Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL Malaysia

Good location,clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Good location to city and transport to city and train station, and airport
The stuff are friendly and efficient. Checking in was at least welcoming by helping with the lagage . No similar effort at checkout, I have to pull my own lagage and try to pull to the taxi stand about 30 meter away. The room and club floor was clean. Fascilities and food at the club floor was ok. The drinks availability good, food is limited and somewhat blend, since it's free for the club floor guests. Wifi was free for the club floor. But there was attempt to charge rather high bill for wifi usage at checkout. This is in part due to multiple devises, but the usual ones of 2 hand phones and one iPad.but for same guests. The hotel should be clear on what constitutes free wifi and how many devices allowed. Overall, not a cheap hotel for the price against the services rendered but still offer good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Claudia Heger, Hotel Management
Dear dr. chan, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback about us. I am very happy to read that you were satisfied with the service provided. We are constantly striving to make our guest's stay special. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience upon check out. Kindly be informed that as soon as you book a Club room - Internet is free of charge in the whole hotel. I am sorry that my colleagues were not able to explain this in a clear way. I truly hope that you will be able to visit us soon again, Claudia Heger Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but better choices available.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
I booked the InterContinental because I am a IHG Platinum Elite Ambassador and was hoping for a taste of Vienna oppulence and comfort especially considering the price that they charged. Unfortunately, besides the bar/lobby area this hotel did not offer any of that. The outside is drab, the rooms are small, bathrooms tiny, forget being able to stand up in the bath and shower if you are 2 meters tall because your head will hit the ceiling also the decor in the rooms and amenities are severely dated and could use freshening up. The executive lounge offers decent snacks and food but is not a relaxing or comforting setting. The breakfast buffet is quite good, the only let down was the incompetent chef that was unable to cook any eggs. So definitely not worth the price they charged. The hotel is in a great location and everything is walkable so that is a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Day from InterContinental Vienna, I first of all would like to thank you to take the time to write this review. You feedback helps us to improve our service. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our unique bar and Lobby area. The chandelier in our bar is not only well known under our hotel guests but also under locals. We are constantly working and refurbishing our rooms. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room you stayed in. Our Hotel was opened in 1964 and was the first Hotel from an International Hotel Chain. The building already has a very long history. A complete renovation is planned for the hotel. The renovation probably starts at the end of 2018. We do not yet have a confirmed start date. The Club Lounge is located on the 12th floor and offers an unforgettable view over the historical city centre of Vienna. The snacks and drink provided during the day should help our guests to enjoy a relaxed day. I will of course forward your feedback about the setting in the Club Lounge to increase the relaxation for our guests. Our breakfast buffet offers international as well as local dishes. The live cook at the buffet can prepare several fresh egg dished for you like omelette, scrambled eggs or Egg Benedict. Your comment about the breakfast cook will of course be shared with our Food and Beverage Department to avoid such unpleasant situation you faced during your breakfast in the future. The location of the hotel is a real plus for every city tourist or business guest. The metro station is just across the street and leads to most of the sights as well as big convention centres within a few minutes. The city centre can be reached by foot within 5 minutes and the Stadtpark invites your for a long walk on a sunny day. I again would like to thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. Your suggestions will help us improve our service. We would be very happy to welcome you again soon with kind regards Isabella Dietrich
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

low standard room, very outdated

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
room was very small, not comfortable. Just to stay overnight was alright, but similar price other hotels room condition was much better. In general disappointed with the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I do feel very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you have not mentioned your dissatisfaction during your stay with us. It would have been our great pleasure to show you different room categories which would have convinced you otherwise. However I truly hope that you will give us another chance to convince you one day of our great Hotel. Claudia Heger Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Close to Stadtpark subway station.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Great location and very nice buffet breakfast.
Cons: Rooms seemed a little tired/worn.
Great location for walking and using the Subway. Excellent staff and concierge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Claudia Heger, Hotel Management
Dear Kathryn, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Great that you did enjoy our breakfast buffet. To meet everybody's taste, we trying our best by offering Asian corner, show cooking, fruits, a full extensive variety of fresh fruits and juices, hot and warm dishes with Austrian and international specialities. Thank you very much for highlighting our team, they will be delighted to hear about your feedback. Thank you again, Claudia Heger Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful location and terrific lobby. Ironing board in room was mediocre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your comment. The big chandeliers in our lobby are indeed an eye-catcher and we are very proud of our traditional lobby. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the ironing board provided in your room and I would like to apologise for any inconveniences. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again, Claudia Heger Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Our stay in Vienna

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Well appointed and beautiful hotel and very helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, First of all I would like to thank you for your comment. It is nice to read that you have chosen the InterContinental Vienna and that you were happy with your decision. I will definitely forward your kind words to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again, Claudia Heger Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Very old rooms and furniture , very dirty , I will never stay in this hotel anymore
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Claudia Heger, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your comment. I am sorry to read that you were not happy with the room you received. We indeed do have an old traditional Viennese style and are very proud of it. However we do keep our hotel constantly maintained by deep cleaning and regular quality checks. I truly hope that you did mention your dissatisfaction during your stay, so we were able to move you to another room. Wishing you all the best, Claudia Heger Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by Jeff from Los Angeles

Great hotel, only complaint is the coffee

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel has great facilities. We used the sauna and steam bath twice. They have a bar and cafe in the lobby but we couldn't afford the prices. The room was a gift from our parents. The room was simple, nothing more fancy then a typical hotel. Very clean though, and the bed gave us great sleep. The in-room coffee was cheap instant packets, I wish they supplied something a little nicer. The wifi was only free if you sign up for their rewards program, and even then it only worked on three devices and it was slower then our data connection. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and the location is super central and right across the street from the subway. All the staff we encountered were awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. First of all I would like to say that I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the instant coffee in your room and I will of course forward your very valuable feedback to the relevant departments. I am very happy to hear that you had a nice time with us and were satisfied with your room and the spa facilities. As for the WiFi, once you sign up for the IHG Rewards Club programme you have unlimited devices - it is just the vouchers which are limited to three. I hope that we can welcome you back here at the InterContinental in Vienna in the future. All the best, Claudia Heger Assistant Front Office Manager