Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bury lancashire

close to both town and country

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: tea and coffee making facilities in rooms
Location: food and drink , sight seeing , walks in parks and and woods and transport ]trams specifically] all wonderfull
a lovely hotel 5 mins to the centre and 15 mins walk into the hills and woods. hotel and staff were great only bug no tea and coffee facilities in rooms. when go back to baden will look to stay at the hotel again.food and hotel facilities were wonderful, thanks .
3 out of 5
by Helen from Wexford

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great but bar closed at half nine and it was advertised as 12:00 Nice room. Quiet and beAutiful gardens . Very relaxing. Super spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Lovely old hotel/spa overlooking Baden's main park

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Room was comfortable (good a/c a plus!) but the whole place is what is lovely. We had a fabulous dinner in the restaurant and the included breakfast on veranda overlooking rose gardens was delightful. The indoor pool and spa facilities are very nice and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing castle/spa on the edge of town

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Renovated castle on the edge of Baden, a town about 40km from Vienna. Atmospheric, high quality, with an additional health spa with usage of pool, sauna, steam room, gym, the lot. Continental breakfast included (lunch/dinner extra), beautiful surroundings, helpful staff. Very relaxing and with good train connections to Vienna, other cities, Viennese mountains, etc. However, the train station is over a mile's walk through the town of Baden, which seems a quiet town full of 50yr+ couples and retired people. If you don't have a car, you may find it a little isolated.
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Burbage

One night in Austria

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very short one night stay. Staff made me feel very welcome and the food in the restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Grand forks

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here as a Christmas present to my son
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Disappointing.

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: The grounds, the spectacular courtyard, the history, the old world feel. Most restaurant staff are professional and more friendly.
Cons: Lighting in rooms - too dark. Remove some spa related articles from closets to free room. Everything is available in the spa!
Location: Nothing to add, as anything and everything can now be obtained from the Internet.
Room on first night less than acceptable. Had no choice but to change rooms the next night, at a higher rate of course. That room should not be rented out at all and I believe I should have received the better room at the same rate as I was completely unaware of what to expect. Especially since I had stayed there before and didn't even think they would have a room like the one I had the first night. Very unpleasant experience. Front desk staff are somewhat indifferent and not very friendly. They do their job but that's about it. Hardly ever greet or acknowledge a guest when in their vicinity, either leaving or arriving. It's obviously a popular destination, especially for meetings, weddings, and other special events, so it doesn't exactly have to try too hard.1 The first room had zero closet space on top of it, already tiny, it was stuffed with spa robes, towels, a bag, etc.! Overall not a pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
by Robert Eric from Kent

Disappointing

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
I booked this hotel as it sounded like I was going to be staying in a castle in a pretty Austrian town. It was certainly very pretty and the hotel does sit at the edge of a park. However, you need to know that you will NOT be staying in a castle. The areas of old castle are the reception/lounge area, the restaurant, the bar and the function rooms. All guest bedrooms are modern, characterless rooms just like any other chain hotel. When I went past the bar evenings at 'prime time', it was empty of both guests and staff, as was the lounge area. This meant that the only thing to do was to either go out or sit in ones rooms and watch TV. Unfortunately the advertised English language channels were not working when I was there. The 'radio in every room' didn't exist. I assume it was meant to be the end channels on the TV but these weren't working either. So the only thing to do was to read a book in the low levels of light that seem to be de rigeur in all hotel rooms nowadays, whilst admiring the plastic curtains at the window. Finally, they had the obligatory sign saying that, to help the environment they wouldn't change your towel unless you left it on the floor. Being green, I put my towels back on the rack and they were changed anyway. Why do all hotels do this? I don't understand it. Anyway, the town was lovely, the location of the hotel was great, the rooms were clean, the staff on reception were terrific but all in all it was a disappointment.
5 out of 5
by Jeriann W from Texas

Outstanding property!

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful property. I speak German, and therefore, I chatted with staff! The area is host to many elegant and pricy mansions. This property is a former castle (Schloss) with many animal heads, as well as a suit of amour. The best feature of this outstanding hotel is their CHEF. His food was some of the best we have ever had!!!
5 out of 5
by John from uk

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
Old and stately hotel, that has gone through modernisation in its rooms. Very friendly staff, and good food. A bit in the middle of nowhere, but worth it for the excellent rooms, great wet-room bathroom and overall level of comfort provided. I'll be returning. Didn't get chance to use spa and other facilities.