Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorking UK

Great hotel near city centre

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable & convenient.
Cons: Wifi on the 6th floor was practically non-existent, whereas in the bar it was excellent.
Location: found a few new restaurants/bars we hadn't visited before. Very convenient for the city
Since our visit in the spring, the rearrangement of the bar / reception area is much more comfortable. The staff, as always, are pleasant & some are more able than others. However as we dont speak German, sometimes our conversations were a little difficult. However, those who struggled to understand our requests talked to colleagues to assist us.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Rare find in Vienna: a modern hotel with modern amenities for a reasonable price. First district is easy to reach by modern streetcar #43, whose stop is almost in front of hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but with disappointing customer service

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: I like about it's location and amazed how clean and comfortable the room is.
Cons: Definitely the staffs' customer service skills, this is the only and important point which would affect the hotel's rating.
Location: Hotel is next to Lidl supermarket and near tram stop "Rosensteingasse", take tram 43 to city centre & tram 9 to "Westbahnhof", so convenient.
Hotel's location is good, easy to get around the city with amazing public transport service. Nice, clean and comfortable rooms, cleaners do their jobs properly and nice to the guests. Very disappointing is the front desk service, I personally come across with one particular lady, she is Asian, slim with darker skin and long straight black hair. First day when I arrived to check in, she asked to see the booking confirmation then simply handed my room keys and said "Here you go", I didn't feel welcome at all. 2 days later, When I asked her for directions to go some places, she simply rolled her eyes, impatiently answered me. When I ask to borrow umbrella, she replied as if I was annoying her. She didn't make me feel easy. On the last day when we check out, there is one lady with long straight blonde hair on duty, we handed our key back and all she said was "Ok, thanks". Don't get me wrong, I haven't work in hotel before, but I'm sure the basic greeting is important and certainly should make guests feel welcome. I was expected at least "Thanks for staying with us, hope to see you soon, thank you, bye" In fact, the cleaners' manner are better than the front desk staffs, they would smile and said morning every times, and when I simply said thank you for their work, even with language barrier, they would smile and nodded. With no doubt, without the disappointing front desk customer services, I would definitely give 5 stars to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by hd from USA

good place to stay.

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
This was a very nice place to stay. It was a bit out of the center, but easy to reach everything via public transport. the room was great and very comfortable, no street noise whatsoever. The neighborhood was nothing special, and the night staff was not very helpful, but it was a nice place to stay for a decent price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jeddah

Good position

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Overall was good but pillow was not comfortable, good view from the roof
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sheina

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
The city centre is not walkable distance - a 20 minute tram ride. Tram stop very close to the hotel and ran very frequently, so it wasn't a problem. Front desk was helpful and informative, room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Brandon from Tel Aviv, Israel

Convenient to all of Vienna via the #43 & #9 trams

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels
I've now been to Vienna twice for business, and both times I stayed at Hotel Senator. The quality of the stays were consistent: both rooms were impeccably clean, the front desk was very helpful, and the hotel amenities suited my needs. In both cases, the total cost of the room was around 50 Euro per night. In addition, there is a very nice self service laundromat about a block away, which cost about 10 Euro for a load of laundry. On the other side of the laundromat is a Lidl grocery store, where I purchased my food each day for only a few Euro. I was most impressed by the convenience to the rest of the city, as the #43 tram took me to the university, and from there anywhere in the city. Also, the #9 tram can take you to Wien Westbahnhof, which links to major rail lines running through Vienna. Overall, if you prepare yourself for transit times to the city (which are minimal), you cannot beat the value of the Hotel Senator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire UK

Shame about the beds

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: If there are no double beds guests should be advised at time of booking.
Location: 20 min walk into Vienna city center or 10 mins on the excellent tram service. Loads of museums and places to visit in the city.
I booked a double room for me and my wife, but on arrival the room had 2 single beds.There was a large light fitting which prevented us pushing the singles together. On inquiring at reception if we could move to a room with a double I was informed that the hotel has no double or king sized beds. There is nothing in the hotel blurb that says this is the case, so we were a little disappointed.