Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HB

Excellent location next to Stefansdom

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Nice hotel clean and warm A few little niggles though - breakfast room crowded and had to wait for a table on a couple of days. They could do with someone to greet and guide people to a table as it seemed a bit of a scrum! Also I'm not sure if this is a local thing but the double bed was in fact two singles pushed together Also for a 4 star you would expect tea and coffee in the room but this was not available Overall a nice place though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect location for a stay in Vienna

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: This hotel is in a great location, breakfast is extensive with healthy options too and the large triple bedroom was a real bonus
Cons: New mattresses and pillows would be welcomed although we slept well enough.
Location: This hotel is next to the Cathedral, two minutes from the Mozart House and ten minutes from a variety of other sights, shops and cafes
We were very happy about staying here. Excellent buffet breakfast available each day and the roof top bar, (enclosed) gives a great view of the cathedral's tiled roof. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable and spoke good english. The hotel is well situated close to the pedestrian area, many sights within easy walking distance and on two metro lines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Friendly Staff

Posted Dec 4, 2016
My third time at Hotel Royal. Staff greeted this familiar face with "welcome back smile" & reception gave flexible arrangements. Even staff at breakfast were friendlier than usual which adds warmth to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sk

Fantastic location. Good hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The location of this hotel was terrific, just around the corner from Stephenplatz. The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. The room was starting to show some age, but was large by European standards, and very clean. This was a good experience for us, and we would recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

In the heart of Vienna next to Stephansdom ...

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, great breakfast. Billa grocery store across the street.
Cons: While I like being warm, I found my room to be a bit on the warm side and frequently had to open the window to cool it down.
Location: Sisi Museum, Spanish Riding School, Albertina, Hofburg, and you can shop till you drop on the Graben (Gucci, Tiffany, Versace, etc) and Kärtner Straße
This was my third stay at Hotel Royal. I return to this property as its location is ideal for exploring the Christkindlmarkts and all that the wonderful city of Vienna has to offer. I have found all members of the staff ... reception, housekeeping, bellmen, and the servers in the restaurants ... to be very friendly and extremely helpful. I especially enjoyed the ample and varied breakfast buffet. The next time I visit Vienna, Hotel Royal will be my first choice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands UK

Very conveniently placed

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: New carpets would be good and a more friendly welcome.
Location: See above
Not much character to the rooms apart from the occasional "antiqued" mirror and prints of old Vienna, but well arranged and comfortable. Above all is the convenience. Easy to get to from the airport and most major sights walkable. Outstanding breakfast, and the rooms are quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location in the city centre

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Easy walking to most of the sites and the shops with lots to explore. Two restaurants in house, (a bit on the pricey side) but lots of variety in the centre. No coffee/tea making facilities in room so bring your own travel kettle. Comprehensive continental breakfast with a small hot option e.g scrambled eggs/ sausages
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness & good variety of choices for breakfast
Cons: Missing tea/coffee & kettle in the room
Location: Very accessible to train station & hundreds of shops. Walkable to most museums and tourist place
Hotel is just next to the famous st Stephens cathedral and just a step away to the train station and hundreds of shops. Room is very clean. Most of all a very appetising generous breakfast buffet. Adding to a strong wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Excellent location

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Generally it was pleasant. Tha Filipino staff members were very warm & helpful. The Filipino chamberperson who helped provide me with the vacuum cleaner to vacuum pack my clothes was brilliant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to Cathedral and shopping streets,

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Or here.
Cons: Or here either.
Location: Cathedral, shops, restaurants.
Can't be bothered writing anything here. Blah blah blah.