am living in an antique house in vienna. Hotel staff is very kindly and helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Images of rooms are not the same rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: fast wifi
Cons: the images of the room, the descriptions of the room
The images shown on expedia for the Standard Single Room are of a different room. The room is about half the size of the image and the bed is half as big as the photos show. The photos also show a bathtub and the description of the room says there is an option for a bathtub. I requested a bathtub it was the reason I selected this hotel. I also emailed the hotel a week before about the bathtub request. I never got a reply. When i arriving at the hotel I and asked about the bathtub I was told that none of the Standard Single Rooms had bathtubs. After seeing my room and seeing that it was a different room and asked reception about this and was told expeida put up the same images for every room (not true different room had different images) it could be true that Expeida put the wrong image up and the wrong description of the room stating it had a bathtub. Reception didn't care about any of this or try to fix it, all they did was say everything was Expeida fault and were very unapologetic for everything. After 45 minutes on the phone with expidea that gave me a voucher for saving on a future booking. So they made it right, but I would never say at this place again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from New York

Sweet hotel close to the university

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, the way in which they they kept the hotel both affordable and stylish.
Location: Very near Votive Church, Sigmund Freud Museum, and Schottentor train station.
I had a great experience there. The hotel staff wonderful! I would stay there again. I initially picked it for the price, but the location, comfort level, access to transportation and important sites makes the Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor a true find.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from US

Great stay!

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent! Spacious room, excellent view! Great location. Friendly staff. The only thing that would have made it perfect would have been if they added breakfast free or at a reasonable charge. It wasn't elaborate and the $10 euro pp was pricey. Overall though we would for sure stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very nice hotel

Posted May 31, 2016 on CheapTickets
No complaints. Better stay than I expected for the price. Easy access to everything. Hotel staff was EXTREMELY helpful. The check in and check out was fast and the front desk assistant (Svetlana) was very nice. Also room is very clean and the bed is comfy. Overall, I am very satisfied with the accommodations. I would definitely recommend it to other travelers. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quirky hotel, great neighbourhood

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: I liked that it wasn't like your standard chain hotel - the view is stupendous with the cathedral. I had the funky curved balcony room.
Cons: some things aren't totally new, but I like that.
Location: there are good cafes and its so close to the U2 line
everything I needed - perfect for a pleasure trip, would come back.