Ratings based on 1,219 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern UK

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The old centre of Vienna is awash with cultural things to see and do. Hotel Herrenhof is centrally placed to all of this in a largely pedestrianised area. The Spanish Riding School is 5 minutes slow amble, Museums and Art galleries galore all within 10 minutes and the main shopping area and Opera House a leisurely 15. There are also many restaurants of all cuisines in the locality for dining out in the evening. Even though there is a discrete underground right by the hotel there is no need for public transport if you are interested in the old centre and it's attractions. That said the very efficient Viennese underground will take you rapidly further afield to other palaces and attractions, then deliver you back within yards of the hotel's front door. The hotel itself has lovely staff and comfortable, clean, well appointed, air conditioned rooms. It was also very quiet and we slept well. Our only issue was that although the breakfast on offer was diverse and very good, we felt it was expensive, so we tended to wander out for croissants and coffee in one of the many local cafes. We would recommend the hotel without exception and return ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Poland

Great Hotel for short stay

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Size of room was great. It was very clean as well. Location of a hotel is in walking distance to all attractions of old part of city.
Location: Hotel is located 2 minutes of walking distance from Sisi apartments. All attractions are very close.
It was great pleasure. We stayed 2 nights. The room was very nice and clean. The hotel staff were great help. Hotel is located very close to Sisi apartments. Its only 2 minutes walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof, Hotel Management
Dear rybafly, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. We liked to read that you enjoyed your stay - especially the central location and the offered services. We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon. Best regards from Vienna, Elisabeth Perwanger General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from HK

Classy and modern hotel at the centre of the city

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient, literally care-free since it takes care of almost everything.
Location: Right next to the Habsburg and Central Cafe. Very close to the city centre.
Helpful and experienced staff. Good room service dining and hotel restaurant. Reception is helpful with directions. Concierge is also very friendly and provided assistance in booking day trips. Great sauna facility. Overall a very good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof, Hotel Management
Dear Mok, thank you very much for choosing the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof and for sharing your experiences. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all our offered services satisfied your needs. We will share your kind words also with the entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards from Vienna, Elisabeth Perwanger General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Beautiful hotel, just steps from top attractions

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Great hotel with excellent rooms. Just steps from the Hofburg, and the Meseums Quarter, the Albertina and more. Also, just beside Cafe Central, a beautiful cafe with excellent sweets, coffee, and a great selection of traditional meals. Highly recommend this hotel for its location, comfort, and service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof, Hotel Management
Dear annon, thank you very much for choosing the Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof adn for sharing your experiences. It is great to read that you enjoyed the central location of our property and the offered services and rooms. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards from Vienna, Elisabeth Perwanger General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA, Australia

Great hotel, excellent location

Posted Jan 17, 2017
This hotel is perfectly located on a quieter street but still very close to the main shopping area. Rooms are modern and well-furnished, beds are very comfortable, housekeeping do a magnificent job and staff are highly professional. Unfortunately, for some reason, we had to wait a rather long time for our rooms to be prepared even though we arrived well-after the stated check-in time. Apart from this small inconvenience, our stay at Steigenberger Herrenhof Wien was a very pleasant experience. We would not hesitate to recommend it as a great place to stay in Vienna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof, Hotel Management
Dear EuropeTraveller, thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed review with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your days in Vienna and that our service level fulfilled your expectations entirely. We are really sorry that the room was not prepared on your arrival time. We try to clean the rooms as soon as possible, but due to high occupancy it takes a little bit longer - we thank you for your understanding and we assure you that this is not the standard. We would be delighted to welcoming you back soon. Best regards from Vienna, Elisabeth Perwanger General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Fantastic service at a beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
From the moment we arrived, I was impressed with the staff and their genuine interest in making my stay a memorable one. We were close to the Christmas market, the opera house and the shopping areas. It was a fairy tale atmosphere and I would highly recommend it. I could open my balcony door and watch the horses go by with carriages. There was an incident with my glasses being broken. The manager called and asked me to drop them at the desk and later that day, my glasses had been repaired and were waiting in the room. It was a wonderful trip and I would highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, thank you very much for your detailed review regarding your stay with us at Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof. It is fantastic to read that you left the hotel with so many wonderful impressions. Of course we will share your feedback with the whole team. We would be delighted to welcoming you bcak soon. Best regards from Vienna, Elisabeth Perwanger General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic Christmas Holiday

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: We liked the service provided by the staff most of all, they were so helpful and so efficient. The effort they put into the Christmas dinner was mega
We stayed at the Steigenberger for 7 nights over Christmas 2016 and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was more than we would normally pay for a deluxe room but was worth every penny. All the staff were very efficient and friendly. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent, we had Christmas dinner in the hotel and it was a fantastic experience, the chef and his staff made it a day to remember. Great location just a 2 minute walk to the Royal Palaces, Spanish riding school, and main shopping streets and 5 minutes to the main museums. We would really recommend a trip to the zoo which is a 20min tube journey, we had a great day there probably the best zoo we have ever visited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Centrally located, within walking distance of main attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Clean and comfortable rooms. Perfect location. Must try cafe centrale nearby!
4 out of 5
by MARY

Great Location

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Large Room, good mattress& bed linens, helpful staff. Breakfast too expensive (as are most, I can't eat enough to justify a $31.00 breakfast). Overall a nice hotel, great location and nice people. Sure don't like European showers, always make a watery mess as the showers are never fully enclosed, this hotel is no exception! Bathroom towels rather thin.