Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Scary, Dusty, Noisy and Not As Advertised

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: It is close to train station.
Cons: Proper disclosure by the owners.
Location: Close to train station and food places.
La Scala Apartments is scary, dusty, noisy and disgusting - not as advertised. The place is more of a construction site. The amenities advertised are false. There are no 11 rooms - just 2 rooms on ground floor and 2 rooms in a cellar converted into rooms. Cellar rooms are scary, musty without proper flooring and windows except 2 small windows near ceiling. No free newspaper in lobby, no lobby, no front desk, no multilingual staff - only staff in attendance was a shirtless person working on construction site, no premium bedding, no free toiletries, no rainfall or showerhead shower, weak WiFi. La Scala Apartments needs to be truthful in advertising so that customers can make informed decision when booking. We booked based on the advertised amenities and description which were non existent. We were disappointed with the place and felt cheated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel close to Vienna Centre/ Major renovations

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: The cleanliness and mould removal
Location: All of Vienna center including the Opera House, the Butterfly house, the Crown jewel museum, Schonbrunn Palace and the Winter Palace
This hotel is well located and within walking distance of the city center. Upon arrival we were greeted with heavy volumes of noise due to the major renovations taking place within the hotel. The owner was friendly and offered us lots of ideas for visiting the city, however when led to our large room in the basement we noticed a very musty and damp smell. The floors were filthy and we needed to wear our shoes so we didn't have dirt in our beds. The bathroom was massive and had two showers( both which contained mould) and three saunas which were labelled private and not for our use. The owner was very difficult to reach as he was very busy with the rhos in the hotel. The noise of jack hammers went from 8:30 am to 6pm so it was good to be out of the hotel. Until the renovations are complete this hotel would be better to avoid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gute Lage - aber bei Hitze nicht zu empfehlen

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Cons: Klimatisierung der Zimmer
Location: Super Lage -5 Min zu S-Bahn Rennweg.
Zimmer soweit ok. Aber ein richtig heißer Tag, hat gereicht - "klugerweise" hatte man am Anreisetag die Fester geöffnet gelassen, dass das Zimmer 2 Nächte nicht zum Schlafen geeignet war. Alle drei Fenster die ganze Nacht geöffnet und am Tag geschlossen inkl. Ventilator brachten keine merkliche Besserung. Erst in der dritten Nacht als es draußen auf 14-15 Grad abkühlte, wurde es wieder erträglich. Resumee - 2 nahezu schlaflose Nächte, ob ~ 30 Grad im Zimmer. Das geht gar nicht.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

더움, 영어 못하

Posted Jul 19, 2016
덥다. 에어컨 없다. 창문이 너무 낮아서 못 열고 잤다. 주인이 영어를 못한다. 역세권이며 취사가 되고 냉장고가 있으나 에어컨이 없고 와이파이도 안 돼고 주인장이 영어를 못해서 너무너무 답답했다. 이 숙소는 전 여자친구같은 사람에게나 추천해주고싶다.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Misleading description

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: In spite of all negative experiences, this is not a bad place. The staff are trying, location is good, you may still wish to give it a try.
Cons: They should advertise themselves in keeping with the real conditions they offer.
Location: Quiet and nice place. Close to Botanical Gardens and Belvedere and one of the embassy quarters.
Pros: Nice location, if you like to walk (25 mins to the city center); staff eager to help (if you speak German and can get hold of them) Cons: No 4-star conditions under any circumstances. Internet barely worked, noisy renovation was being carried out, multilingual staff does not exist, late check-in was a nightmare.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moderne Appartements im Altbau

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Der Name.
Cons: Ja, so ziemlich alles.
Location: Botschaftsviertel, in 300 m Schloss Belvedere und gute Verkehrsanbindung.
Infolge Baustelle leider sehr ungepflegtes Entree, Rezeption nur sehr gelegentlich besetzt, Sauberkeit verbesserungsfähig, Bad und Möbel ziemlich abgewohnt, Fernseher kaputt, defekter Brandmelder piepst alle 10 Sekunden.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Für eine Nacht OK- Zu teure Reinigungsgebühr

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
An sich war das Zimmer hell und sauber. Das Bad ist relativ neu, ebenso wie die Betten. Auffallend war, dass aus der Wasserleitung in der Einbauküche braunes Wasser raus kam, dass auch nach einigen Minuten nicht heller wurde. Das Zimmer hat zwar den Basic-Komfort und ist hergerichtet, aber die 18 Euro Reinigungsgebühr (!!!!) sind in keinster Weise gerechtfertigt. Staub wurde schon länger nicht mehr gewischt auf höheren Ablagen, die Küche auch nicht ordentlich gereinigt. Ich bin bei sowas normalerweise überhaupt nicht pingelig, aber da ich die 18 Euro wirklich als Wucher in dem Bezug finde, sollte man auch den Service dafür bieten. Die Lobby und die Rezeption sind sehr baufällig und heruntergekommen, allerdings wird da gerade gebaut, ich hoffe, dass das besser wird. Die Rezeption ist nur eine Stunde am Tag besetzt, ansonsten ist man sich leider selbst überlassen. Hier wird mit minimalen Aufwand versucht, größte Gewinne zu erzielen. Der Rezeptionist war freundlich. Fazit: Für einen Kurztrip und nur zum Schlafen ist das Hotel ausreichend. Wir haben 55 Euro für die Nacht gezahlt, zzgl. 18 Euro Reinigung. Und das empfinde ich als bodenlose Frechheit. Nochmal übernachten werde ich da nicht, aber es ist durchaus für eine Nacht relativ passabel.
4 out of 5
by Zoltan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by I TING from Taiwan

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
整體很不錯,但清潔費18歐元,我們才住一天會比較不划算。