Ratings based on 517 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

brilliant hotel, great people, lovely room

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Location: its in a suburban area but there are a number of places locally for food, even quite late. its lovely and quiet and very close to a useful underground
Great welcome and help from the staff and great lounge, reception area - really friendly and funky. Our room was great, loads of storage, decent bathroom (slightly tricky shower) lots of space to move around and very comfy bed. Our only tiny niggles were very limited night food available (frozen pizza - tasty though) and one supper was not great in the restaurant, but breakfast was great. We loved staying here with all its funky touches, and would definately recommend it and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Great value, location and helpful staff

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Really enjoyed my stay here as the staff are very friendly, there is a great modern feel to the hotel and the rooms and facilities are excellent. It is in a great location as not in the centre (fifth district) which makes it a bit better value, though it's very easy to pop on a ubahn to get to the central district of Vienna within minutes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Pleasant hotel but noisy

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Smart, attractive bar/reception area with comfortable seating and good facilities i.e. pool table, Playstation, board games and books.
Cons: Provide air conditioning, a fridge and a safe in the rooms. Ban smoking in the hotel service yard. Schedule noisy activity in the service yard later.
Location: Well located for the tube (5 min walk) and the park at Karlsplatz (20 min walk)
We stayed at this hotel from the 6th to 13th September 2016. Initial impressions were good as the hotel reception/bar area is inviting and the staff welcoming. The rooms we were given, 303 & 304, are situated on the third floor and overlook the hotel service yard which proved to be the main issue. The rooms were reasonably furnished but storage space was very limited as they have opted for a 'minimalist' look where the spaces allocated for belongings are all open plan with no doors or drawers. The large bed, actually two big singles pushed together, was very comfortable but left little space for any other furniture. The bathroom was well equipped with a bath and flexible shower facility. Disappointingly, there was no fridge or safe in the room which I would have expected for this standard of hotel. The weather was unseasonably very hot, around 30 degrees every day, which necessitated having the large window wide open to get some air in the room as there was no air conditioning. However, the hotel staff, and no doubt some guests, frequently stood in the service yard immediately under our open window to smoke cigarettes which caused our rooms to reek of smoke. In addition, every morning from around 6 am, we were woken by the sounds of staff pulling trolleys across the service yard and noisily emptying refuse into the collection bins. The worst of this was the daily cacophony of glass bottles into a bin and the revving of vehicle engines as they came and went through the day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great Vienna base

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Really impressive hotel, good location and great bar to relax in in the evening. Staff were ok, and I would have loved to have breakfast in the hotel, as it's the easiest way to start the day, but 40 euros per day (2 people) is absolutely ridiculous and I can't believe people pay it. Luckily there's a great cafe round the corner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Fantastic

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, all staff are friendly and willing to help with a smile. The room is very comfortable with everything you need, wifi is on the slow side but lets face it you don't travel to sit on the internet. Great location bus stop 2 minutes walk away, ubahn is only 5 minutes walk so great connnections. Will stay here again!
4 out of 5
by kris from newcastle

Good value hotel a little out of the centre

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
pentahotel is a nice modern informal hotel about 20 mins walk from the centre or a short stroll to the underground. We liked the casual atmosphere with no formal reception etc. access from the airport is easy via train and underground. loads of eating and drinking options near to the hotel. We liked that as the historic centre is perhaps a little touristy. room was nice and clean, quiet, decent shower and the curtains blacked it out well. Bed was big and comfortable. air conditioning was a necessity as it was really warm when we visited. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Sherif

Could have be better

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
WI-FI is horrible. Garage is very limited. Other than that everything is good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First and last time in Vienna!!

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed as two people - single bed room(double) for 3 nights over the July weekend. The hotel is not city centre location and is around 20 mins via public transport or taxi is around 1.30 to airport via taxi and public transport. If you are an English speaking guest - do not stay in this area and/or Vienna itself. Everything is German spoken and written. All public transport is German also. The staff at Vienna PentaHotel are young and all speak english. Although they are not knowledgeable on any main areas of Vienna or how to get there! The bar is expensive and is very empty at all times. Nightlife is quiet and shops shut. Not good for young people unless your staying in Stephenplatz area. Bars and restaurants expensive and food is very different. I didn't enjoy the food. The main attraction where shut on the days we visited. The locals are rude and not very helpful and/or polite. Overall enjoyed my few days in Vienna but would not return. The hotel is ideal for business trip and/or old couple days wanting quiet.
4 out of 5
by LILIANA from Luksemburg

pentawien

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Would be nice on the 4 star hotel to have safe and small refrigerator on the room. The beds were really comfortable,but small night case by each bed could improve customer satisfaction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2016
The hotel was okay, terrible Internet(not even loading a webpage, google maps was a no no and when you're a tourist you need to google things). Disappointed there was no fridge when it's so hot outside. Otherwise good experience, never seen a reception+bar together though. It was interesting. Staff very helpful and 30 min walk from the city centre or 5 min to ubahn.