Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good hotel close to Euro Plaza. Beware of staff!

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The room is good for a short stay. Breakfast is very good and the location is very close to euro plaza, and well connected to the city centre
Cons: The staff doesn't speak English and is rarely available at the reception. They tried to make me share a room with another guest of the hotel.
Location: very close to euro plaza, and well connected to the city centre
I stayed at the Hotel Casa d'Oro Luciani - parco di schonbrunn (the hotel has many different names) for 5 nights, while travelling for work. It is a 15 mins walk away from the Euro Plaza, a perfect location if you need to work there. The area is well connected, with several buses, and a underground station at 10 mins walk away. The city centre can be reached with public transport in half an hour. The breakfast is quite good and satisfying, with a wide selection of both savoury and sweet food. The room is ok for a short stay, but very unconventional: the bed, a desk, a washing basin and a shower are all in the same room, with a separated toilet, which I wouldn't recommend for sharing. The staff was inefficient, to say the least: they didn't check my ID at the time of check-in and check-out and they couldn't speak english. The staff was rarely available at the reception. The double bed was provided with only a small duvet which couldn't cover all of it. On the second day the room was left without any towels and from the third day on many ants could be easily spotted in the room and the breakfast area. The overall rating for the hotel would be anyway good, if they hadn't taken advantage of language gap and had moved me in another room which they wanted me to share with another guest of the hotel, mentioning an overbooking as a cause (I had booked the room two months in advance). I had to find a german interpreter to ask me to be moved back to my room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bruno

quiet hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: close to wien-meidling train station
Cons: wifi coverage in room
quiet hotel, nearby train station - 900m, a lot of dining opportunities in surrounding, good breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Patrick from Montreal

Worked out in the end

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived at 10pm from a long drive in from Croatia. The owner answered the door, and true to the horror stories we had read on this site and others about this hotel, we were told they didn't have a 4-person room available, that we hadn't paid enough, etc. I had to show her the email from Hotels.com that clearly showed the conditions upon which I had booked trying to explain that I had booked a 4-bed/4-guest room before she finally agreed to get us a room with this many beds. Upon checkout, the owner tried to charge me a tax. I refused to pay this tax and explained that I had already paid Hotels.com this tax. After breaking down the invoice I received from Hotels.com and using a currency calculator and lots of Google Translate from English to German, she finally accepted that she was trying to charge me a tax I had already paid. In the end, it is hard to discern if this was simply misunderstanding or dishonesty. I am not the first customer to report this exact scenario and am likely not their first Hotels.com customer. In the end, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable and breakfast was typical for a hotel in this price range.
4 out of 5
by Victoria Hurst from Boise, ID, USA

Short Walk to Schonbrunn Palace

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel does not have an elevator but the staff brings the bags to your room. The room was larger than others I have stayed in in Europe. The hotel is a short walk from Schonbrunn Palace and the staff has directions to get into the city center. The WiFi worked well when we were in the room and the breakfast offered was satisfactory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

vacation in Vienna

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: quiet, clean
Cons: helpful if there was someone at reception desk in evening
Location: near one of the train statiions, close to metro 30 minute walk to the Schonbrunn Palace
visited the Spanish riding school, Schonbrunn Palace, St. Stephen's Cathedral
5 out of 5
by The Taylors from Ottawa, Canada

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels
Chose Hotel Casa d'Oro because it is close to Meidling bahnhof. We enjoyed our 3 night stay and have no complaints. Just a warning - there is no elevator, so mobility-impaired people should check that a room on the lower floors is available. Staff will carry your luggage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bucharest

Close to Meidling train Station

Posted Nov 16, 2011
The hotel is very nice. The Meidling station is very close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Excellent Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2009
It is an excellent hotel. We were very happy with all the staff. They are friendly,polite, and kind. The food at the reaturant is great.